We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation ”
Review of Sol Cayo Largo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sol Cayo Largo
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Apologies for the late review. We stayed at this resort August 21st, 2016 for a week.

The resort is beautiful, pools are amazing, beach is stunning and the entertainment is also very good.

Keep in mind this is Cuba so you won't get the caliber of food that you'd be accustomed to in Jamaica or Mexico but at this resort it was very good.

The buffet is great, there's something for everyone and you won't go hungry.
If you are going over to Serna beach they will pack you a lunch for the day.

I highly recommend the snorkelling excursion which includes a trip to iguana island and the most amazing natural ocean pools you've ever seen!

I've traveled to many beaches around the world and I have to say this is one of the most beautiful. In fact I would probably recommend Cayo Largo above any other place in Cuba.

You won't be disappointed:)

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
6  Thank Beach_lvr013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorgeneralscl, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Beach_lvr013,
We are so glad to know we have provided you with such an amazing experience.
Thank you so much for all of your compliments. Now we feel much more compromise to provide a great service so that our visitors can take home an unforgettable experience.

We are really glad to know you liked the weather, beaches, excursions, and our facilities and the service offered by our staff.
We thank you once more for your recommendations and for writing such a detailed review of our resort, it will be very helpful for those who have not chosen a destination to spend their holidays.

Looking forward to welcoming you again,

Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,494)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 4,495 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

We were at sol cayo largo from Dec 24 Dec 31. Beach was amazing although if you want to swim this is not the place .Red flagged most days and very windy.t
Our room was very nice lots of water and hot water .We were in room 3523 and had a view of ocean.The room was cleaned everyday . Service was very good at lobby bar we did not have to wait very long for drinks . Beach bar was good but did not have much of a variety. The restaurant service was not as good as expected for a higher end hotel.
The variety of food was not very good .sometimes the food trays were empty and not refilled.
Hopefully they will improve their service and quality of food

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
6  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorgeneralscl, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Susan A

We would like to thank you for feedback about your vacations in our hotel.

Personally, I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that may have had during your stay at our facility and it's really a shame not being able to meet your expectations.

We have taken note about some details that you kindly have let us know and specifically about our service, I would like to apologize for not being able to cover your expectations.

Honestly we really sorry the perceptions you had in our resort about the quality and variety of meals, ensure we are managing the solutions and we give you our apologies.

We would be honored if you decide to choose our hotel in the future and I will be pleased in greet you personally.

Receive All the respect from the management and staff of Sol Cayo Largo.

Sincerely,
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Had a wonderful vacation at Sol Cayo Largo in December. Stayed for one week and enjoyed every minute. A laid back vacation is what you get and if you want to recharge your batteries this place will fill the bill. We were lucky to encounter yellow- flagged seas during our week so the water was warm and soothing with powder soft white sand. The salt-water pool is also a nice touch. Noel at the Pool Bar is terrific. The Las Trinas restaurant produced a lovely meal and the atmosphere was exceptional. Real table clothes and napkins, air-conditioned with excellent staff, made this a treat. The staff at the hotel are all exceptional! Hard working and always with a smile. Especially want to thank Yagmara, in Customer Service. She makes sure the guest's needs are met. I lost my favourite Ferrari ball cap and she had it found and back on my head in 20 minutes! Had a massage with Juan Carlos, so relaxing and at 25 CUC, a bargain. We took a taxi to the Marina to buy some souvenirs and see the turtles, well worth the time. A tip….take your passport and your money to change to CUC at the Banco at the Marina. Our hotel was charging $1.68 CAN. and the Banco was only charging $1.37 CAN. Big difference!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank AngelinaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorgeneralscl, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear AngelinaToronto,

I am very delighted to read your positive comments about your stay in our Sol Cayo Largo hotel. Our aim to give a perfect service to our clients and make their stay memorable. Your review makes our effort valuable.

Thank you for your recommendation and also for trust in our staff and services to return again to enjoy Cayo Largo destination.

It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back in the future

Best Regards
Sales Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Playa Paraiso! That says it all! Cayo Largo is like paradise. Amazing beaches, soft powdery sand, that goes on endlessly. If the beach by your resort is a bit windy and waves are less than calm, just go to Playa Paraiso or to Playa Sirena, facing in a different direction are likely to have no wind and calm pool like ocean water – where you might spot some starfishes and colorful fishes. In theory you can walk, but you'll probably want to take the shuttle bus or a taxi to get there, it's not free, but cheap all things considered – just tell the taxi when you want to be picked up and he'll be back on time.

Cayo Largo is a remote island fully dedicated to holiday relaxation. Populated by a few resorts, an airport, a marina, that's about it. Right after a 4 hour flight you're at your resort( when traveling from eastern Canada) We stayed at Sol Cayo Largo (for the 3rd time and plan to go again). It is sought after for those wishing a restful vacation – plenty of beach, pool, sun, tennis (bring your own rackets & balls – lets hope they get a new net soon), gym, or go snorkeling, etc. The gym area is nice and spacious and 'outdoors' with good aerobic machines, but the weight room although well equipped is in need of some upkeep, but not used much, so not likely to be an investment priority.

Our room was nice and spacious, clean, well equipped (and they now have flat screen TVs!). The AC was noisy but i didn't report it - didn't really need it. The cleaning staff are nice and some are great towel artists! The water pressure is low, and at some point zero! But came back in the morning. Maintaining a resort on a remote island is no small task I assume – but having running water must be top priority. I saw maintenance and cleaning staff busy and responsive. Overall the resort is given care and attention.

They have a huge and most beautiful pool (salt water and well maintained). The grounds are typical tropical landscaped, well groomed, picturesque. Eating areas and bar serve all yours needs. The service is great, staff wonderful. Sol really knows how to make you feel welcomed and make you want to return. There is entertainment (music) to accompany your arrival, diners, and every evening a show of good caliber.

One might say that the best natural resources of Cayo Largo are the beaches, (not to mention the 'au naturel beaches :-) true, but there is another one which is probably not recognized by most vacationers and the resort management: it's the night sky! After admiring a spectacular sunset, the night arrives rather quickly. Those who admire the stars – especially amateur astronomers – will realize that the night sky at Cayo is truly exceptional. Being 100's km away from any city, there is no light pollution (well a bit from the resorts themselves unfortunately), and the sky is velvety black and the stars simply amazing. To get away from the light of the resort grounds, simply walk towards the beach. There ought to be awareness of this 'second' natural wonder of Cayo by Management – probably most people don't realize it. Next time I will bring a small telescope and organize a star party!

Speaking of lights, the Sol night lighting is harsh, lighting the pathways is of course necessary, but the lamps shine blinding light into your eyes instead of the sidewalks. Consideration for indirect lighting would be appreciated and lights on the building (porch lights) should be reduced or colored yellow/orange. (I seem to recall a few years ago, after a certain hour of the night all the lights went out and the starry sky could then be admired fully.)

Negative points? Few, but I have to describe the buffet area in the morning. It is an open air eating area, in principle great, but in practice the birds and flies seems to have a feast as much as the guests. Eating while constantly waving your hand to chase the house flies away is unpleasant. (Fortunately that at dinner, which is night time, all those winged nuisances are absent.) Why not draw screens around the buffet area or have other means to control the flies?

Overall a great vacation destination when you desire: beach, sun, pool, good surroundings, pleasant staff and (from Canada) a quick direct flight, when in winter you might experience a 50 C difference!

Room Tip: Get second floor, better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Denis514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2016

Dear Denis514;
We would like to thank you for feedback about your vacations in our hotel.Concerning details that you kindly have let us know,it is very important for our daily performance.So it will be a big pleasure to welcome you again just because our beautiful beaches and others in Cayo Largo.
Best regards,

Sales Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2016

I have just spent three nights with my partner at the Melia Sol Cayo Largo from December the 8th till the 11th being told by an Havanatur agent that even though the resort was the most expensive on the little island considering that all the others were much worse in order to enjoy my short vacation I should have chosen this facility. Although the price was too much above our possibilities (186 CUC almost the same equivalent in Euros per night) we made the effort.

With the same agency we had already previously booked three nights at the Valentin Perla Blanca at Cayo St Maria for 116 CUC per night. No comparison between the two resorts. The second one was literally a Paradise in terms of rooms, services and assistance to the customer.

We are really very much dissatisfied with this hotel in Cayo Largo.

Reception employees even if always smiling were at the same time always very slow in trying to solve the issues I brought to their attention. Don't know how many times even though were not busy they have asked me to wait.

We arrived at noon but got our first humid and very stinky and dirty (you could not see through the windows) room late afternoon. We changed three rooms in one day and a half waiting and waiting (a record for a three days staying). No one had standard requirements which justifies the price we paid per night!

Cannot remember the first room number on the ground floor, not far away from the second one though, where breathing was impossible due to the mold. The second room, number 2222, had very old and stained sanitaries with a shower giving very short water. No ventilator working so if the air conditioning was too strong since you could not regulate it, we had to suffer the heat avoiding windows open for mosquitos.

Third room, number 3222, no ventilator and door working. Even though they sent the maintenance to fix it we had to stay with the door open to avoid going back and forth from the lobby to our room (far away from it by the way). I was not asking for the Ocean room view but for a more appropriate and comfortable one.

Each bar then was always running out of some drink ingredient.

I am too much disappointed and I work in the field because I lead groups of up to forty American senior citizens both on the Amalfi Coast and Sicily and I face issues about our hotels everyday trying to accomodate my clients at my best pressing of course the hotels management. Sometimes my travelers complaints are right some others are unjustified but in our case believe me, I am not emphasizing the matter and even speaking with other clients there at the resort we found out that they asked to change the room too for the same issues.

Always related to the unjustified price paid for this vacation I found pretty unfair that in order to reach Playa Paraiso and Sirena (two must see beaches 10 minutes away from our hotel) we had to pay both the transfer and the beach lounger as there were clients from others resorts on the island that had the service included in the price. This is always because we have payed 186 CUC per night. With a much lower fare I could have understood it.

This structure really needs a serious remodeling. They should either close it to renew it or charge much less per night!!! It has been both a robbery and a nightmare at the same time especially if you consider that we spent three nights at the Valentin Perla Blanca (in Cayo St. Maria) paying half the price per night having as I mentioned before an amazing room, great services and a much better assistance to the customers.

My conclusion and suggestions to other travellers are the following: if this is the average on the island go for the cheapest resort. At least you won't be too much disappointed at the end.

Room Tip: Book another resort on the island.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank stevenstamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HGeneralManager, Director Comercial at Sol Cayo Largo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2017

stevenstamp
We are sorry that you were not satisfied during your stay at our hotel. The direction and Customer Service makes every effort to solve problems that we have identified and please for the dissatisfactions.
Fortunately most of our guests love the place despite some comment hostile and return because the best beaches in the world and the niceness of the Cuban people.
Regards
Sales team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cayo Largo
298.5 km away
Iberostar Playa Blanca
Iberostar Playa Blanca
#6 of 6 in Cayo Largo
1,992 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Pelicano
Hotel Pelicano
#1 of 6 in Cayo Largo
2,893 reviews
82.7 km away
Casa Otto
Casa Otto
#5 of 13 in Playa Larga
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
82.5 km away
Ca' del Sol Cuba
Ca' del Sol Cuba
#7 of 13 in Playa Larga
25 reviews
178.2 km away
Melia Las Americas
Melia Las Americas
#5 of 64 in Varadero
5,569 reviews
73.4 km away
Ivette and Ronel's Casa Particular
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Cayo Largo

Been to Sol Cayo Largo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Cayo Largo

Address: Cayo Largo del Sur | Archipiélago de los Canarreos, Cayo Largo 27900, Cuba
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Cayo Largo
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Cayo Largo
Price Range: $234 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sol Cayo Largo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Cayo Largo del Sur, in the middle of the Caribbean Sea. All Inclusive Four-Star resort with 296 rooms. Ideal for enjoying its pristine environment and for exploring its idyllic landscape and crystal-clear ocean bottom. The resort faces 600 meters of beach renowned for its perennially cool white-sand. Recommended for couples, weddings, honeymoons and groups.Guest Rooms296 rooms: 244 Standard, 34 Standard Ocean View, 10 Standard Superior Ocean View, 8 Junior SuiteDining3 Restaurants (A la Carta, Buffet, A la carte and mini-buffet), 1 Cafeterias, 3 Bars ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Melia Hotels APAC, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Cayo Largo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Cayo Largo Hotel Cayo Largo
Sol Hotel Cayo Largo
Cayo Largo Cuba
Cayo Largo Sol Hotel
Sol Club Cayo Largo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing