We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Il Castello di Gargonza
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2012

This was an Alistair Sawday recommendation and that really sums it up. Tasteful, different, charming and off the beaten track. The other reviews say 'magical' and it we cannot disagree. While it is quite a long way off the beaten track, that is what we wanted for this part of our holiday and it is perfect. Within minutes of arrival we were planning a much longer stay here in the future. Great swimming pool, lovely breakfast in the old olive press room and lots and lots of peace and quiet, views galore and smells and sights of Tuscany - perfect. The staff are lovely - kind, knowledgeable and helpful. Our rooms are fantastic although the very steep stairs up and down (think ladders) might not be great for all. The restaurant was lovely and a relief from the rubbish rip offs of the big towns. Good food and well priced in a lovely setting - perfect.

Room Tip: Take your pick - all seem lovely - ask the staff when booking what would suit you best - the whole v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Willis68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 102 of 337 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2012

We found this place very last minute but was everything that you can ask for! Great food, amazing views, and beautiful well kept estate. Highly recommend it for those looking for a quiet retreat away from Florence or Rome's busy streets and un the heart of Tuscany area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FreqTraveller_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I chose to get married at Gargonza on 9th June 2012. It was the most magical 3 days of our lives. I'm almost lost for words as to how special this place is. If you are looking for something rustic and a little bit different but forsaking nothing with regards to quality then look no further.

The staff from start to finish could not do enough for us and made the whole experience stress free. As soon as we arrived in Italy for the wedding preparations, Michelle, who works at Gargonza, took us under her wing and did all the jobs I thought I would have to do and left myself and my husband to enjoy our pre wedding holiday.

All our guest commented constantly about the quality of the service and food. It was excellent. The staff, from the Management to the Waitresses are friendly and make you feel like Gargonza is your home.

My husband and I went to Venice for our Honeymoon and as lovely as it was we missed the charm, views, food and staff of Gargonza. We will be returning on many an anniversary as will most of our guests.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and different, that is part of the charm. You will not be unhappy with any choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in mid-March for our honeymoon. It was clearly the off-season as we were the only inhabitants. However, we were never made to feel in the way. On the contrary, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. The rooms are simple, but comfortable, and the view from anywhere on the hill is breathtaking. It is rustic, so not a place for someone who needs Egyptian cotton sheets and jacuzzi bathtubs, but it is absolutely magical. I was truly so sad to leave and contemplated cancelling the rest of our trip to just stay there.
The breakfasts were the best we had on our entire honeymoon (two weeks traveling through Tuscany) and the meals in the little restaurant at the bottom of the hill were delectable. Service for both was outstanding. We couldn't recommend this little gem more highly. We are already saving up for a return trip!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MischiefManaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I hope that says it all. Gargonza is great value for money and I never fail to stay here once or twice a year. It is Tuscany. Yes, it has minor irritations, such as wonderful log fires instead of dreadful TV. Food is plentiful, even too much, but excellent for the prices. Romantic too

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte San Savino
4.2 km away
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti
Hotel Logge Dei Mercanti
#2 of 5 in Monte San Savino
111 reviews
31.6 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#1 of 24 in Cortona
774 reviews
4.1 km away
Hotel Sangallo
Hotel Sangallo
#1 of 5 in Monte San Savino
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
706 reviews
3.7 km away
Hotel il Monte
Hotel il Monte
#3 of 5 in Monte San Savino
101 reviews
18.7 km away
Castello di Leonina Relais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monte San Savino

Been to Il Castello di Gargonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Gargonza

Address: Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monte San Savino
Price Range: $244 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Castello di Gargonza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Gargonza is the ideal setting for those who wish a quiet retreat, far from the fast pace of the city and crowded areas, where you may enjoy the pleasure of a good book, strolls amidst nature, and small villages rich with the artistic history of the Tuscan hills, as well as the opportunity to savor the delicacies of traditional Tuscan meals and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Il Castello di Gargonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di Gargonza Hotel Monte San Savino
Il Castello Di Gargonza Italy/Monte San Savino, Province Of Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing