We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairytale wedding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Il Castello di Gargonza
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fairytale wedding!!”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My husband and I chose to get married at Gargonza on 9th June 2012. It was the most magical 3 days of our lives. I'm almost lost for words as to how special this place is. If you are looking for something rustic and a little bit different but forsaking nothing with regards to quality then look no further.

The staff from start to finish could not do enough for us and made the whole experience stress free. As soon as we arrived in Italy for the wedding preparations, Michelle, who works at Gargonza, took us under her wing and did all the jobs I thought I would have to do and left myself and my husband to enjoy our pre wedding holiday.

All our guest commented constantly about the quality of the service and food. It was excellent. The staff, from the Management to the Waitresses are friendly and make you feel like Gargonza is your home.

My husband and I went to Venice for our Honeymoon and as lovely as it was we missed the charm, views, food and staff of Gargonza. We will be returning on many an anniversary as will most of our guests.

Room Tip: Every room is unique and different, that is part of the charm. You will not be unhappy with any choi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Rachael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    66
    13
    2
    2
See reviews for
78
136
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights in mid-March for our honeymoon. It was clearly the off-season as we were the only inhabitants. However, we were never made to feel in the way. On the contrary, the staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and at home. The rooms are simple, but comfortable, and the view from anywhere on the hill is breathtaking. It is rustic, so not a place for someone who needs Egyptian cotton sheets and jacuzzi bathtubs, but it is absolutely magical. I was truly so sad to leave and contemplated cancelling the rest of our trip to just stay there.
The breakfasts were the best we had on our entire honeymoon (two weeks traveling through Tuscany) and the meals in the little restaurant at the bottom of the hill were delectable. Service for both was outstanding. We couldn't recommend this little gem more highly. We are already saving up for a return trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MischiefManaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Hardwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I hope that says it all. Gargonza is great value for money and I never fail to stay here once or twice a year. It is Tuscany. Yes, it has minor irritations, such as wonderful log fires instead of dreadful TV. Food is plentiful, even too much, but excellent for the prices. Romantic too

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Stayed here for a weekend as part of a friends wedding. There was about 80 in the party. Have a very enjoyable weekend. The setting is amazing. Staff very friendly and the food was very good. Most of the accomodation consists of converted old vilage houses so me and my partner had our own small two story house. The views out our second floor bedroom over the Tuscan hills were second to none.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublinb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

Gargonza is literally an old village enclosed in a castle wall. It is secluded, and a 10 minute drive from the nearest sizeable town.

The location is beautiful, and very atmospheric. The staff at reception were very friendly, helping us with local directions etc.

The common areas are very nice, with a small walled-in garden and a sitting area with free wifi access. Plus, with access to the whole village, there are plenty of beautiful places to sit.

The biggest disappointment was the room. Although it had multiple rooms and a modern bathroom, the rooms were dark and looked as though they had the original decorations from the renovations in the 70s. It's a fine line between "character" and "gloomy"!

Breakfast was good, with a decent selection of food.

We ate at the hotel restaurant one evening which was very pleasant. We also ate at the Osteria Cacciatore (a few minutes form the hotel on the main road) which was an excellent "locals" restaurant, and where we were made to feel very welcome, and the food was good.

Gargonza is well worth a stay for the atmosphere, but don't expect the rooms to match the beauty of the castle itself.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Englishman_in_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte San Savino
24.2 km away
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive Tuscan Resort & Spa
Castello di Spaltenna Exclusive ...
#1 of 8 in Gaiole in Chianti
680 reviews
9.3 km away
Castel Monastero
Castel Monastero
#4 of 8 in Castelnuovo Berardenga
536 reviews
31.6 km away
Villa di Piazzano
Villa di Piazzano
#2 of 24 in Cortona
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Hotel il Monte
Hotel il Monte
#3 of 5 in Monte San Savino
95 reviews
29.2 km away
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica & Spa
Palazzo Leopoldo Dimora Storica ...
#1 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
540 reviews
33.3 km away
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort & Spa
Hotel Villa Campomaggio Resort &...
#2 of 15 in Radda in Chianti
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Monte San Savino

Been to Il Castello di Gargonza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Castello di Gargonza

Property: Il Castello di Gargonza
Address: Localita Gargonza, 52048 Monte San Savino, Italy
Region: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Monte San Savino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Monte San Savino
Price range (per night): $206 - $319
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Il Castello di Gargonza 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle of Gargonza is the ideal setting for those who wish a quiet retreat, far from the fast pace of the city and crowded areas, where you may enjoy the pleasure of a good book, strolls amidst nature, and small villages rich with the artistic history of the Tuscan hills, as well as the opportunity to savor the delicacies of traditional Tuscan meals and wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Il Castello di Gargonza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Castello Di Gargonza Hotel Monte San Savino
Il Castello Di Gargonza Italy/Monte San Savino, Province Of Arezzo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing