We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience!”

Kakadu Air Scenic Flights
Ranked #3 of 16 things to do in Jabiru
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kakadu is spectacular to look at, but immensely more interesting when on a Kakadu Air flight you receive a running commentary about the things you see, and many that you can't. On fixed wing aircraft flights the commentary is researched, recorded and delivered by long term Kakadu experts, via headsets.
Reviewed 20 May 2017

The flight, commentary and views are all fantastic. To see the vastness and landscape differences is quite amazing. To see where aboriginal people have occupied the land for thousands of years, and see where white explorers went -- formidable.

Thank Aussie255333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaduair2014, Front Office Manager at Kakadu Air Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for the amazing feedback, Kakadu National Park is definitely a Must See location. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your scenic flight.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2017

Due to being short on time, combined with the fact it was the wet season, we weren't keen to spend 6+ hours on a bus to do a 1 day tour of Kakadu.

Whilst it's a bit more expensive, we chose to fly from Darwin to Kakadu and back for a 1 day tour. It was definitely worth the extra cost to do this.

The pilot (and our guide) was super lovely, we were the only ones, so it was basically our own private tour of Kakadu. On the way there we saw Jim Jim and twin falls from air - AMAZING. Seeing the falls up close in person is one thing, but from the air is also just so spectacular. We also saw the escarpment, the fires lit as part of the Aboriginal flora management, the flooded rivers, the mine and all the other features of the park.

The day tour also includes the Yellow water billabong cruise which was fabulous. The rest of the itinerary is on their website.

The service provided and experience of the day was just spectacular.

The only note I would make is that because it's a light aircraft, it can get a little bumpy because of the escarpment - depending on the weather. You might like to take a nausea tablet beforehand. I do not usually get motion sickness, but I was feeling a bit woosy!

Oh, also, it's a small aircraft, so you need to be able to climb into it (note for anyone with mobility concerns)

Thank ADVBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaduair2014, Front Office Manager at Kakadu Air Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning,

Wow what an amazing review, the Kakadu and Yellow Water Day Tripper is a perfect way to see Kakadu in a day. The waterfalls are still definitely in flow with the recent rainfall during our Wet Season. Well Done to our pilot, its sounds like you had a great day and personalised tour of Kakadu National Park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017

My partner is a little frightened of small aircraft, but agreed to accompany me on the one hour scenic flight in Kakadu Air's 8 seater fixed wing aircraft.
She was so glad she did. The scenery, the waterfalls and the expert commentary by the pilot was awesome. We saw a crocodile from the air, wild brumbys and of course an aerial view of the Crocodile Hotel at Jabiru.
I highly recommend this experience.

Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaduair2014, Front Office Manager at Kakadu Air Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning Michael,

Thank you for the great feedback regarding your scenic flight with Kakadu Air. The One Hour Wilderness & Waterfall Spectacular is a perfect flight path to view Jim Jim Falls, Twin Falls and the escarpment area of Kakadu National Park. We are pleased to hear you and your Wife enjoyed your flight and hope you took lots of photos :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2017

There are a couple of musts in Kakadu, one has to be a scenic flight. We took the 1 hour flight down to Jim Jim and Twin falls. The pilot was well versed, and there was a comprehensive audio track fed to the head sets which explained everything you need to know about the park. Well worth the money.

Thank 22JPR22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaduair2014, Front Office Manager at Kakadu Air Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2017

Good Morning,

Thank you for your positive review, we totally agree, there are a couple of must do's in Kakadu National Park and seeing Jim Jim and Twin Falls in flow via air is definitely one of them. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience with Kakadu Air.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

I took the 1 hour fixed wing flight (would like to have taken the helicopter but felt it was too expensive). From the air you can get a feeling of the size and hostility of Kakadu NP.

We flew over escarpments, plateau's, and several waterfalls, including Twin Falls and Jim Jim. Our pilot usually managed to give passengers on both sides of plane a good view. It was only slightly bumpy at times, no one became ill! The plane has plastic windows which does not help with taking photo's because of reflections, but my pics came out really well. I sat next to the pilot, which was very interesting. I think this flight was money well spent.

We were only a group of four, so if you sit at the back and not next to the pilot you have a chance to move from side to side to take pics. The left side is possibly slightly better than the right side to see Jim Jim, but there is really not much difference.

Note: there is another company doing a similar flight but using older planes. My review is only for Kakadu Air.

Thank dave9337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kakaduair2014, Owner at Kakadu Air Scenic Flights, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2017

Thanks for your time and comments, they are greatly appreciated. I am glad that you liked your flight, love the description of Kakadu as "hostile" - so true, but not apparent until airborne. Most aircraft have plastic windows, and yes you can get good photos through them, but for the benefit of your next flight and of others reading this, the best photo will be on the downside when the aircraft is turning and the window is in shadow. Being seated in the main cabin under the wing is also a good spot. Also hold the camera near but not on the window, cupping it with you hand also works. Your seat, the co-pilots seat is forward of the wing, great photo spot but better with the above advise. I will ensure that this info continues to be a part of our standard pre-flight briefing. Thanks for flying with Kakadu Air. Cheers Bob McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kakadu Air Scenic Flights also viewed

 
Kakadu National Park, Top End
 

Been to Kakadu Air Scenic Flights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing