We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (409)
Filter reviews
409 results
Traveller rating
91
139
95
57
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
91
139
95
57
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool saint benoit self catering local village out of season beautiful location resort spa facilities house vineyards corbieres boulangerie wine farm sunbathing tasting
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 409 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2015

Our second time visiting this place. This time we opted for a slightly larger 2 bedroom house. The main differences being quieter A/C (which had been an issue the first time around) and a washing machine. The extra space downstairs was also better but the bathroom had been bigger in the first house we stayed in with a large bath. The 2 en-suites in the second house were a bit cramped. The houses are clean and comfortable but the floors are stone and the stairs are steep which wasn't ideal for the little ones. We had to barricade with chairs. Each house has a small patio area with table and chairs which is a nice place to enjoy the evening after the kids are in bed, drinking wine and listening to the cicadas.
Breakfast on the veranda makes the holiday, overlooking the pool and valley beyond. Always fresh bread and Croissants. This was included in our room rate but is quite expensive otherwise.
Day to day most people congregate around the main pool. There is a smaller children's pool area on the outskirts of the complex and an activity play area. This had seen some improvement since our last visit where it had been a bit stark and uninviting. The pools are not heated and can be cold if it hasn't been sunny.
Just beyond the pool there is a pleasant walk down to the river through a small vineyard. They also have few goats for the kids to look at.
On our previous trip the hotel had offered a takeaway pizza service which had been very handy. Unfortunately they don't offer this service during peak season. Disappointing.
We ate in the restaurant one evening. The food and wine were good but no provision for the smaller members of our party and they don't open until after 7pm. However the local shops and restaurants in the town were happy to cater for our needs.
Also a short drive away is the pretty town of Lagrasse with plenty of restaurants. A nice place to walk around with its small cobbled streets and monastery. There is also a small open air market if you can find it. Lots of small shops for tasteful souvenirs including a nice pottery on the market square.
All in all a quiet relaxing place to stay and a good location for accessing the surrounding area. A little short on amenities and entertainment for younger kids on an evening. I am sure there will be other places with a more personal touch for less money if you have the time and inclination to look around but at short notice this is acceptable and they usually have availability.
Be aware if you arrive on Sunday afternoon/evening all the shops and most of the restaurants are closed. Fortunately the reception staff gave us some milk for the small ones and we had enough travel snacks left to tide us over until the morning. With hindsight we would have bought groceries in Toulouse after leaving the airport.
If flying through Toulouse avoid booking hire car with Europcar unless you like standing in a queue for hours. All the other major hire firms are also represented but were not busy. Europcar had a big queue on both our visits and the staff took a long time to process, even with prior booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MatAlderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Our second time visiting Les Jardins, and also this visit was very nice for the adults and the children!

We had one 3 bedroom villa with pool and one 2 bedroom house. Worked perfectly, as each family could have their own house, but at the same time we could use the larger house for dinners in the evening.

Go for it if you are looking for self catering but would like to have additional services like a spa, a nice large swimming pool and a restaurant!

The location is perfect in the middle of Corbieres with vineyards and beautiful nature just outside your door! Carcassonne, Narbonne, the nice smaller villages and the beaches is within a short drive!

The local village is only a 5 minutes walk from the property. There is a small supermarket, a bakery, a couple of restaurants and several winegrowers that will be happy to let you taste the local products.

We will be back again next summer!

Room Tip: The two bedroom houses are placed next to each other. Good if you are several families travelling together, as you can have one house each, but still sit outside on the terrace together in the evenings! The 3, 4 and 5 bedroom houses are facing the vineyards and have an unspoilt view. Nice to have the private pool and a larger garden.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohanGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom house last summer. The interior looks exactly like in the pictures on the website. The decorations are in tune with the surroundings and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need.
That said there is also a lot that needs improvement in order for the property to be really worth 5 stars.
The airconditioning does not work, just makes a lot of noise. The beds are rockhard. Cleaning is only done once a week, meaning that you only get a change of sheets and towels once a week as well. When asked they are willing to provide you with extra towels though, same as with the pooltowels.
We had dinner at the restaurant once which was a complete waste of money. Go out and have dinner at any cafe or restaurant in the surrounding area, which is cheaper, better attended and much better food.
During our stay the weather was not always sunny. We even had some rain. One might expect that a so called childfriendly resort would not mind if families used the indoor swimmingpool. On the contrary, we were allowed in till 9.30 in the morning and then a staffmember came to order us out.
The outside pool area looks nice but is lacking in sunbeds and umbrellas. Most people have to lay in the grass which is there of decorative purposes. The mentioned poolbar is non existent.
And the biggest negative of all is the childrenspool. It is located on the outskirts of the property, away from the mainpool, there was always a strange smell surrounding it. It is not attended to, and no sunbeds or umbrellas available.
The website mentions all sorts of activities like winetasting, theme nights on the main square and a enthusiastic team for kids animation. The latter is available but only french spoken and also situated on an less attractive area of the property.

All together this property does have the potential to be a luxurious holidayspot, but for now I do not recommend it, especially not if you are looking for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leontine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

This resort has a lot going for it, it is located slightly off the beaten track but within easy reach of Carcassonne and more importantly Narbonne and it's excellent Les Halles and good restaurants. Some great beaches not too far away, try Port Leucat but go to the village for lunch.
However, it is badly in need of an upgrade, difficult to see how the 4 start rating still holds good. We were there in early September and it was really quiet, the reception staff are very helpful and the few problem we had were quickly rectified but we would want to hear that they spend the winter sprucing up the place. Too many broken tiles round the pool, plus broken loungers that would suit a private garden but not up to the level of use they get here, same with shade umbrellas, we saw one nearly blow over into the pool. The affected guest resorted to piling broken slabs onto the base to try and prevent it happening again. In our house the door handles were falling off and it needs a lick of paint.
Lots of great walks in the immediate area up through the vineyards where you can be as energetic as the mood takes, try the one up to the Table d'orientation for a workout or a bit further away, the stimulating sculpture walk.
Whatever you do don't pay the rack rate and avoid the bar; prices, especially for soft drink are silly.

Room Tip: The resort has houses, not like a hotel at all, the larger ones with private pools have the most privacy. For economy the 1 bed ones are excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

We chose to stay at LJSB because a friend had told me that The Tour de france stopped there and that it looked good. My wife and I wanted to drive around so we had a hire car and the location of it couldn't have been any better. The village it is located next to is sleepy and a bit tired looking but, let's face it this is rural France and it wasn't in high tourist/children season so the peace and tranquility coupled to beautiful surroundings and a view over the infinity pool was just fantastic. This resort goes beyond being a hotel or apart-hotel, you get a house with a garden patio to breakfast on! We didn't use the Spa but the chill area and indoor pool looked great. Forget suites and apart hotels, this is a villa-hotel. A late French summer helped too. Get yourself clued up on the surrounding areas and places to visit, the area really is stunning. Staff were very courteous and happy to help. We will return to LSJB again and next time with another couple to share and half the rental cost!

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews