We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful french resort and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jardins de Saint-Benoit
Reviewed 6 July 2015

Resort was beautiful with pathways covered in lavender. We stayed in villa 172 which had amazing views from the windows looking out to the fields and mountains beyond. The open plan lounge, dining and kitchen area was a great place to hang out and socialise with family especially with those gorgeous french doors leading out to the patio and pool area. The villa was pretty and tastefully decorated with french furniture and rustic french shutters with lovely earth colours, in pale yellow, cream and green. I wonder if Farrow and Ball got their inspiration from France?....The pool was a really good size and it was private even though you could use the massive and stunning communal pool. Bed mattresses were really comfortable too. The hotel facilities were very good especially the spa! It was beautiful! Infact, the spa, the decor and the massage was 5 star.
Negatives about the house: When we first arrived they could have opened out the folding sofa bed in one of the rooms (only one bedroom had a sofa bed); No iron provided (and we asked); no bottle opener, strange considering most guests would want to enjoy a glass of wine. No dishwasher or washing powder. Not enough towels were provided. My husband and I stayed in one of the double rooms with onsuite shower room and the wardrobe only had 4 x clothes hangers, thats not enough for two people staying for a week. There was definately a lack of attention to detail all round. Reception staff were not particularly helpful and friendly and there was nothing written in english about the area in and around St Laurent de Cabrerisse. Seems like they cater for the french and not the foreign tourist.

Room Tip: Location of villa 172 was great and quiet. The 3 x bedrooms upstairs have lovely views with uninterr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alexandra11-3-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 378 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2015

Our second time visiting this place. This time we opted for a slightly larger 2 bedroom house. The main differences being quieter A/C (which had been an issue the first time around) and a washing machine. The extra space downstairs was also better but the bathroom had been bigger in the first house we stayed in with a large bath. The 2 en-suites in the second house were a bit cramped. The houses are clean and comfortable but the floors are stone and the stairs are steep which wasn't ideal for the little ones. We had to barricade with chairs. Each house has a small patio area with table and chairs which is a nice place to enjoy the evening after the kids are in bed, drinking wine and listening to the cicadas.
Breakfast on the veranda makes the holiday, overlooking the pool and valley beyond. Always fresh bread and Croissants. This was included in our room rate but is quite expensive otherwise.
Day to day most people congregate around the main pool. There is a smaller children's pool area on the outskirts of the complex and an activity play area. This had seen some improvement since our last visit where it had been a bit stark and uninviting. The pools are not heated and can be cold if it hasn't been sunny.
Just beyond the pool there is a pleasant walk down to the river through a small vineyard. They also have few goats for the kids to look at.
On our previous trip the hotel had offered a takeaway pizza service which had been very handy. Unfortunately they don't offer this service during peak season. Disappointing.
We ate in the restaurant one evening. The food and wine were good but no provision for the smaller members of our party and they don't open until after 7pm. However the local shops and restaurants in the town were happy to cater for our needs.
Also a short drive away is the pretty town of Lagrasse with plenty of restaurants. A nice place to walk around with its small cobbled streets and monastery. There is also a small open air market if you can find it. Lots of small shops for tasteful souvenirs including a nice pottery on the market square.
All in all a quiet relaxing place to stay and a good location for accessing the surrounding area. A little short on amenities and entertainment for younger kids on an evening. I am sure there will be other places with a more personal touch for less money if you have the time and inclination to look around but at short notice this is acceptable and they usually have availability.
Be aware if you arrive on Sunday afternoon/evening all the shops and most of the restaurants are closed. Fortunately the reception staff gave us some milk for the small ones and we had enough travel snacks left to tide us over until the morning. With hindsight we would have bought groceries in Toulouse after leaving the airport.
If flying through Toulouse avoid booking hire car with Europcar unless you like standing in a queue for hours. All the other major hire firms are also represented but were not busy. Europcar had a big queue on both our visits and the staff took a long time to process, even with prior booking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank MatAlderman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2015

Our second time visiting Les Jardins, and also this visit was very nice for the adults and the children!

We had one 3 bedroom villa with pool and one 2 bedroom house. Worked perfectly, as each family could have their own house, but at the same time we could use the larger house for dinners in the evening.

Go for it if you are looking for self catering but would like to have additional services like a spa, a nice large swimming pool and a restaurant!

The location is perfect in the middle of Corbieres with vineyards and beautiful nature just outside your door! Carcassonne, Narbonne, the nice smaller villages and the beaches is within a short drive!

The local village is only a 5 minutes walk from the property. There is a small supermarket, a bakery, a couple of restaurants and several winegrowers that will be happy to let you taste the local products.

We will be back again next summer!

Room Tip: The two bedroom houses are placed next to each other. Good if you are several families travelling to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JohanGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom house last summer. The interior looks exactly like in the pictures on the website. The decorations are in tune with the surroundings and the kitchen is fully equipped with everything you might need.
That said there is also a lot that needs improvement in order for the property to be really worth 5 stars.
The airconditioning does not work, just makes a lot of noise. The beds are rockhard. Cleaning is only done once a week, meaning that you only get a change of sheets and towels once a week as well. When asked they are willing to provide you with extra towels though, same as with the pooltowels.
We had dinner at the restaurant once which was a complete waste of money. Go out and have dinner at any cafe or restaurant in the surrounding area, which is cheaper, better attended and much better food.
During our stay the weather was not always sunny. We even had some rain. One might expect that a so called childfriendly resort would not mind if families used the indoor swimmingpool. On the contrary, we were allowed in till 9.30 in the morning and then a staffmember came to order us out.
The outside pool area looks nice but is lacking in sunbeds and umbrellas. Most people have to lay in the grass which is there of decorative purposes. The mentioned poolbar is non existent.
And the biggest negative of all is the childrenspool. It is located on the outskirts of the property, away from the mainpool, there was always a strange smell surrounding it. It is not attended to, and no sunbeds or umbrellas available.
The website mentions all sorts of activities like winetasting, theme nights on the main square and a enthusiastic team for kids animation. The latter is available but only french spoken and also situated on an less attractive area of the property.

All together this property does have the potential to be a luxurious holidayspot, but for now I do not recommend it, especially not if you are looking for a family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leontine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2014

This resort has a lot going for it, it is located slightly off the beaten track but within easy reach of Carcassonne and more importantly Narbonne and it's excellent Les Halles and good restaurants. Some great beaches not too far away, try Port Leucat but go to the village for lunch.
However, it is badly in need of an upgrade, difficult to see how the 4 start rating still holds good. We were there in early September and it was really quiet, the reception staff are very helpful and the few problem we had were quickly rectified but we would want to hear that they spend the winter sprucing up the place. Too many broken tiles round the pool, plus broken loungers that would suit a private garden but not up to the level of use they get here, same with shade umbrellas, we saw one nearly blow over into the pool. The affected guest resorted to piling broken slabs onto the base to try and prevent it happening again. In our house the door handles were falling off and it needs a lick of paint.
Lots of great walks in the immediate area up through the vineyards where you can be as energetic as the mood takes, try the one up to the Table d'orientation for a workout or a bit further away, the stimulating sculpture walk.
Whatever you do don't pay the rack rate and avoid the bar; prices, especially for soft drink are silly.

Room Tip: The resort has houses, not like a hotel at all, the larger ones with private pools have the most pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
30.4 km away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - M...
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne Center
1,634 reviews
27.6 km away
Clarion Suites Narbonne Ile Du Gua
25.4 km away
Novotel Narbonne Sud
Novotel Narbonne Sud
#11 of 21 in Narbonne
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 km away
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Chateau l'Hospitalet
#3 of 21 in Narbonne
192 reviews
20.1 km away
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
27.3 km away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jardins de Saint-Benoit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jardins de Saint-Benoit

Address: Avenue de Talairan, 11220 Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Laurent-de-la-Cabrerisse
Price Range: AU$211 - AU$401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jardins de Saint-Benoit 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life in the village as it was long ago among the Corbiere vineyards the sea and the garrigue. For nature lovers, for children, for epicures and explorers. A totally unique concept. Les Jardins de Saint Benoit has reinvented family holidays. Guests come from afar in order to live one of Europe's many unique experiences. The village is completely integrated into its environment with its small houses typical of surrounding villages, its pedestrian cobbled streets, its fountains and olive groves, and its elegant pool areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Jardins de Saint-Benoit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Jardins De Saint-Benoit Hotel Saint-Laurent-De-La-Cabrerisse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing