We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Rural England at its very best.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Farmhouse frontage
Front Garden
View looking North East
View of house looking up drive
View looking East to Adstone Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike S
Banstead, UK.
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Rural England at its very best.”
Reviewed 12 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Shropshire has charming historic towns and spectacular scenery, but it isn't at all overburdened with tourists. This makes the area around the farmhouse an excellent location for exploring rural England - Wales, too, as you'll only be a few miles from the border.
The farmhouse is set in a valley, with green rolling hills making excellent vistas in all directions. All you'll hear will be the sheep and birds as any sizeable centres of population are several miles away.
There are many fantastic walks in the immediate area of the farmhouse, with the Long Mynd and Stiperstones just a few minutes drive away. Further afield you have Ironbridge with its amazing collection of 'hands-on' museums; especially convenient if you have children with you.
The farmhouse is exactly as described by the owners and was perfect in every respect for our family group. The owners (George and Victoria) were most welcoming, helpful and charming.
If you're visiting from abroad I suggest you hire a mid-sized SUV to get around in. Anything too large will make negotiating the country lanes unnecessarily awkward.
We'll certainly be returning - there's so much we've yet to see.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lesley P
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location for discovering Shropshire”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We rented the farmhouse for just 3 nights as our son was getting married in the area. The house is spacious and ideally suited for family or group holidays. Although a little dated in places it is spotlessly clean and comfortable with amazing views from every window. A lovely garden space allowed the grandchildren to explore without danger. A car is essential but there is a good local pub and shop within a couple of miles. The owners were really helpful and we would definitely stay here again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Your kind comments make such a difference, we like to know that our guests are warm comfortable and content too. So please do return, perhaps when the days are shorter and you can justifiably sit in front of the log fire!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kbayly
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab farmhouse, beautiful relaxing countryside”
Reviewed 31 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We have just had a great long weekend in this beautiful part of the UK. The farmhouse was perfect for our party of 2 families (4 adults & 4 children). Plenty of space, clean, a fully equipped kitchen, a large kitchen table that could sit all of us, comfy lounge, plenty of hot water...). We hadn't been to the area before & were surprised to find such beautiful countryside with loads of walks directly from the house (handy ordinance survey maps in the house) & the lanes quiet enough to take the children out on their bikes. Good pubs within walking distance (about 1hr at a 5yr olds pace avoiding the 'main' road). Plus plenty of streams for them to play in on route. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Thank you for your excellent review. We love such positive comments about the Farmhouse and its environs. Please do come and see us again, tell your friends too that this is also a great place in the winter when you can sit in front of the log fire?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bikerbike...
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain biking heaven”
Reviewed 9 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

The farmhouse is ideally located to ride or walk the Long Mynd area. The owners George and Victoria could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The farmhouse is well equipped and spacious.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Great views from the garden
Liked least: Only on shower for 7 dirty bikers!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2016
It was a true pleasure to see you all enjoying the south Shropshire countryside we hope you will come again as you were a fine example of how good tenants should leave a cottage. Thank you. George & Victoria
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visitwent...
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
“A perfect place to be”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this well equipped cottage placed the lovely hills of Shropshire, which offers plenty of room for groups and families, especially a spacious kitchen with a large table that comfortably takes ten. The owners are extremely friendly, helpful and relaxed. Holiday immidiately starts on arrival - the splendid view and the beautiful garden are just charming.A perfect base for walks or car trips to nearby towns of Bishop's Castle, Ludlow or Shrewsbury. Wentnor within walking distance offers the Village Store and two pubs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Sep 2016
We were delighted to see you all and equally pleased that the weather and countryside were up to Shropshire's charming best standard!
Your most kind comments about the house and its facilities are also most gratefully received. Please tell your friends that a warm welcome awaits them and you all on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing