We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great weekend in a wonderful property”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
Farmhouse frontage
Front Garden
View looking North East
View of house looking up drive
View looking East to Adstone Hill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bishops Castle, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
theshones...
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great weekend in a wonderful property”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
3
people found this review helpful

A wonderful and comfortable cottage deep in the Shropshire countryside. Wonderful walking area and a short drive from Bishops Castle and A LITTLE FURTHER AFIELD, Ludlow and Shrewsbury.

This is an exceptional property, immaculate and wonderful for a get away from it all break.

Our host were easy to deal with and were warm and welcoming.

We went as a group of couples who enjoy walking. But this property would suit a family group too. Wonderful, fully equipped kitchen if you want to self cater. With some nice pub restaurants a short drive away.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accomodation and cleaniness
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
We were so thrilled to receive your most complimentary comments and delighted that the Farmhouse suited your requirements so well.
Thank you for your kind words.
It is always such a pleasure to receive such kind & helpful comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oliver G
Bishops Castle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wedding Fortnight”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at England Shelve for two weeks during which pour daughter got married at Norbury Church.
The whole house is equipped for a small army and the perfect place for a relaxing stay. We were even able to entertain some 12 American in laws in the kitchen, which you can't say about most holiday houses! Our American guests loved the views and the tranquility of the area, whilst we were able to enjoy the comfort and endless supplies of hot water in the lovely bathroom.
Thank you George and Victoria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sheer generosity of the kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
We were thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much.
Thank you for your kind words. I think you now hold the record for the number of people having dinner in the Farmhouse at one sitting!
It is always such a pleasure to receive such complimentary comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapurna...
bristol
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Love views”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

6 of us stayed in the cottage, it was comfortable & pleasant. Large bedrooms & open fire helped keep us warm in the snow.
The surroundings are stunning, views are all around, very helpful & friendly owner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your kind words.
It is always such a pleasure to receive such complimentary comments
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicky-Chr...
England
2 reviews
“Lovely comfortable house in a beautiful peaceful setting”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We booked the farmhouse for a long weekend with family. The house was very comfortable and well equipped, the downstairs layout is particularly good for a family group. There is plenty of room in the kitchen/ dining area. The bedrooms are spacious and the beds very comfy. The setting is so beautiful, peaceful and rural - easy to go for a walk straight from the front door. We ate one night at The Crown Inn, Wentnor - the food was very good, particularly the pies, real ales to try and excellent service. We are planning a return trip next year when we hope the weather will be a little kinder to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself, the setting and the helpful owner
Liked least: Lack of upstairs shower
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We agree with you too! The farmhouse is a well designed and many visitors comment on its suitability for three generations too. We often get complimentary comments about The Crown which is always well patronised by the locals too. We shall look forward to seeing you all again next year. Sadly the weather is beyond our control, but we have had a fine autumn and the trees still look lovely in their autumnal shades.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essgeebee
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A beautiful location for a family get-together”
Reviewed 7 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We rented the cottage for four days for a family get together, travelling from Scotland, Devon and Northamptonshire. It is located in a beautiful setting and although the weather was not as kind as we'd have liked we enjoyed our stay very much. The house has spacious rooms, a well-equipped kitchen and lovely items that make the place feel homely. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water.
The owners were very hospitable and eager to help when advice was needed. Nearby pubs and small shop came in handy though, with so much space, ten could eat comfortably at the large farmhouse table and we ate in several times.
Our only slight niggle would be one or two chairs in the lounge were less than completely comfortable. Otherwise, we had a great time and would recommend this cottage highly.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We have a suggestions book in the Farmhouse and where possible take note of all the ideas which are made. We know the chairs you refer to and they were added at the request of some of our previous guests. We will look at upgrading them too in due course. The Farmhouse sleeps 8 and therefore accommodates 8. The kitchen has a large table which will accommodate more people, but then the sitting room next door gets very cosy!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing