We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A slice of paradise!”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We were thrilled to stay here our second time in three years. Both times were filled with hospitality, serenity, warmth, relaxation, and an atmosphere that we so loved. Outstanding personnel attentive to our every needs; delicious food in an idyllic setting; a groomed beach that beckoned us to relax, and a room that was spacious, and inviting, providing us with a spectacular view and sound of the Caribbean. We count the days until we can return yet again. The Copamarina is truly a slice of paradise!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    715
    443
    154
    72
    37
See reviews for
464
534
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

This property is located near the tiny town of Guanica. It consists of several buildings along the ocean, pools, a hot tub, small playground, game room with air hockey, and two restaurants. It is a beautiful location with picture post card views of the ocean and surrounding hills. The grounds are well maintained with attractive landscaping. The hotel was in good condition – it looked like everything had just been re-painted.

The beach is a narrow strip of pale sand with lots of beach chairs and cabanas that are well-maintained by the hotel. The ocean here is tame with few waves. There are some patches of sea grass but easily avoided by either swimming around them, swimming off the hotel’s pier, or strolling down to the adjacent beach park. There were a few small fish, but no spectacular snorkeling right off the beach. The hotel does have kayaks and small catamarans, but we did not try these. They rent snorkels for $15/hour ($25 for the day). There is also a company that will take you snorkeling ($69) or snuba ($99) diving from a boat that leaves from the hotel pier. Our snorkeling trip was cancelled due to poor weather (must have been an issue with the currents as the weather was perfect). There is also a boat to Gilligan’s Island that leaves every 30 minutes from the hotel pier from 10 am to 4:40 pm ($7).

The pools are beautiful and clean. There are two hot tubs, two pools, and two shallow kiddie pools. The restaurant on site will serve drinks at the pool for the expected high resort price of about $8 each.

The staff is helpful, polite and speaks English well. WiFi was free throughout the property – including the beach which was VERY nice.

Our room was in the main building, ground floor facing the ocean. It had a very nice back porch and we enjoyed sitting out, drinking rum, watching the sunset, and hearing the ocean. The room was large and clean with the expected amenities.

There is a spa on site that we did not visit. The fitness room was a small room with two treadmills, some weights, stationary bikes, and a stair stepper. The equipment was in good shape and the fitness room was open 24 hours.

The only downside to this location was that it is somewhat remote (that may be an upside to some!). There were few things to do in the immediate area. Guanica is tiny with no good restaurants. However, for a 2-3 day vacation, there was plenty to do such as the Dry Forest (ask for a brochure and map at the front desk) and Gilligan’s island. The restaurant on site was good but if you want to go out, you will drive for at least 25 minutes to find a decent place to eat.

They add a 10% resort fee to your bill which I found distasteful. It’s not optional so why not just include it in the room charge up front? However, this is a standard practice in PR and we have learned to expect it.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayeJ42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Gorgeous setting for pool and views. Food got old after two days (as no other restaurants anywhere near by). Loved hanging out by the pool and getting to walk into the dry forest (fabulous).

In general, the service was hurried and not terribly gracious (the only service we found like this in all of PR). And, though not their fault, two pairs of new new shoes (keens) stolen from outside the room (which we didnt want to bring in as muddy from kayaking), and basically NO follow up from the hotel, apologies or amends at all. Disappointing.

Room Tip: Buildings 4 and 5 best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank evanstontwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I booked this resort as an all-inclusive as I was traveling with two 20 year olds who like to eat and drink and socialize. Well forget it at Copamarina. There was noone there. We traveled the second week of January and the hotel had no more than 25 people staying there. Then they put us in building 4 - far from everything - not that its a big place but there were empty rooms everywhere. The resort wanted $240 p/person for transportation to the hotel so I rented a car. Then I understood why! It took 2 1/2 hours to get there and people drive crazy! The road into the resort is sooooo windy and narrow, it scared the life out of me and thus we were afraid to ever leave the resort. The area around the resort was extremely poor and I probably wouldn't have ventured out anyways. The food was good but the same everyday - only one restaurant for breakfast and lunch - two choices for dinner. The bartenders were very slow ,even with noone there - so if it had been busy you would have never gotten a drink. The beach was nice and so was the ocean, calm and swimable. Kayaks available and we took them to Gilligans island which was nice. But if we had to pay $12 to rent them (they were part of all-inclusive) it would not have been worth it. They also make you think the ferry to Gilligans Island is free - its not - $8 p/p. Pools and hot tub were nice but it was really BORING, because there was no one there and the people there were in their 70's. So, if you want to pay ALOT of money to be alone - this is your place. Otherwise go to Cancun, where the food, resorts and people are all more vacationer oriented. One more thing - driving is very difficult, roads not well marked and traffic terrible.

Room Tip: Rooms in building 1 have nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank hulihan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2012

I'll try not to repeat what's already in the other reviews. Based on my family's week-long stay at Copamarina between Christmas and New Years, I can say there's some truth to both the good and the poor reviews. Experiences will vary, depending on your expectations and especially on whether you're looking on the outside (the hotel grounds and natural beauty) or just inside the rooms (which are average).

At the resort, we waded in the ocean (yes, shallow with plants) and swam in the beautiful pools (yes, unheated and slightly chilly except for the two jacuzzi's) during at least some part of every day, and our kids loved it. Mostly, though, we used the resort as a jumping off point for day trips around the southern and western parts of the Island (e.g., the picturesque Cabo Rojo lighthouse, stunning Playa Sucia beach, the charming hill town of Adjuntas, hiking and chasing waterfalls in the lush inland forests, etc).

Our main concern in planning to stay at Copamarina was food, because we did not go "all inclusive." We paid $265 a night per room (we had two rooms), and the all-inclusive package would have added another $200 or so per day, which seemed unreasonable. But everything worked out okay. The rooms have mini-fridges and coffee makers, and after asking several times over the course of a couple days, the resort put a microwave in our room, because we have a baby and needed to heat milk, but it came in handy for other things, too. (Remember to bring a bottle/can opener.)

We wound up eating at one of the resort's restaurants only once. In nearby Guanica, there's an Econo market with everything you can imagine, plus a McDonalds and Burger King (though we managed to avoid both), and a couple good but cheap local bakeries that sell pastries and sandwiches. Several times for dinner, we drove 15-20 minutes to the town of La Parguera, where there are several places to choose from (we highly recommend Moon's Tapas).

A word about diving: We dragged scuba gear with us, but never got to use it because the weather, although sunny, was too windy with high ocean swells. You can book diving (and snorkeling or snuba) tours through the resort, which now uses an apparently brand new operator called AquaAdventures, run by a friendly guy named Jose, though they weren't very good about returning messages and letting me know the status of whether the dives were cancelled or not.

On a final note, Puerto Rico has amazing natural beauty (no visit is complete without driving through the mountains and getting lost at least once -- even with GPS), and everyone we encountered at the resort and everywhere else was very friendly and helpful. Even the policeman who pulled our car over (for reasons we never learned) immediately apologized and let us go as soon as he saw we were tourists.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Yoritomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Guanica
5.4 km away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
102.0 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
102.1 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
128.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
102.4 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
115.8 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa

Property: Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Rte 333 Km 6.5 | Caña Gorda Beach, Guanica 00653, Puerto Rico (Formerly Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa, BW Premier Collection)
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Guanica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Guanica
Price range (per night): $215 - $343
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On Puerto Rico's undiscovered Southwestern coast is one of the Island's best-kept secrets. This beautifully landscaped, 20-acre tropical resort is situated on an isolated 3/4 mile crescent of Caribbean beachfront. The resort offers the finest in relaxation, dining, diving, sailing and eco-tourist wonders to create the perfect vacation experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copamarina Beach Hotel Guanica
Copamarina Beach Resort All Inclusive
Copamarina Beach Resort Puerto Rico
Copamarina Beach Resort & Spa Puerto Rico/Guanica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing