We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished we hadn't eaten here”

Trattoria Di Campagna
Reserve with
Trattoria Di Campagna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Sarre
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 21 - USD 55
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

We've eaten out nearly every night in France Italy and Croatia for last 3 weeks. This is the only meal we have regretted. Arrived at 9.00 and was rushed through our choice of menu by owner. At first we were slightly amused, we're pretty tolerant and previous comments had alerted us to his 'style'. However we felt hurried and was presented with our €80 bill for 2 after only 50 minutes of sitting down! Then the owner hovered over us until we paid, he made us feel very unwelcome. The food was mediocre and very overpriced for what we had. We only eat in medium priced or fine dining restaurants so I think we are reasonable in our judgement of value. We felt like we were a nuisance and overall a poor experience. Maybe the owner has had a busy season and is feeling tired, see other reviews. Well if he doesn't like it he shouldn't have opened up and ruined our evening, but no doubt he was happy to take our money!

Thank 18vanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (860)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2018 via mobile

Visited this restaurant last week. Service was good and the starters were just perfect. The only minus was the veal that did not meet to our expectations. The veal with aceto bslsamico sauce was too thick. Price was reasonable for 4persons with wine 50eu each.

Thank pommyygozo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

This was a suggested restaurant from a local. We were pleasantly surprised, (we’ve had lots of bad experiences with Italian restaurants) food was good, as was the service.

We recommend you try the the goats cheese salad with walnuts and honey oil dressing. Also try the stewed beef with mashed potatoes and don’t miss the dessert. Especially good for those who are not weight conscious.

The cost was 35€ a head for a light 3 course meal. Main course was 20€ plus.

1  Thank Frank P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauro c, Proprietario at Trattoria Di Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Dear Frank,

Thank you so much for your comment. We are glad to hear that you spent a nice evening with us, we work hard everyday to make our best and to improve.
We hope you will come to visit us again during your next visit in Aosta Valley,

Trattoria di Campagna e Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Me and my family stopped on the way to Chamonix and loved the warm feeling right at the entrance. The food was delicious and the polenta lovely.
Good service with a smile and the price not too high. Great recommendation.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Quiquinhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauro c, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Di Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Dear Quiquinhos,

I would like to thank you for your lovely words about our Restaurant.
We are delighted to know you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated our food.
Hope to see you again on your next stop in Aosta Valley !

Best regards,

Beatrice Cortese.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We were looking for a place and we're lucky to happen on this one. Owner popped out to say they were not open for 20 minutes, so we relaxed in the parking area and fed the two neighboring horses while we waited. (You pull fresh grass that they can't reach over the electric fence.)

Owner seemed a bit brusque at first, but just businesslike.

Dinner was delicious, lasagne and polenta. Salads fresh. Desert light and tasty.

We would stop here again.

Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauro c, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Trattoria Di Campagna, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Jonathan,

Thank you so much for your great review, hope to see you and your wife again on your next stop in Aosta Valley !

Family Cortese and Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Di Campagna also viewed

 
Aymavilles, Valle d'Aosta
Jovencan, Valle d'Aosta
 
Gressan, Valle d'Aosta
Aymavilles, Valle d'Aosta
 

Been to Trattoria Di Campagna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing