We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but pretty poor quality”

Toby Carvery Trowbridge
Ranked #74 of 103 Restaurants in Trowbridge
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Visited for a roast, as couldn’t be bothered to cook. Was very cheap at £7.99 each (we had free drinks from a voucher), but the quality was pretty poor (beef very dry and most vegetables over cooked). Can’t see us returning.

Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Trowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thanks for your review!

We are sorry we didn't WOW you on this occasion! We do hope you will visit us again soon so we have a chance to redeem ourselves.

Thanks

TC Trowbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I visited this restaurant yesterday with my family as we were on holiday in the area. Unfortunately during the meal my mother-in-law became very poorly and required urgent medical attention. I cannot thank the amazing staff at the restaurant enough. They did everything they could to help us from ringing an ambulance and ensuring we had everything we needed right down to entertaining the baby so we could focus on my mother-in-law. The event was extremely upsetting for my family but would have been a million times more so. The staff at the restaurant really do deserve recognition for the amazing way they handled the situation.

That aside, before that happened, our meal was lovely. The food was cooked to perfection (the Yorkshire puddings were actually heaven) and the entire dining experience from booking online right through to paying was easy and hassle free.

1  Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Trowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thanks for your fabulous review! We do hope your mother in law has fully recovered and is doing well!

we are glad you enjoyed the rest of your visit!

Thanks

TC Trowbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This toby offered a great value help yourself breakfast. The food was hot and well cooked. Only complaint, the juice should be £1.50 refill like the soft drinks.

Thank wynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Trowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2018

Thanks for your lovely comments, we are glad you enjoyed your breakfast with us!

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Thanks

TC Trowbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018 via mobile

Wished we had gone elsewhere. Arrived Tues 8pm, not overly busy. Waited ages for staff to attend, no drinks order taken, once returning to the table with our meals we had to go & find a waitress to order drinks. Staff more interested in cleaning for next day, we felt rushed. We asked to order dessert when they finally collected our plates & the waitress had to go & check with the kitchen. Limited availability of desserts. My daughter had the refillable coke & when going up to the machine to get another drink staff had already as switched it off & cleaned it. So we had to go to the bar for more drinks.
Mumbling unattentive staff, we had to go to the bar in the end to ask for the bill as we had to wait so long for anyone to collect plates, take orders. When we left some staff hanging around the bar with coats on & another member stood outside front door smoking. Food, mediocre. We will not be returning again.

1  Thank Agentsmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Trowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback, its very disappointing to read your points that you have raised, this is not the service that we pride ourselves on.

We do hope you will visit us again and give us a chance to restore your faith in our restaurant.

Thanks

TC-Trowbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Recently visited with friends for a meal. The place was clean and about 50% full, the table waitress was great.

What let this place down was the food and the staff serving the "hot food". The beef was mainly fat and tough, the turkey was the best by far and I wasn't brace enough to sample the other meats. There was no stuffing and even though I asked it never turned up. The roast potatoes were black and rock hard.

By the time I got to my table the food was lukewarm.

Overall, ok if your desperate.

Thank Bigsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Toby Carvery Trowbridge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thanks for your review!

We are glad you enjoyed your service, but are disappointed regarding the food on offer.

I have passed your comments onto our kitchen team to enable them to work on your feedback to improve our offer!

We do hope to see you again soon.

TC-Trowbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Toby Carvery Trowbridge also viewed

 
Trowbridge, Wiltshire
 

Been to Toby Carvery Trowbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing