We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing cottage with views to match!”

Review of The Beach Retreat

Balcony view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony view
The Beach Retreat Open plan living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Balcony view
The Beach Retreat
Open plan living room
Open plan living room
Kitchen diner
Kitchen view
kitchen
dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Master bedroom with 5ft double
Twin bedroom with 5ft bed
Single bedroom
Twin bedroom with 2ft 6in beds
bathroom
Hallway and lobby
Balcony
Memorial gardens
Exterior of cottage
Exterior of cottage and shortcut to beach
St Michaels Mount (Medium)
Marazion beach
Penzance
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lizzyb94
Peterborough
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What an amazing cottage with views to match!”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

What a lovely cottage. Yummy cream tea with milk, tea, coffee and sugar waiting for us. Meant we could have a cuppa before going out for provisions. So very thoughtful, a lovely touch after a long journey.

The kitchen has everything you need and it's spotlessly clean. I often find you're missing a utensil but there was all kinds you could possibly want along with all the crockery you would need. Sponges and dishclothes provided too. We even found scrabble in the cupboard, which was played a few times.

TV has obviously been replaced with a larger version and plenty big enough for the lounge. WiFi access was fine, and TV is on BT, bit limited on choice of channels but perfectly fine. Bedrooms and bedding was clean and plenty of towels left for us.

Washing machine was a godsend, there's a clothes horse and little washing line in the garden, found begs in the cupboard in the bathroom so this was perfect.

Garage is small but you're told that beforehand, just had to fold mirrors in. However, everything felt so safe so wasn't worried about the car.

Marazion is a lovely place, got up early one morning and walked to RSPB site, it's wonderful along the beach in the morning. Nice to be able to walk over to St Michael's Mount and see it from the kitchen window every day. Every window and the balcony had a different view, felt spoilt for chouce!

Perfectly situated to get around, love the tiny roads if a little scary at times but so charming. We fell in love with Cornwall and didn't want to leave.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful home and county with us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2017
Thank you for your feedback and it looks like you had an amazing time. Nothing beats a cream tea for your arrival to make you forget about the long journey. I am glad you found the property spotless clean with all the relevant utensils in place. Marazion really is such a lovely place and I am glad you had the time to enjoy it. Please share any pictures with us in our photo competition. We are sure that Cornwall would love to welcome you back so you can explore and enjoy more of Cornwall. If you return to a property in the loyalty discount scheme with Cornish Traditional Cottages within 2 years then you will receive a 5% loyalty discount. (Normal T&C’s apply. The Beach Retreat is part of the scheme.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelBre...
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful! ”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely lovely little property in a fantastic location!
The property is small but very clean and comfortable. It has everything you would need for a lovely week away!
The layout is upside down so as to make the most of the views in the open living area - great idea!

The property has fantastic views of the sea, beach and St Michaels mount from the good number of Windows and lovely little balcony. The decor is lovely and fresh and all furniture comfortable.

On arrival we had scones with jam and cream and a small bottle of milk to get us started. What a lovely surprise and exactly what we needed after a long drive! Thank you!

The only negatives would be the very tight roads to conquer before arriving. (Nothing can be done about that and actually it adds charm!) The garage is extremely tight even for a small/medium car! My parents have a large car and had to pay to park down the road instead.
The TV is a little small.
All these negatives were very much manageable and didn't stop is enjoying a fantastic holiday!

We absolutely loved staying here and the owners kindly allowed us to bring two dogs. The property is so close to all the shops, pubs, cafes and the beach! Fantastic place, fantastic location! Thank you!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jun 2016
That’s great news that you had a fantastic holiday. The views really are amazing. Scones with jam and cream really is the best start to a holiday. Cornwall’s roads are tight in places but as you say adds to the charm. We hope to welcome your return within the next two years and enjoy your loyalty discount ( t&c’s ok)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pete S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic property, beautiful location”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Just back from a great holiday. The Beach Retreat was perfect in every way. I really can't fault it, lovely cottage, and really good value for money. Will no doubt stay again when we next visit that part of Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, views, decor
Liked least: That we had to go home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you for your feedback and glad you had a great holiday and found the cottage good value for money. We look forward to welcoming you to Cornwall again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul g
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Stay”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just coming to the end of a fantastic week Stay.will definitely return.owners very courteous and lovely gesture of cream tea on arrival love the cottage thankyou and see you soon once we leave Saturday

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanetLeed...
leeds, yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fab holiday let”
Reviewed 14 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent seven nights in this lovely house, spacious and clean. Very homely with beautiful views, quiet and yet only two minutes walk to beach, shops and pub, highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Nov 2015
Thanks so much for taking the time to pass on your comments to us. We are delighted to hear you had a lovely stay in this beautiful cottage with your amenities close by. Don?t forget a loyalty discount awaits your next stay too.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing