We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Traditional Cornish seaside cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Elm Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Full-service kitchen with modern appliances and all you'll ever need for your country vacation
Build crackling fires in a traditional parlor fireplace if it gets cold at night
Beautiful Wetlands: Marazion Marsh Bird Reserve
Views of St Michael's Mount
Elm Cottage: A traditional English stone cottage
Solid hardwood stairs lead from the upper bedrooms to the downstairs parlor room
Full-service kitchen with modern appliances and all you'll ever need for your country vacation
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jo_Luke_I...
Farnham, Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Cornish seaside cottage”
Reviewed 19 July 2014 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed at elm cottage during August 2013 and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The cottage is delightful, a traditional cornish seaside cottage in a fantastic location. The cottage was cosy and comfortable and had everything we needed. We thoroughly enjoyed having BBQ's in the courtyard of an evening as there is a gas BBQ.
It is great that the shops, beach and local pubs are only a short walk away. If you have kids there is a park just over the road. Marazion beach also has a lovely play area for children. The fish and chip shop in marazion is brilliant.
There are so many fabulous beaches locally (praa sands being my personal favourite) that it is hard to decide which to go to!
We found it perfect for our family holiday and we hope to return!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebirds8
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Marazion is Lovely”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Marazion is a lovely little Cornish Village with a glorious beach and home to St Michaels Mount. Elm cottage is located within easy walking distance of all that Marazion has to offer. The cottage has the potential to be a high quality holiday home, however there are some major issues that need to be resolved. Firstly, it is advertised as having off road parking (a must in Marazion), however we could not get our car in the garage at all. If your car is larger than a Ford Fiesta, it will not fit in the garage at all! The nearest parking is free, but a lot further than 200yds away (as the owner says). Then there is the issue of the foul stench emanating from the area outside the downstairs toilet. We contacted the owners about this during our stay, they clamed not to have noticed a smell and that they would get back to us about it. I still await a reply! I suspect a problem with drainage. Finally the cleanliness of the cottage and the quality of the fixtures and fittings need improved. It was not overly dirty, but it was not clean, dirty cutlery and utensils in the kitchen meant we went out and bought our own. We really enjoyed our time in Marazion and will return, but would not stay in Elm Cottage again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The lack of parking and the cleanliness
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2014 for a stay in September 2013

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in August 2013

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing