We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Gwern Cottages

Gwern Cottage Overlooking Mounts Bay and Nature Reserve
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Gwern Cottage Overlooking Mounts Bay and Nature Reserve
Front Arched Entrance and Private Gated Drive Large Raised Deck and Sea View Balcony - Main Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
Gwern Cottage Overlooking Mounts Bay and Nature Reserve
Front Arched Entrance and Private Gated Drive
Large Raised Deck and Sea View Balcony - Main Cottage
Master Bedroom and Entrance to Sea View Balcony - Main Cottage
15 minutes walk to St Michael's Mount Causeway
Optional Adjacent Cottage with Kitchen/Diner, Lounge, Bedroom, Bathroom and Games Room
Study with WiFi - Main Cottage
Large Raised Deck with Gas BBQ and Seating - Main Cottage
Quiet Rural Location
Lounge with HD Satellite TV - Main Cottage
Separate Dining Room - Main Cottage
Fully Equipped Kitchen - Main Cottage
Fully Equipped Kitchen/Diner - Smaller Cottage
Sea views from your bed! - Main Cottage
Private Gated Driveway and Parking
Lounge with TV/DVD - Smaller Cottage
View from End of Lane from Property (250m approx)
King/Twin Bedroom - Smaller Cottage
Perfect Location next to Beach and Nature Reserve
Covered Decking Area for Outdoor Dining
Smaller Cottage Dining Area
Games Room - Smaller Cottage
Rural Location only a short walk to beach and castle and great views of bay
Large Cottage
Smaller Cottage
Drone View
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Marazion, Cornwall, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Kevin O
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Excellent Holiday”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had another fabulous time staying in Gwern Cottage Marazion. The cottage was exceptional, spotlessly clean, well maintained with all that you would expect at your own home and more. This is the second time we have stayed there and would (and have) recommended it to our friends and family. Marazion has an amazing beach with St. Michaels Mount on it's doorstep. Plenty of places to visit close by for children. Within easy reach of St. Ives, Penzance, Flambards, Newquay etc. etc.
Hope to return again next year. This cottage definitely deserves it's 5 star rating.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
008becky0...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful setting with a short walk down country lanes to the sea”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We travelled with extended family and children aged 3 to 12. Clean house with comfy beds. A good sized garden to run around in and the games room was great for the evenings. We were lucky with the weather so most days were spent on the beach and sightseeing. Lots to see and do nearby. St Michael's Mount and Marazion Marsh are very close. We got the bus to St Ives with the children one day while some of the party walked St Michaels Way. We met up at Corbis Bay. As there are so many great views of St Michaels Mount along the way, this walk would have been even better walking from Lelant back to Marazion. My sister and I treated ourselves to a massage at Mount Haven Hotel which was fab. We took the train to Penzance but the rest of the party drove down. Cars were handy for shopping and visiting little coves.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth C
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 15 January 2015 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

6 of us stayed at Gwern Cottage for a week in September 2013 (I having previously rented it in 2012 for a Canadian cousins reunion). It is ideally located in a quiet lane with stunning views from the upstairs bedroom. Marazion itself, a most delightful town, is only a short walk from Gwern and then in the other direction, wonderful walks which lead to nice pub & good food! We also used the services of Lawrence at Oceans High in Marazion for water sports - excellent!
My only criticism of Gwern was the paucity of furniture in the upstairs bedroom; I lived out of my suitcase for the week. Another chest of drawers would have been useful - but this may have been rectified last year.
Gwern is well placed for exploring the whole area and when you get back, the BBQ deck over the garden is just lovely.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The BBQ deck in the garden
Liked least: Nothing that I can think of!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timraji
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic Cottages!”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We all (14 in total!) stayed at Gwern Cottages for a week and had a fantastic time! Very quiet location, but handy for Marazion and Penzance just 3 miles away. We self-catered nearly all week, including a barbeque on the deck, and had everything we needed provided in the two kitchens. Three large supermarkets were a few minutes' drive away so we didn't need to go far for supplies! The small cottage was perfect - very nicely appointed and modern. The large cottage had plenty of space - the upstairs bedroom was particularly attractive, with a beautiful, large balcony. Downstairs, there was a huge covered deck complete with table, chairs and gas barbeque, and also a pretty garden. The only minor points I would make are that the lounge was a bit on the small side for so many people, and both the lounge and dining room were looking a bit tired and could do with updating. Also, it would be perfect if the deck, including the banisters and handrail down to the garden, could be varnished, as we got a few splinters during the week! Plenty of parking on the drive for all four of our cars. All in all, a great place to stay. Many thanks, Gareth!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liam M
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We all loved it here”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My group of 9 friends all stayed here. It's beautiful, spacious and has everything you need. It's clean and homely. Don't hestitate staying here. Great price as well. It's not too much of a walk from the Marazion bus stop, which'll take you to Penzance trainstation. There's also room for 2 cars in the drive. Also, go out at night to look at the stars. Really close to the beach as well. Deposit returned very fast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;