We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything you could want for your holiday villa”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ferragudo, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
nordyboy
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you could want for your holiday villa”
Reviewed 17 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Costa Do Sol for 2 weeks in Aug 2016. We were a large party of 9 adults and 6 children. The villa had everything we needed for a great holiday. The rooms were very spacious and tastefully decorated. The villa is not ultra modern but has a lovely authentic charm with the numerous paintings, ornaments and pieces or furniture. Only 2 of the bedrooms have en-suite and the other 4 share the other 2 bathrooms. That's a slight drawback though we were able to manage ok with this. 5 of the 6 bedrooms have double doors leading out to terraces or balcony's that are mostly quite private.

The outside space is huge and very well maintained. The doors from the living area lead out to a tiled area with some seats. Past this is a large pool surrounded by grass and pebbled areas with several sunbeds. The pool is really great and although not heated we found it to be warm anyway. The only issue was that the shallow area was still deep enough for kids. There was a step to get into pool but then it dropped off from that. We had to be careful with kids around but we would have been careful anyway. The deep end is really deep and great for those who like a good dive or bomb in. At far end of the pool is a good sized pool hut that is open on 2 sides. There is a bar area with fridge and soundsystem. We were able to connect our phones via Bluetooth and play our music at the pool area. We made a lot of use of this. The outside area also has fantastic BBQ facilities. We used these a lot. The gardens are also really nice. We picked fruits from the trees such lemons, pomegranates and oranges though they were not fully ripe.

The owner Filipe is very hospitable and although he was around we did not see that much of him. The lady who cleaned the house was around more often and made us a lovely fish pie on the last evening.

The villa is about a 10min walk to Ferragduo. The town is small but still has a lot of charm. There are loads of nice restaurants and 2 beachs in walking distance (Ferragudo and Praia Grande). The water taxi is really good and will take you to Praia De Rocha or Portimao. We used this a lot.

I would highly recommend this villa especially for big parties. It is in a quiet location but close to Ferragudo and beachs and also to the extra amenities of Praia De Rocha and Portimao. We didn't hire a car and used the private transfer and taxis which worked ok. If I went back, I would probably have the car for handiness.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Outside and Pool area
Liked least: Nothing I didnt like
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
allcath
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for a week in June, 8 adults and 4 children. Villa was fabulous, pool and gardens amazing. Everything provided that we could ask for. Short walk into village, which has numerous restaurants, food and service in each one we tried was excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So spacious
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofty201...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Don't delay if you are travelling in a large group with children this is the villa for you. It exceeded our expectations in all areas . The pool area was fabulous, house catered for all our needs with plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms, kitchen very well equipped. We had a wonderful time. Would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything although the pool an outside area used the most
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antonjsny...
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Glorious experience”
Reviewed 2 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the privilege of spending 7 days in September at Villa del Sol. experiencing all of the Algarve in its glory. We were treated like personal guest of the owner being the only guest staying at the Villa. Dr. Filipe Ferreira works close by and happened to be on call the week we stayed, but Elena was very helpful assisting us for the duration of our stay.

Villa Costa Do Sol and its design is the vision and passion of the owner, Dr. Filipe. It is an old house which has been restored, adding modern design and improvements. It is a beautiful mix. The design and layout of the property is well thought out aesthetically and functionally. It is a glorious property with luxury additions like the in house spa.

The rooms are big and spacious. Beautifully decorated with antiques and art from all over the world. Filipe has a great collection of books and dvds at your disposal not to mention the great music on offer by the pool side. Days are spent soaking up the sun relaxing by the heated pool. The gardens are glorious with fruit trees and birds everywhere. In the evenings we would prepare meals in the kitchen and dine outside under the stars. In the mornings we would have coffee and then explore with the bikes on offer.

Ferragudo is a beautiful old fishing village with so much history. Old castles and tales of ancient shipwrecks spilling their treasure. Portugal has the best beaches in the world. We found some spectacular sights. Beautiful caves adorn the coast line and the weather is magical.

One Saturday, when Filipe was not on call, he took us out on his boat. What a special treat this was, to see the Algarve by boat. We laid anchor off a secluded beach and took a canoe to explore the caves. This was marvelous and a very special thank you to our host must be mentioned.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPlongy
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Luxury Villa with superb outside space and home from home”
Reviewed 26 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed here for 12 nights in September, just two of us but we like the privacy large villas afford.
I agree with previous reviewer, the photographs really do not do the place justice. The outside space is absolutely stunning. The pool is huge and because the house is raised up on a hill it seems to get a lovely breezemost of the time. Absolute peace and quiet too, The entertainment area has great surround sound system, dart board, shady area, dining table - Felipe said he was hoping to put in a home cinema in there too at some point!!
What you can't see from the photos is that there is a massive rock wall formation which has an amazing pumped fountain and coy carp in it, its like being in a tropical rain forest whilst you are sunbathing. Pool has a seat in it too which is great and its lovely to have a foot friendly surround to the pool which is not slippy. The pool is also obviously HUGE!
There is additionally another garden room, not yet quite finished, which has a massive hdryotherapy pool in it, plus a massage table - so once that is finished that will be amazing.
Electric gates give easy and private access to the property.
Kitchen has everything you need, nespresso machine, american fridge with ice maker, juicer, blender etc etc so fully functional. It could maybe do with a little freshening up with more modern units but that is only aesthetic.
Inside we obviously only used one bedroom, the master, which was beautiful, black out blinds and double glazing meant utter peace at night, memory foam mattress was incredibly comfortable. Air con was great too. Silk rugs and paintings on the wall gave the impression of not staying in a holliday rental.
In terms of location, a walk down into the town took about 20 minutes, parts of it unpaved and unlit so not ideal at night, but would have thought a taxi would have been about 5 euros.
Carvoeiro is only about an 8 minute drive, Portimao about 10 minutes. You can walk down into Ferragudo and catch the boat ferry across to Portimao Marino if you wanted - water taxis seem to run frequently throughout the day and to about 11 pm at night.
Wi-fi available and worked out by the pool too.
Owner lives in private apartment tucked away so is on hand if needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The external pool area was amazing.
Liked least: For us, as a couple, it was owner living on site, though he was very pleasant, it would have been our preference to have the villa totally private.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing