We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dr.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garside

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Grassington, Yorkshire Dales National Park, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Matt19811...
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location and enjoyable trip”
Reviewed 1 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very briefly, I have rated this stay as "Average"... The location was perfect and really worked for us. The only reason I wasn't particularly bowled-over was because I thought that the apartment lacked a bit of cleanliness in places. There were cobwebs in most rooms, one which was long enough to hang from the ceiling down on to the bed. I just thought that this was a little bit of an oversight when welcoming guests to a holiday letting. I also didn't find the bed particularly comfortable and didn't sleep very well which is why I have only rated this as I have.
Other than that, the location is great, the views are stunning, the layout was perfect and a very cosy little place when it's snowing outside. I liked it here, but it just wasn't good enough to make me want to return. For the money, it wasn't a bad weekend. So don't be put off, these are just my thoughts. You may feel differently :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Really sorry about the cobweb Matt, I will get on to that pesky spider ... Also sorry you didn't sleep very well, it is an extra deep mattress and guests usually find it's very comfortable. But we are glad you enjoyed your visit overall, and found the flat cosy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dr. ”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in this flat for a week with our 7 month old son. Very well equipped and comfortable flat for a very good rate. The owners could not have been more keen to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. The only minor issue was that the travel cot provided did not have a proper mattress or sheet. I would have been concerned about this had our baby been younger. We have given this feedback to the owners and they assure us this will be rectified.
All in all this is a lovely place from which to explore grassington and the dales. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay - and thanks for the suggestion re a new mattress for the travel cot. We will get one ordered for our next baby visitor.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chillifox...
Hubberholme, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our last visit”
Reviewed 17 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We stayed here last year and thought that as the owner said on Trip Advisor a bathroom upgrade was planned for last autumn, the main thing we disliked first time around would have been sorted. It wasn't.
This time we felt the place had gone down hill. It's only a personal opinion, but there we are. Our main issues were the pungent 'wet dog' aroma, the coloured stains on both the cream lounge seat and on the well used bed settee mattress protector; also the loo 'breaking' and the increasing sense that the place could generally benefit from some attention. The (very pleasant) owners make heavy use of a door near to the bedroom - it would really help to put some quiet closure fittings onto it.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2015
We were very sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay at Garside. We will of course address your various complaints. As the overwhelming majority of our many guests tell us that they find Garside comfortable, well equipped and convenient, we hope we will continue to attract visitors to enjoy Grassington and the beautiful Dales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spinonesu...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely apartment in lovely village”
Reviewed 15 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Very well equipped apartment, clean and spacious . Walks on doorstep to woods and river and only a couple of minutes to village, owners very helpful and pleasant . We're made very welcome in forresters arms with our dog which is always a bonus to find a dog friendly pub. Would like to return to grassington and would use apartment again

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Oct 2014
Thank you for your nice review - glad you all enjoyed yourselves - including your dog! Its a great place for walks ...
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglass9...
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended stay at Grassington”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I can thoroughly recommend this accommodation if you are looking for a compact one bedroom flat/apartment close to the centre of Grassington with a car parking space and with a lovely view cross a valley. The owners, who live in the adjacent house, could not have been friendlier.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2016
Thank you! Glad you enjoyed your visit - perhaps you will come again?
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing