We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful!! Inside and out!!! :)”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Clarens, Free State

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gizelle89
Potchefstroom, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful!! Inside and out!!! :)”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Nells Bells has opulent space and amazing character!! It is certainly a treat to wake up at this beautiful place!!! This is amazing accommodation for any family, for a weekend getaway with a partner or enjoying a trip with friends. Will Definitely recommend!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback.
All the best Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rentia201...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Beautiful Nells Bells”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband , me and 5 grownup children had an awesome time at your cottage. Love the decor (chandeliers and chalkpaint furniture) The daybed is just so inviting. Heating was very sufficient with heaters in every room as well as electric blankets and the jetmaster stove downstairs. Everything you need is there and more. More than enough cutlery and beautiful old plates and cups. The shower is small but what a welcome surprise... loved it. Only regret is that a weekend is too short.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the big stoep all round
Liked least: not totally soundproof
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value your feedback.
All the best Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZimLeeds
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simple but effective!”
Reviewed 29 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We spent 4 days at Nelsbells, 7 of us, my stepmom in the little cottage, very pleased with her own bathroom, kitchen and porch to smoke on away from the little children.

My wife and I, two daughters (4 and 1) and my sister and her boyfriend were in the main house. It is spacious but could do with some sound proofing between the two floors, anything you do downstairs comes through so clearly upstairs it sounds as if the noise is just outside your door! The stair bannister at the top of the stairs could do with less wide gaps, as it makes it dangerous to have a small child upstairs - the railing around the awesome upstairs porch is safer. Last suggestion is a sign next to the white cupboard to the right of the washroom/scullery at the back of the kitchen to say that's where the light switch is - I was embarrassed to have to call people out to find the switch - one at the entrance wasn't working and I assumed that was the one for the kitchen light - didn't even think to look between the cupboard and the wall on the far side of the room (narrow gap).

This may sound negative, but it's not meant to be - we loved our stay, it's a lovely big garden, away from the centre of town and very roomy. I would recommend this cottage to large groups and families .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Garden and porch
Liked least: Sound proofing and upstairs rails gaps too large.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your points are valid and we will look into it.
All the best and we hope to welcome you back to The Nelsbells Cottage in the not so distant future.
Kind regards
Andrien
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
690andrew...
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 19 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The owners were very accommodating fitting us in. The facilities are comfortable and easily slept the 6 of us. It is close enough to the market square to be able to walk there and back. We will definitely use them again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Apr 2016
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nelsbells Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lize-Merè...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great and Affordable”
Reviewed 14 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This house is equipped with just about anything you can ask for. It is quaint, comfortable and very spacious.

The only downfall is that there is only one bathroom in the house and one in the cottage with very small geysers. As such, I would not recommend staying there if you are a big group.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Nelsbells Cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing