We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible”
Review of Zip World

Zip World
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Zip World Snowdonia is the longest zip wire in the northern hemisphere and is the fastest in the world! Reaching speeds of up to 100 mph+, it is also a guided adventure experience that lasts for approx 2 hours, and is located in the most dramatic of settings - Penrhyn Quarry which is nestled amongst the mountains of north Wales. Zip World is a first for the UK, the site contains four specially constructed and amazing zip lines, the 'little zipper' first will take you down to the bottom of the quarry, reaching speeds of up to 40mph, you will then pick up your specialised vehicle for a magnificent quarry tour in what was once the largest slate quarry in the world, before then zip lining back down over a mile, looking down at what was until the 1950s the largest man-made hole on the planet. Experience the nearest thing to flying today!
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

So having driven from the titan zip line adventure to do this one we were all somewhat hungry, but it doesn't matter because in the email I received it boasted about the new "Blondin" restaurant and how we should try it. So I thought OK, we will, despite passing hundreds of places to eat we waited until we got here. Really wish we hadn't as this new and awesome restaurant was in fact closed and apart from a few tiny, and I mean tiny, cakes there was no food available!!

Oh yeah, the zip line was ok!

1  Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Manager at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Hi Stuart

Many thanks for your recent visit. I'm sorry that when you arrived that the restaurant was closed, I was very surprised to hear this as we remain open up until at least after the last customers have finished on the zip line.

We will find out what happened this day and ensure that this does not happen again.

Kind Regards
Nick Mccavish
Head of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 206 reviews
"whole experience"
in 209 reviews
"great fun"
in 193 reviews
"free video"
in 175 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 96 reviews
"the staff were great"
in 53 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 72 reviews
"quarry tour"
in 94 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 94 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 82 reviews
"time slot"
in 35 reviews
"birthday present"
in 75 reviews
"safety checks"
in 70 reviews
"whole thing"
in 49 reviews
"my partner"
in 96 reviews
"loved every minute"
in 35 reviews
"bad weather"
in 44 reviews
Filter

469 - 473 of 3,228 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2018

We visited with our 2 daughters, aged 11 and 12, and their 8 year old cousin. A great day out zipping 3 wires, staff excellent, very safety focussed. Not quite the adrenaline rush I’d expected but enough to get most people out of their comfort zone. We also did bounce below which was great fun if a bit tiring for the grown ups.

Great venue, a big thumbs up from everyone.

Thank DMC0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello there,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a fun family day out participating on the Titan zip wire and Bounce Below adventures at Zip World Slate Caverns. They are two fantastic adventures for the age 7+.

If you enjoyed visiting our Slate Caverns site we would highly recommend a trip to our Fforest location which is just a short drive away. There are adventures there for ages 3+. For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you all again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve wanted to do this for a long time but didn’t really know what to expect.

What a professional, well run place. As I turned up I was already impressed with the main building which had cracking view points for spectators.

Staff were friendly and knew exactly what they were doing putting anyone on edge at ease.

The Little Dipper was a nice intro to wet your appetite for the main event of Velocity. I’ve been on a couple of zip wires in other locations but they involve wearing a harness and sitting. Here you get to lie flat which is far more comfortable and provides the sense of flying.

I can’t fault the place. The food in the cafe afterward too was good.

I’ll definitely return and do with more people.

Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello Richard,

Thank you for you review.

We are pleased to see that you had a cracking time whilst participating on our Velocity adventure at Penrhyn Quarry. Yes we agree, the views are spectacular! We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site, we try to ensure all customers have an enjoyable experience when participating on our adventures and understand that nerves can begin to kick in.

If you enjoyed Velocity we would highly recommend our Caverns adventure at Zip World Slate Caverns which is just a short drive from Penrhyn Quarry. It is a zip wire adventure coarse situated underground! For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

I visited here on April 1st and was so lucky with the weather. It was bright & sunny with virtually no breeze, perfect for Velocity 2 the new zipwire. After getting kitted out with overalls, harness, hat & goggles we rode the smaller zipwire as a practice run. Then it was up the mountain in the back of a truck for the big one! The staff were all helpful and clear about what we had to do. I found the scariest part being suspended and waiting to go. Once we set off (all four of us at the same time) it was exhilarating. Hard to believe we could be travelling over 100mph. The mile long ride was over far to quickly. I loved it and would highly recommend.

Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Tracey,

Thank you for your review and recommendation.

We are pleased to see that you had an exhilarating experience participating on our Velocity adventure at Penrhyn Quarry. We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

If you enjoyed Velocity, we would highly recommend our Caverns adventure, it is a zip wire adventure coarse located underground at our Slate Caverns site which just a short drive from Penrhyn Quarry.

For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Katie,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

got bought it as a 50th birthday present.....it was awesome .....so professionally run....i had a 1640 run time ..but it was running 1hr30 over .....the staff were great ......and the whole experience was awesome .......

Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Peter,

Thank you for your review.

Happy belated 50th birthday! We are pleased to hear that you had an awesome time participating on our Velocity adventure at Penrhyn Quarry! We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

If you enjoyed Velocity, we would highly recommend our Caverns adventure at Zip World Slate Caverns. It is an underground zip wire adventure coarse within the caverns which were previously inaccessible for nearly 200 years. For more information please contact us to 01248 60144 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you visiting us again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zip World also viewed

Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Zip World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing