We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“velocity 2”
Review of Zip World

Zip World
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Bethesda
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Zip World Snowdonia is the longest zip wire in the northern hemisphere and is the fastest in the world! Reaching speeds of up to 100 mph+, it is also a guided adventure experience that lasts for approx 2 hours, and is located in the most dramatic of settings - Penrhyn Quarry which is nestled amongst the mountains of north Wales. Zip World is a first for the UK, the site contains four specially constructed and amazing zip lines, the 'little zipper' first will take you down to the bottom of the quarry, reaching speeds of up to 40mph, you will then pick up your specialised vehicle for a magnificent quarry tour in what was once the largest slate quarry in the world, before then zip lining back down over a mile, looking down at what was until the 1950s the largest man-made hole on the planet. Experience the nearest thing to flying today!
Reviewed 3 April 2018

got bought it as a 50th birthday present.....it was awesome .....so professionally run....i had a 1640 run time ..but it was running 1hr30 over .....the staff were great ......and the whole experience was awesome .......

Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Peter,

Thank you for your review.

Happy belated 50th birthday! We are pleased to hear that you had an awesome time participating on our Velocity adventure at Penrhyn Quarry! We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

If you enjoyed Velocity, we would highly recommend our Caverns adventure at Zip World Slate Caverns. It is an underground zip wire adventure coarse within the caverns which were previously inaccessible for nearly 200 years. For more information please contact us to 01248 60144 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you visiting us again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"fantastic experience"
in 206 reviews
"whole experience"
in 208 reviews
"great fun"
in 193 reviews
"free video"
in 175 reviews
"from start to finish"
in 94 reviews
"the staff were great"
in 53 reviews
"well worth the money"
in 72 reviews
"quarry tour"
in 94 reviews
"adrenaline rush"
in 91 reviews
"time slot"
in 35 reviews
"worth every penny"
in 81 reviews
"birthday present"
in 75 reviews
"my partner"
in 96 reviews
"whole thing"
in 48 reviews
"loved every minute"
in 35 reviews
"safety checks"
in 68 reviews
"bad weather"
in 44 reviews
Filter

436 - 440 of 3,190 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

We rode the Velocity Zip after the smaller taster zip both were a great experience the staff were really dedicated to what they did the reception was easy and speedy everything was fully explained as each stage of the experience progressed to the big Zip. The service and food in the cafe were very good, a great day out.

Thank JEWHFN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello there,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a great experience whilst participating on the Velocity adventure at Penrhyn Quarry. We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

If you enjoyed Velocity we would highly recommend our Slate Caverns location where we have three adventures; two if which are located underground! For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We visited as a family and had great fun, the velocity 2 zip line was epic. The staff are friendly and really look after you, they talk you through everything and put any nerves you may have at ease. It’s great for older children and teens as well as adventurous parents! The restaurant was lovely too and had a good range of food and drinks to refuel and warm up.

Thank Melanie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Melanie,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to see that you had an amazing time with us at Zip World Penrhyn Quarry participating on the Velocity 2 Zip Wire. We will pass on the great feedback on to our team on site, we try our very best to ensure all customers have an enjoyable experience and understand that nerves can begin to kick in.

If you enjoyed Velocity 2, we would highly recommend our Caverns adventure at Zip World Slate Caverns, which is just a short drive from Penrhyn Quarry. Caverns is a zip wire adventure coarse set within the cavern systems themselves! For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

This was such a brilliant experience so well thought out and very professionally run
It was as fast or as slow ( there are breaks on the sledges) as you want to go
The staff were very helpful and also in a beautiful setting
As must do experience

Thank peter_wayman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Peter,

Thank-you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you had a brilliant experience participating on the Fforest Coaster experience at our Fforest location. We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

If you enjoyed the Fforest Coaster we would highly recommend our Titan adventure at Zip World Slate Caverns, which is just a short drive from our Fforest site. It is and adventure consisting of three different zip wires! For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you visiting us again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Wow what can I say what an amazing experience this was a 60 th birthday present and it was just perfect the staff are very knowledgable and helpful they are there to help and reassure you if needed the bus ride to the top was an experience in its self a very enjoyable day out and a wonderful way to celebrate a special birthday

Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zip World T, Adventure Booking Centre at Zip World, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2018

Hello Tina,

Thank you for your review.

Happy belated 60th birthday! We are pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience whilst visiting us here at Zip World. We will pass the great feedback on to our team on site.

Did you know we have 9 unique adventures across 3 different locations in North Wales? For more information please contact us on 01248 601444 or visit our website.

We look forward to seeing you again soon,

Katie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zip World also viewed

Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 
Betws-y-Coed, Snowdonia National Park
Blaenau Ffestiniog, Snowdonia National Park
 

Been to Zip World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing