We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A superb, luxurious cottage in an idyllic setting...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Corrodale Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Corrodale Cottage garden and outhouse
Beach at Ardivachair Bay Iochdar South Uist
Profusion of vibrant colour on South Uist machair
South Uist from Eriskay
Bathroom
Uist beach
Uist beach
Some wildlife red throated divers
Machair South Uist
seal on the east coast of South Uist
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Uist, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MICHAEL M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A superb, luxurious cottage in an idyllic setting for a peaceful holiday!”
Reviewed 16 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Katie was there to welcome us at the cottage and show us around. She had really thought of everything - the peat fire (it was rather cold during our stay), the champagne on ice, the basket full of delicious local produce in the fridge, fresh flowers, candles in every area and books, maps and information of what to do and where to go. Although the weather was a bit unsettled, we got out and about every day. The scenery is wonderful - the sugary white sands, the turquoise blue water, rugged mountains on South Uist, the lonely peat moors and dark blue lochs everywhere. Iochdar, where the cottage is situated is ideal for exploring the chain from Berneray down to Eriskay. Our passion is birdwatching; we ticked off nearly 80 species during the week, including all three divers in breeding plumage, hen harriers mobbing a golden eagle, skuas, arctic terns and thousands of waders on migration. We heard corncrakes near the cottage but never actually saw one! The nearby Cooperative store is well stocked, with plenty of fresh fruit and vegetables. We filled up the tank at Broadford (Skye) (£1.17/L) but did have to find some more petrol in Lochmaddy (£1.23/L) and Daliburgh (£1.34/L). This was our first visit to the Outer Hebrides and it certainly won't be our last!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHatter...
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful get-away-from-it-all cottage”
Reviewed 30 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 weeks in Corrodale Cottage In April 2015, arriving by ferry on the Oban to Lochboisdale Calmacroute.It was a very big journey for us to get there from the north west of England( a long drive to Oban and the ferry took over 6 hours). But it was well worth the trip. The cottage is a former crofter's cottage and has been converted into a superb holiday cottage for a couple holidaying together. On arrival, we were very warmly welcomed by Katie and were delighted with all the added extras, including a bottle of champagne, flowers and a welcome pack in the fridge which included some beautiful seafood. The cottage is small, but perfectly formed, with a bedroom and kitchen/living room, plus a bathroom with walk in shower and spa bath. There are fluffy towels and dressing gowns and a very comfortable bed. The outhouse holds the washer-drier, iron and other bits and pieces, including a picnic basket, rug and flask.

The location is great for exploring the southern string of islands in the Outer Hebrides, and it was an easy day trip to visit Barra (via Calmac ferry) as well as Eriskay, Benbecula and North Uist on the causeways. South Uist is very quiet but teeming with wildlife and we were charmed to hear a corncrake at the cottage, as well as spotting lots of different birds on the world class sandy beaches. We also saw wild ponies, deer, seals, and even an otter! The cottage comes complete with a pair of binoculars and a bird reference book, which helped us understand what we were looking at. Viewing the night skies on a clear night at the door of the cottage was amazing - no light pollution and the sky was filled with millions of stars!

Inevitably, because of its geographical location, it can be extremely windy (and wet).We were very lucky with the weather, but with the peat burning stove, small but well equipped kitchen area, reliable wifi connection and Sky TV, the cottage was a lovely place to retire to after a windswept walk. There is a good supply of paperbacks and information about facilities and attractions nearby, as well as lots of history and natural history books.

There are few facilities on the islands,and you need to be prepared to cater for yourself, in the main. We regularly went to the Co-op on Benbecula which was just a 5 minute car ride away and will sell you almost everything to keep you going. There are more facilities in Balivanich, where there is a nice restaurant, the Stepping Stones, with good plain fare, about 20 minutes drive. Although there is some public transport available, a car is desirable, because of the distances and accessibility of some of the places you might want to get to. You do need to grab fuel when you see it, though, because petrol stations are few and far between.

The little Kildonan Museum is worth a visit and includes partial reconstructions of crofter's cottages, just like this one, and an insight into the social history of South Uist and there is a very good shop selling locally made crafts next door. The Banranald reserve on North Uist is worth visiting where there is a circular nature trail taking you round the headland, passing by beaches full of waders and wildfowl and beautiful views.However it was necessary to pass through a field with a bull in it - depending on your nerve and how close he is, that might be a challenge!

If you visit Barra, make sure you time your visit so you see the plane land on the beach. There is a really good cafe at the airport which was serving warm freshly made fruit scones when we visited. Carry on to Vatersay where there are some of the finest beaches in the area - despite strong local competition!

Altogether, a really super location, and a wonderful place to stay. Highly recommended. .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and a wonderfully comfortable well equipped cottage
Liked least: The journey there - but it was worth it!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P_M_Howar...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely perfect introduction to the Outer Hebrides”
Reviewed 2 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the cottage after seeing a friend's holiday photos and weren't disappointed when we arrived after a long journey. Fresh flowers, champagne and local treats, with a very welcoming host. Corrodale is a delightful cottage, in immaculate condition and with everything you need during your stay, down to a picnic hamper in the outhouse, although it was a little blustery for that during our stay. There are two good shops within a mile and a half and the location means it's quite easy to access most of the islands within 45 minutes or so. Even when the weather closed down for the day we had a lovely time staying cosy by the peat stove, reading and watching films. Highly recommended and we look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeanette...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable, cosy cottage.”
Reviewed 26 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Great location for exploring the islands.
Felt very welcomed to the cottage. Great treats, flowers and more!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewaygr...
Ely, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb in every way”
Reviewed 3 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We have just enjoyed 2 weeks in this wonderful cottage. We had high hopes having read the reviews on the owners' website and everything previous guests have written is absolutely true. Katie and John are friendly hosts and keen to help and know that you are enjoying your stay. The cottage is a real delight and luxurious in every respect. We travelled extensively during our 2 weeks, enjoying trips to Harris, Barra and Vatersay on wonderfully sunny days and we were so lucky to see these islands at their best - Calmac ferries are easy to book on the telephone in the cottage. Walking is also superb and our favourites were at the RSPB reserve and on the Udal peninsula on North Uist and the walk at Howmore on South Uist. The beaches are unforgettable.
Another highlight was having the opportunity to fish the lochs with experienced ghillies and Storas Uibhist in Daliburgh made this possible, resulting in some special wild brown trout for supper! If you are a fish/ shellfish lover, you will be in your element. Katie even arranged to have a visiting fishmonger call at the cottage with a van bursting with fresh produce.
We had one of our best holidays here and Corrodale Cottage played a large part in our enjoyment of it all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;