We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure House of Walks”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Branxholm
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages
Ranked #1 of 1 Branxholm B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 December 2015

One of the most enjoyable stays we have ever had; we stayed four nights.

The cottages are extremely well furnished and equipped. Our bed was very comfortable and warm. The kitchen was well fitted out with quality utensils, an excellent stove and a large, quiet fridge. The interior is tastefully decorated and conveniently furnished. You can just walk in and relax.

From the double-glazed windows you look out over paddocks to the river. A herd of sedate and silent Alpaca entertain you, thanks to their grace and elegance.

It is a couple of minutes walk to the river which has Platypus and Trout. Graham keeps the grass mowed so you can walk along the river.

There is plenty to do on the property. Graham and Christine have constructed Trails interpreting the Mining Heritage of the property and the lives of the Chinese Miners who lived and worked here.

Graham and Christine are extremely helpful and will recommend a host of walks both on or off the property. Their advice and instructions were always spot on. Thanks to Graham we enjoyed a spectacular walk at Ralph's Falls and Cash's Gorge.

There is a Tin Mining Interpretation Centre at Derby, and network of carefully constructed Mountain Bike trails. The corner store at Derby hires out bikes and gear; the tracks are well graded and documented, the store will advise on this.

You will receive genuine and warm-hearted hospitality from Graham and Christine.
Their cottages are a perfect base from which to enjoy the area. Their property is also a model of eco-sustainability; they generate their own electricity...

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2015

A definite "must stay" for anyone traveling in northeast Tasmania. The cabins have been lovingly restored, are most comfortable, and are beautifully appointed. Be sure to take the Heritage Walk and allow the unique metal work to give you an insight into the lives of the Chinese tin miners who labored on this property so many years ago. Graham, Christine and James are gracious and delightful hosts. It was a privilege to visit the Tin Dragon. We recommend it most highly.

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We stayed for four nights this time and could have stayed for another week ! This place is so enchanting and peaceful by the river surrounded by trees and fields. Christine, Graham and James are wonderful hosts. The cabins are all lovely, well appointed and very comfortable. Highly recommended !

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank balmainlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2015

We stayed for four nights this time and could have stayed for another week ! This place is so enchanting and peaceful by the river surrounded by trees and fields. Christine, Graham and James are wonderful hosts. The cabins are all lovely, well appointed and very comfortable. Highly recommended !

Thank balmainlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2015

In May 2014 I took my partner away for a romantic weekend getaway for our one year anniversary... I am writing this review a year and a half later having just discovered this great site, but felt the need to write about how amazing we found this place! It was peaceful and quiet, the owners lovely and answered any questions we asked, but also left us to our own devices (kind of what your after when you travel as a couple), they had the perfect balance!! The cottage itself, was clean and stocked with most of what you could need, we genuinely didn't want to leave, and usually after a night away, we both want our own bed back!! The outdoor spa was perfect under the stars, even though we traveled in winter and it did rain on one night, the heating inside made it easy to go straight back into a nice warm gas fire. The price was very affordable which is also a plus! We did plan to go back for our second anniversary, but fell pregnant and found it difficult to travel the distance required (which really is only about 4 hours, but wasn't possible at the time), hopefully we can get a babysitter and travel back for our 3 year anniversary lol =) Highly reccommend this gorgeous place!

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jess_o9o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tin Dragon Trail Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tin Dragon Trail Cottages

Address: 3 Coxs Lane, Branxholm, Tasmania 7261, Australia
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Branxholm
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Branxholm
Price Range: $153 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer romance, seclusion and privacy in fully self-contained two-bedroom and studio spa-cottages each with river views - situated on a 36 acre bush alpaca farm. Each cottage has a private outdoor dining area with bar-be-que and the studio cottages have an outdoor heated spa. Principles of ecological sustainability are combined with the comforts of a luxurious retreat. Your only disturbance might be from the occasional inquisitive pademelon or soaring eagle. This stretch of the Ringarooma River is favored by fly fishermen. Chinese heritage is celebrated with an interpretation centre, landscape art and walking tracks through historic mining and water races. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Tin Dragon Trail Cottages Tasmania/Branxholm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing