We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Brookside Cottage Shorwell,Isle of Wight
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brookside Cottage Shorwell,Isle of Wight
Spacious living room Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - cosy wood burner & fuel provided in winter months
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Brookside Cottage Shorwell,Isle of Wight
Spacious living room
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - cosy wood burner & fuel provided in winter months
Family kitchen with dishwasher, range cooker, fridge freezer and microwave
Brookside Cottage - wonderful range cooker!
Brookside Cottage - kingsize bedroom
Brookside Cottage,  Shorwell - ensuite to main bedroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - twin bedroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - bunkbed room with dinosaur bedding!
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - our charming bunk bed room
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - family bathroom
Brookside Cottage, Shorwell - spacious landing with lots of reading material and CDs
Brookside Cottage Shorwell - outside dining
Brookside Cottage garden
Crown Inn pub opposite
St Peters Church, Shorwell
Winter fossiling on West Wightbeaches
Come see winter migrating birds at Newtown National Nature Reserve
Osborne House, Isle of Wight - open all year round
The Needles, Isle of Wight
Alum Bay with its coloured sands, Isle of Wight. Needles Park open all year round
One of the Isle of Wight's rare red squirrels - winter is a great time to spot them.
Ventnor Botanic Garden, Isle of Wight - open all year round
Ferry inclusive deals available from Wightlink
Ferry inclusive deals available from Red Funnel
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Shorwell, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nina18639...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 30 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This cottage is kept to a very high standard. Very clean and welcoming. We have stayed here four times and already booked again. Fantastic facilities. The owners seem to have thought of everything you may need. The cottage has a lovely garden with a little stream running down the side. The crown pub just over the road serves very good food.
Brookside cottage is a ideal base for any holiday on the isle of wight.
I highly recommend a stay at this cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Wonderful to have repeat guests and such lovely feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Relax7238...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“perfect family holioday cottage”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

perfect location for all outings on the IOW cottage well equipped shop in next village stocked everything you would need for a holiday.brilliant holiday was had by all.
The owner even changed the mattress on the double bed with a new one as the previous occupants had complained it was saggy.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2017
Thanks for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed the location of Brookside Cottage and our wonderful village shop. And of course our guests comfort is very important to us!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillhyde
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful Haven”
Reviewed 2 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

What a lovely peaceful, tranquil cottage in an ideal location!
Quaint but with all the facilities you may need. Extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. A delicious welcome pack was a bonus!
The garden is a beautiful secluded place to just kick back and listen to the birds.
For my first trip to the Island, I couldn't have found a better place to stay.
Thank you Teresa.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
So glad you enjoyed your holiday at Brookside Cottage and our welcome hamper of local island produce. We love our beautiful garden and it was a pleasure sharing it with you. Looking forward to having you back for your next Isle of Wight stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LynnDanny
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a wonderful Cottage!!!!”
Reviewed 14 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage was easy to find and picking up the keys was a doddle. The Village shop where the keys are collected sell absolutely everything you will need for your stay so that was so convenient.
The cottage looks small but opens out with a really well thought out layout. Generous sized rooms. Lovely garden space too.
There was a welcome pack waiting for us. Wow. The best one we have ever encountered..... and we have visited over 20 self catering cottages and apartments all over the world.
I have to say I think this might be my favourite.
The pub literally opposite is lovely. It has a stream running along side it with trout and you can sit on a nice day out there listening to the sound of the water, watching out for fish and feeding the ducks. Very child friendly. The food there is great too.
The cottage is pretty central for all that the island has to offer. We loved our stay.
Highlights were, Freshwater Bäy, Carrisbrooke Castle, Osbourne House,Yarmouth and its Castle,Mottistone gardens. Arreton Barns with its artisan shops and Shanklin with its secret waterfall and gorge literally just off the beach.
All in all. A great visit which was far far too short.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2017
Thanks for a super review! We are delighted you enjoyed everything our Isle of Wight holiday cottage and wonderful island has to offer - our fabulous Village Shop, welcome hamper, local pub and of course our lovely cottage. Look forward to having you back on your next Isle of Wight holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jwredhead
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely, peaceful, family friendly place to stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had a great few days at Brookside Cottage. The owner had been very helpful in arranging ferry tickets and letting us know the arrangement for picking up keys straight away. When we arrived, everything was very welcoming and the cottage was very well kitted out with everything we needed (extra thanks for providing stair gate, high chair and travel cot on request). The kitchen and living room are both very spacious with plenty of space for two small children to play without getting underfoot - bigger than we were expecting from the photos online. The location was very quiet - the road outside is not busy and we didn't hear any noise from the pub over the road. Overall the cottage made a great base for a few days exploring the South and West of the island with toddlers and the grandparents - we'd very happily come again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2016
Many thanks for your fantastic review! We love helping our guests from recommending places to visit, booking ferries and making you welcome when you arrive with our hamper of local island produce. Brookside Cottage is very popular with families and the board games, books as well as stair gate, high chair and travel cot are appreciated. Look forward to having you back for a longer stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing