We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent position to explore Fife, very comfy...”
other travellers have booked this property
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen TV with built in DVD and freeview
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Crail Cottage at Madeira
Fully eqipped kitchen
TV with built in DVD and freeview
Comfortable kingsized sofa bed
Crail Cottage
Superking or twin room
Pittenweem Harbour
The beach at low tide
The fish hut
Pittenweem Harbour and fishing boats
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Pittenweem, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Robert M
Selby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent position to explore Fife, very comfy and clean”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Madeira cottages are first class accommodation and in a great place to explore East Neuk and St. Andrews. Although we didn't cook in the kitchen, it has all the amenities necessary for self catering and straightforward to use. Blessedly the bed was very comfy and a great nights sleep after a load of walking the Fife coastal path. Will definitely use again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Bed and comfy chairs
Liked least: Wi Fi signal erratic
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Hello Robert,
Thank you so much for your very generous review. I am glad you had a good time here and we hope to see you again.

Yours


Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tim K
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Peaceful and cosy, perfect for the quiet getaway”
Reviewed 9 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We decided to go away for Christmas this year and chose Terrace Cottage at Madeira.

Booking was very easy and priced very reasonably. Follow up communications and questions were answered promptly and the directions to the property were very clear and very helpful.

On our arrival we were shown the property and told about the facilities. The property itself is very well accommodated and very well maintained, perfect for the quiet getaway. All the facilities provided met our needs for a self catering property. The property was also warm and despite some cold days we never felt cold whilst in the property.

Other properties were also occupied during our stay, however, parking was not a problem at all and during our entire stay we could have very well been on our own in the middle of nowhere as it was so peaceful.

The properties are a short walk from Pittenweem which itself is a short costal walk to both Anstruther and Crail. With St Andrews a short drive (12 miles or so) it makes for an ideal location it you want to see the beautiful costal area of Fife.

We had a wonderful weeks stay and enjoyed a very peaceful and relaxing Christmas. We will definitely be returning at some point in the future and would highly recommend the properties.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: the peace and quiet
Liked least: nothing to dislike
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thanks for the great review Tim. I am delighted you had a good stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Jamie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mhadden20...
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice quiet cottage.”
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We really enjoyed our short stay at Madeira.The cottage was clean ,modern and well equipped. Nice patio area when the sun was out ! Pittenweem is really dog friendly , a very pretty village with lovely walks and a coastal path .

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“this is a haven of peace”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

I stayed in one of the terraced cottages for two nights after a long drive North from the Peak District.The cottage was perfect for me: clean, comfortable and quiet. The cottage had everything I needed for my stay- a big comfy bed, a beautifully clean bathroom ( bedlinen and towels provided) and a well-equipped kitchen and lounge.I will be staying here again this Autumn.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of the location and the comfort.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flipper99...
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage.”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Excellent accomodation, quiet location, yet convenient for visiting northeast Fife, including the Firth of Forth north coast,
The owners are friendly too!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing