We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Portas do Dao(Penalva do Castelo)
USD 55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Casa do Manego(Penalva do Castelo)
USD 86
Booking.com
View Deal
USD 74
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 796
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Onix Hotel(Viseu)
USD 57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
USD 108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
249
96
18
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
96
18
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscasa dacharming placehistorical hotelhalf boardmagnificent gardensmanor housetasting menumain buildingrestaurant staffstayed for two nightsold palaceformal gardensmodern roomscentury manorshort staypool barboth dinner and breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Fantastic hotel with modern rooms, with all comfort. Nice, clean, spatious bathroom and room.
Very large and good breakfast buffet. Good service. Parts of the hotel are a museum; most interesting to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JanVB9630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for one night going from the Douro Valley to Lisbon. The place is definitely historical with many rooms to see, such as a chapel, and gardens. The room we had was nice, with a modern bathroom, but small. There was no one to help with luggage, which we thought was odd given its rating, but so be it. The receptionist was rather cold but ok. There are apparently maps to view the various historical rooms but we were not given one. The one downer that keeps me from rating this a 5 star is the on sight restaurant is definitely below par. Since the hotel is out of town the eating options are limited we ate both dinner and breakfast there. Dinner, in summary, was not good and breakfast featured cold eggs and cold bacon. If you like staying in old historical palaces you will probably enjoy it very much. If you put a little more emphasis on food quality and service you might want to consider it more carefully.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rick1723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontebeloHotels, Gerente de relações com clientes at Parador Casa da Insua, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2017

Thank you very much for your visit and for the time you took to write this review.

We we appreciate and value your review that will help us to keep improving our service.

Kind regards,
Parador Casa da Ínsua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Literally in the middle of nowhere and yet I wish we had spent more time here. This property is simply over the top! We had a Junior suite overlooking the gardens and the couple we were traveling with had a suite. Our room was comfortable and charming, their room was magnificent!

We spent quite a bit of time exploring the casa's historic and amazing rooms, it was like staying in a time warp of history. The grounds and gardens were stunning and well worth strolling to take in the beauty.

Wow, who would have thought, this was truly a great find!

Room Tip: be sure to get a view of the gardens
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cowenevett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016

We stayed here for only three days in September. Everything was wonderful, the hotel and gardens, the staff, the room and the food. The bonus was that it was grape harvest time, the hotel has its own vineyard, and it was interesting to see grapes being pressed and even more interesting to taste the end product. Cannot wait to go back

Stayed: September 2016
Thank Ann2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Our large group came to tour the main Casa and Gardens, then to dine at their restaurant. It honestly was a true highlight of my extensive tour of Portugal. We were told this is now part of a very nice Hotel /event group Parador, and that they renovated it with exacting detail.It is fantastic.

Fountains and all manner of botany. Formal to ethereal. Lovely swans. An old carriage house. This is just outside.

The inside is beautiful as well as having interesting History. We were intrigued to find out the connection to Albuquerque New Mexico being Americans. Beautiful Baroque architecture. Surprisingly able to view everything up close.

We did not actually stay at the Hotel ( although we would have loved to ) but our tour guide said he has in the past and it is quite nice. Apparently you can stay in a modern wing, or choose authentic historical rooms. They make their own wine, jams, cheeses, etc. on site as well.

HONESTLY, DO NOT MISS COMING HERE. And stay if you can. The wine and food pairing dinner WAS FABULOUS, but that is a separate review!!

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank trra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews