We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Experience”
other travellers have booked this property
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
194 reviews
Spectacular Pool and Beach Club w/ Your Villa! Pool, Gym, Spa, Restaurant, Tiki Bar, Yoga Studio
Your Space to Enjoy
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Front Entrance
Front of the Villa
Entrance to Pura Vida House
Water Feature as You Enter the Villa
Enjoy the Tropical Terrace listening to the Monkeys and Birds
Enjoy the Hammocks under the Rancho
Relax the Day Away
Enjoy the Fresh Air
Outdoor Dining by the Pool
Hand-made Hardwood Tables
Most Comfortable Beach Chairs in Costa Rica
Spacious Open Kitchen
Indoor Living Area
Room 1 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 1 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 2 (2 Full Beds) & Bath
Room 2 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
Room 3 Bathroom with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Room 3 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 (King that Can Convert to 2 Twins)
Room 4 Bathroom, with Organic Handmade Amenities, Towels and Beach Towels
One of Three Pools Available to You
Sunset Therapy Steps Away
World Class Beach Club Steps Away from our Villa
One of 2 Spas inside our Resort for you to Relax and Enjoy
Surf the Famous Little Hawaii Break
Your nearly private beach, one of 3 beaches available to you
Beautiful Beach for you to Enjoy!
Incredible Sunsets Steps Away from the Villa
State of the Art Gym Overlooking the Pacific Ocean
Famous Hole #15, a tough par 3 called the Shark Hole
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Club is steps away from Your Villa
The Hacienda Pinilla Golf Course is a links-style golf course with great views
Two Hard Surface Outdoor Lighted Tennis and Pickleball Courts and Club On-Site
Two Mountain Bike Trails (beginner and advanced) with ocean views On-Site
Ride Horses in Tropical Dry Forest and the Beach; Equestrian Center On-Site
Gorgeous Sunsets on 1 of 3 Nearly-Private Beaches within Hacienda Pinilla
This Daily View Steps Away from Your Villa is Sure to Make You Happy!
Birds-eye View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This is All Yours to Enjoy with a Stay at Our Beach Villa!
Aerial View of Your Exclusive Beach Club
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Pinilla, Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 194 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kateegrac...
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 7 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I just returned from an awesome two week stay at Pura Vida House. We have done a fair amount of international travel but this trip was truly unique, thanks to our hosts Stephanie and Jorge. A stay with them is like staying with friends and family and gave us a real sense of Costa Rican life. Their energy and enthusiasm was contagious. And if you notice that reviewers are facebook friends, probably means, like me, we became friends on this trip.
Our days were filled with activities that are included for no additional cost such as beaches, tennis, shopping, bird watching, horseback riding, snorkeling, relaxing, a boat tour of Las Baulas Estuary, and night turtle hunt. For an additional cost we added tours to Palo Verde, and Miravalles, and enjoyed a wonderful $20 massage at the beach. We love to play tennis so it was a big bonus to have tennis included in the cost. We spent a lot of time on the court with tennis pro, Jorge, working on our strokes and strategies. Unfortunately we were the only tennis players staying at that time so we did not play many matches but focused on drills. Jorge is very instructive and encouraging on the court.
Its location in a very small town of Paso Hondo allows plenty of time for relaxation and the opportunity to meet and mingle with local families. Our views from the home included mountains, pastures, cows, horses, chickens, birds, and occasionally monkeys. There was no need to rent a car. Our hosts provided all transportation to tennis, beaches, activities, airport pick up and drop off. The closest activities were about a 25 minute drive. Although nothing was within walking distance we did enjoy walking the area to view birds, animals and a variety of trees and flowers. Stephanie has a lot of interest and knowledge on bird watching and guided us around the area to spot a variety of different birds. Evenings were generally spent sitting on the porch enjoying the night sounds, cool breezes and an ice cold beverage.
The house is a simple Costa Rican design with a lovely wrap-around porch with dining area, shiny ceramic flooring, many locally crafted furnishings and kept impeccably clean. Our room was comfortable and spacious with a large private bathroom and air conditioning. The bed/bedding was fine but not luxurious. A small pool provides a nice place to hang out and cool off. Breakfast, dinner and most lunches were provided and deliciously prepared by Pastora, a charming local woman. I really loved being able to sit outside to enjoy each delicious meal.
We had four others staying at the house so we did occasionally have to make compromises and rework the schedule but it all worked out well. Jorge and Stephanie go out of their way to accommodate everyone’s desires and will customize the visit to suit you.
I recommend you forget the resorts and try Pura Vida House for a memorable, authentic Costa Rican experience. Or make it a combination trip and spend the last couple of nights at a beach resort.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2014
Wow, what a kind review you posted, thank you so much for taking so much time. We really think this helps future guests know what to expect, and certainly helps us out. It was our pleasure meeting and getting to know you guys, and we truly look forward to seeing you this summer up North! We should have a little get together with the other Columbus ladies that were here your week.

Pura Vida, and we hope you guys are coming out of winter now up there!
Stephanie and Jorge Morera
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen M
Catonsville, Maryland
1 review
“Tennis trip”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

It you ever want to feel more at ease and comfortable when you travel, then go to Pura Vida house. Every adventure was a joy and it was not rushed. This vacation allows you to do as little or as much as you like. Jorge and Stephanie were the best hosts that you can ask for. When in Costa Rica, stay with them. One day I will beat Jorge on the courts. Pura Vida!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Mar 2014
Steve, thank you for the kind review. We know how busy you are at the clinic, so really appreciate it! It will not be long before you beat me on the court, that’s the reason I did not want to play a set against you … I don’t want to see that 100mph serve coming straight at me! Your best tennis is yet to come, keep it up! Hope to see you guys again very soon; so long from Paso Hondo, pura vida! Jorge and Stephanie Morera.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PRMD10is
1 review
“This is the best vacation I had in my life.”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Tennis classes were excellent, dynamic and fun. Jorge is a great tennis player and outstanding instructor. The food prepared by Pastora was delicious. Everything was fresh like the bread, fruits, vegetables, rice, etc. The trips and all activities were tailored to the specific taste of each one of the guests. I enjoy the Zip line, the Rodeo night, the boat trip, the dinner at Octavina's restaurant, the karaoke night, pottery with Rosa, the Marimba party with the neighborhood, horse back riding, the beaches, snorkeling, the massage ($20) at the beach and the relaxing "jamaca" time eating fresh oranges under the trees. Jorge and Stephanie were the best hosts you can ask for. They're intelligent, talented and caring wonderful young people. I miss Pastora, Maria, Jorge, Stephanie, the people from Costa Rica and I am planning to go back in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thanks for such a kind review! We miss you guys, and Pastora says hi (we told her you mentioned her in a review :-). We had such a great time with you, and only regret we didn't have more time with you. We really hope to see you guys sometime soon, whether it's out East or down here :-)

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mathmjg
Reisterstown, Maryland
1 review
“A Memorable Experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I must say it was hard to leave the Pura Vida House and good bye to our gracious host, Jorge, and hostess, Stephanie. With their most amazing supportive staff including drivers and cook. It was truly a retreat. We awoke by roosters rather than an alarm clock. There were no newspapers or televisions for us to obsess over. It was rustic, but clean with authentic meals. We had rice, beans, and fried plantains everyday. Our tennis excursion was simply amazing! I could not believe we played in 97- 99 degree weather every morning, but without humidity. So you never felt you had to run to be inside with air conditioning like back home. We did hydrate quite a bit. I must have consumed at least 100 ounces of water while playing two and a half hours, but never had to run to the restroom. It simply evaporated. After lunch at the beach we were off on adventure excursions, including snorkeling, zip lining, jet skiing, horseback riding, hiking, visits to waterfalls and volcanoes. We even attended a rodeo. We had opportunities to dine at a local Soda in town one afternoon. In addition, I had an opportunity to dine on the beach one evening and had the best grilled snapper I have ever tasted. I am so looking forward to my return!

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
Thank you so, so much for the review. We can truly say it was our pleasure to host you! You are such a positive person, and have a great energy to be around. That makes us especially glad you enjoyed your stay with us too :-).

You definitely have new friends down here in Costa Rica and in Columbus, Ohio!

Pura Vida!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cindy A
Fairview, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best vacations ever!”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

My husband and I headed to the Guanacaste region to attend a wedding in Tamarindo. We booked Pura Vida House to stay prior to this as we wanted to experience something other than a resort stay. Right from our first inquiry via e-mail, the tone was set. Jorge responded promptly and the positivity had us instantly intrigued. Jorge met us at our hotel, and we were immersed in the beautiful sights of the area, with a stop at llanos de Cortez Waterfalls, before arriving to a beautiful home in Paso Hondo. Even though we shared the main home with 3 other couples, it felt private with our own separate room and bathroom, yet interactive enough that we felt like part of a wonder family at once. Jorge & Steph definitely were the ultimate hosts & made for a memorable stay. Activities were scheduled to our individual tastes, and we were able to change these easily. Our week included hiking, beach time with massages, meals, ziplining, turtle watching (I was hesitant to do this as I thought this would be invasive....Jorge ensured me that this was non-invasive as controls are in place with the group he books with......what a memorable experience!), sea kayaking, cooking lessons, miramba band & dancing with the locals, horseback riding, and bird watching on the estuary & around PVH. There was as much, or as little, as you cared to do. We could go again, and still have a whole new holiday! The highlight really was, the community of Paso Hando, and its wonderful people, Pastora made wonderfully healthy, typical Costa Rican meals. It was delicious and plentiful. We would recommend this vacation to anyone wanting to experience something other than what a typical tourist resort has to offer. If you love sports, and love nature, this is for you. If you aren't willing to share space with wonderful, other guests with similar interests, than this is NOT for you. We will treasure the memories made with our fellow guests, hosts, and the people of Paso Hondo. This stay exceeded our expectations and we would definitely return in the future. Thanks for everything! Brian & Cindy

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Your age range 50-64
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2014
We're so so glad you guys walked through our doors. It was an honor to host you and get to know you, you are both great people and we enjoyed our time with you tremendously. We hope you enjoyed the wedding and the rest of your time in Tamarindo.

You are so, so kind for taking the time to write such a nice review, we really appreciate it. But more so, we're glad you enjoyed your time with us, it is always our aim to ensure people have a great vacation, and come away feeling like they had a good Costa Rica experiance :-)

Pura Vida, and you have new friends here down South, as well as latitudes in between in Ohio!
Jorge & Stephanie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;