We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Jarina Guesthouse(Wolmaransstad)
Booking.com
View Deal
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveller rating
231
164
36
9
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
164
36
9
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbona bonaget awaybush campgreat foodenjoyed our staylovely placeexcellent servicegame lodgefamily and friendshoneymoon suitewatering holespa treatmentsa great experienceout of this worldstaff were very friendlysunday morningonly downside
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 450 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

The rooms and facilities at Bona Bona are great, the place is neat and tidy, Swimming pool is a little small but okay I guess. The food was exceptional and the cost reasonable. All in all we had a great stay. The one thing though was there was no T.V. in the unit we got.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank michaelleibrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Manager at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good day Michael

Thank you for this review! We appreciate the positive feedback.

Please do note that we are not required to have Televisions in our rooms as we are a Game Lodge. We urge our guests to rather enjoy the peace and quite of nature and spend some quality time with their friends and family.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Stunning place with friendly and help full staff. Great rooms with very good Spa and game drives. Food was great overall great experience. Will recommend this to any one and will visit again. Location good specially from Gauteng

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pieterfouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Manager at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good day Pieter

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your time spent with us!

We appreciate the kind words and compliments and will convey them to the necessary departments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

We have emailed your reservations email several times and have received no response.
We requesting a group corporate booking for 7 pax (singles) and have waited 2 weeks for a response, and still haven't received a quotation yet! This is incredibly poor service, and needs to be addressed.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Relaishotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Manager at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good day Relais Hotels

Please be advised that we will check with the reservations department to confirm above mentioned.

It would also be appreciated if you would rate us in the future when you have actually visited the premises and not just give a rating to a place you have never visited.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Dear Bona Bona Management,

My Hubby and I recently made a trip out to your Game Farm for our 10th Wedding Anniversary.

From the minute we arrived to the time we left, our experience was one of the best we have had for a very long time.

We would like to personally thank the following staff for making our stay pleasurable and memorable

Lefa, your passion and dedication to your Lion and Cheetah cubs is commendable, the knowledge you shared with us will always be remembered. Thank you for sharing a very special piece of your passion with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to show us the rest of the camps on the farm.

Dumisani, your knowledge of the bush will be unforgettable, you managed to turn a cold a rainy night drive into a fun filled exploration experience which was amazing. It’s a pitty we did not find the Rhino’s, however, you definitely made the experience very entertaining. You have and amazing gift and we hope that you will always stay true to yourself and your beliefs.

Thabo and Tebogo. Thank you for making us feel at home. Keep those happy smiles on your faces, your service was exceptional.

To the lady that runs the Lavender farm (also did not get her name), she was amazing, she took us on a tour of the farm explained the difference between the cultivars of plants, what gets used for which product. She even to took the time to show us the pots and explained the through the entire process of how they extract oils to make the awesome products that they have. This was quite an experience and she was a gem. Thank you so much for taking the time out of your day to show us around.

We would also like to thank the lady at reception that was on duty on Monday and Tuesday (I did not get her name). She was always friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Bona Bona Management and Owners,
Wow, what a wonderful place you have built, your facility is truly top class and deserves all the praise. The attention to detail that has been paid in all aspects of the Lodge and the rest of the farm is truly commendable. Your staff are friendly and passionate and is noted in all they do.

Well done!!!

Thank you again for your hospitality.

Sincerely
Alex and Gia

Room Tip: Rooms in the Main Camp are amazing with wonderful views. Wake up to the brids Chirping and the animals at the watering hole
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Manager at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Alex and Gia

We cannot begin to thank you enough for these kind words. We are humbled by your compliments and positive feedback. Our team works really hard and to receive compliments such as these make us excited for the future of Bona Bona!

We will convey all these compliments to the staff and again we thank you for choosing Bona Bona to celebrate this special milestone in your lives. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards
R. Ernst

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

We visited Bona Bona for my wife's 50yr birthday. We enjoyed the predator experience, interaction/handling of lion & cheetah cubs, as well as good food, well presented by Chef Thabo. This was made even more enjoying with laid back music by Phllip complimenting viewing game from deck.
The reception staff were very friendly and always available and my wife really enjoyed the Spa treatments from Dominque
The private wine cellar also very nice
We actually had a 20 meter experience with some Rhino from the front of our room!
Driving to check out the bush camp (also very private and quiet) we encountered some "horns with cattle" - Ankole cattle.
The near-by Ruah herb farm also worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 (executive room to be split into 2 rooms in future), No 2 & 3 view nice views
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fanie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bona_Bona_Game_Lodge, Manager at Bona Bona Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Good day Fanie!

Wow what a fantastic way to start the week! Thank you very much for this review - we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will convey your compliments to the staff. We hope to see you again soon!

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews