We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic location, warm,clean comfortable...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
54 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
sarahhigh...
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location, warm,clean comfortable accomodation.”
Reviewed 3 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Manish Cottage. The cottage was very clean and had everything that was needed for a weeks stay. The road to Manish is something to be experienced and adds to the whole atmosphere of the place. We were so pleased with the location, incredibly remote and wonderfully quiet- just how we like it. We even managed a BBQ in the evening overlooking the beautiful loch. We would certainly recommend it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2016
Lovely to meet you and so happy you enjoyed Manish Cottage. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting
Liked least: The seating
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
4 Jul 2016
Thank you Simon for the review, we are so happy you enjoyed Manish. We love where the cottage is set too. kind regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sandy C
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Remote but stunning scenery”
Reviewed 18 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was remote, which can be ok but we found the very narrow road to it challenging. Certainly wouldn't want to do the drive in the dark. The facilities were adequate, but basic. The living room/kitchen would have been a bit too cosy if there were four of you staying. The shower screen was broken, but the whole cottage was very clean. We arrived and found the cottage easily enough, it was unlocked and we did not see the owner the entire time we were there. No mobile signal and no wifi meant we could not communicate with the owner when our plans had to change. Dramatically rocky scenery but not as attractive as the beaches on the west coast.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2016
Thank you for the review sorry we didn't meet. Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 14 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We have stayed in a few holiday cottages in the Hebrides, but I would say the location of this holiday cottage is hard to beat. A comfy little whitewashed house right down by the shore, so peaceful, with stunning scenery all around. We had the best weather ever for Harris, and the cottage was a great base for walking, or if you feel lazy, sitting by the sea reading a book, listening to the silence - and the sheep! Plenty to do if you don't feel lazy, all in easy driving distance. The cottage is equipped with everything for a comfy stay. If you don't know Harris well, it would be useful to make sure you have double checked directions before you arrive, especially if you are arriving late in the evening, as it is off the "main" road, but we found it easily enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2016
We just love where the cottage is so relaxing. It is lovely to hear others have the same opinion.It was nice for you to see Harris at its best with good weather. We are rally happy you enjoyed your stay at Manish cottage and hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freddyand...
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and special experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Apart from the tight corners and steep verges getting there, Manish Cottage was a dream. Its isolation and rugged terrain makes it a unique experience and it was our favourite accommodation on our recent trip through the Outer Hebrides. We absolutely loved it! It was basic but cosy and very comfortable with everything needed and was located right on the edge of a very pretty tidal inlet/bay (which the neighbour says has otters and seals). Manish Cottage is a place to go if you want to experience Hebridean life, unwind and watch nature... it's all around you. Sheep and their lambs, the tides coming in and going out, the moon rising, the sun setting, the craggy rocks and peaks aglow in the mellow evening light, long twilights, chilly mornings and invigorating walks. Ensure you have supplies and you'll want for nothing. Thanks Johan for fitting us in at very late notice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and its remoteness. The cottage was lovely.
Liked least: Scottish sign posts aren't the best but no fault of the owner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
We are so glad you loved the setting of the cottage, it is a truly get away from it all experience. We hope to welcome you back again.Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing