We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unique and special experience”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Manish cottage

Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen Kitchen/living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
51 reviews
Manish Cottage. East Harris.
Kitchen
Kitchen/living room
Shower room.
Cluer point Harris
Is Bedroom
Highland soap
Loch in Cluer Harris
Autumnal Sykes are wonderful in Harris no light pollution
Beautiful sunsets in Harris all year round
Guest photo of Manish
local sheep
Donalds wee window
water lily in Harris
Wild Thyme
Ist Bedroom
2nd bedroom
Map of main routes
View above Manish
Manish Cottage.
View over Bay
Shower room
Shower
West Harris.
West Harris.
Beach west side  of Harris
Scalpay lighthouse.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Flodabay, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Freddyand...
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique and special experience”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Apart from the tight corners and steep verges getting there, Manish Cottage was a dream. Its isolation and rugged terrain makes it a unique experience and it was our favourite accommodation on our recent trip through the Outer Hebrides. We absolutely loved it! It was basic but cosy and very comfortable with everything needed and was located right on the edge of a very pretty tidal inlet/bay (which the neighbour says has otters and seals). Manish Cottage is a place to go if you want to experience Hebridean life, unwind and watch nature... it's all around you. Sheep and their lambs, the tides coming in and going out, the moon rising, the sun setting, the craggy rocks and peaks aglow in the mellow evening light, long twilights, chilly mornings and invigorating walks. Ensure you have supplies and you'll want for nothing. Thanks Johan for fitting us in at very late notice!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and its remoteness. The cottage was lovely.
Liked least: Scottish sign posts aren't the best but no fault of the owner.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
We are so glad you loved the setting of the cottage, it is a truly get away from it all experience. We hope to welcome you back again.Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kathyanne...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good value, peaceful setting ”
Reviewed 21 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed 2 nights. The cottage is fairly basic but well enough equipped and the bed is comfy. Beautiful setting on the bay - though sadly the weather didn't play ball with letting us enjoy it too much! Good value base for getting out and about exploring the island before retiring for a peaceful night in listening to the sheep! Would recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
We are so happy you had a peaceful stay at Manish, it is one of the things we love about the location. Hope to welcome you back. Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bannlagan
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The road to Manish is definitely not for the faint hearted. Once there one could only appreciate the silence apart from sheep and the lambs whose antics kept us amused. The fenced garden was ideal for our dog who enjoyed the freedom The scenery around the cottage is beautiful but unfortunately there are no windows in the living room which look towards the sea. However the weather was good so we were able to sit outside. The cottage is fairly basic although the king size bed is extremely comfortable, the settee is not. Plenty of towels provided and with the heaters it was cosy at night. After a long day's walking a soak in the bath would have been very welcome but the hot tap does not work. We were surprised by the absence of information in the cottage. There is no mobile phone reception or wi fi so what one would be advised to do in an emergency would have been useful. There were no contact details for the owner, we had no brought a paper copy of our booking. Also directions to the nearest shop and its opening hours is usual in self catering. However we did have a great stay and would use Manish Cottage again. I would recommend it to some friends butnot others.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The kingsized bed and the quietness
Liked least: The settee
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2016
Sorry that you were disappointed with no hot water tap on bath, I was not aware that there was a problem, I will have this put right. We are happy to welcome you back anytime. King Regards Johan .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marie g
Paisley, United Kingdom
1 review
“beautiful island paradise”
Reviewed 21 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

beautiful island and lots to do and see very friendly people the cottage was lovely and had all we needed for a holiday my dogs loved it will be going back for sure we had a great 39th wedding anniversary the owners was very helpful as we didn't get on the island until after 9pm and got a bit lost so they sent murdo out to show us the way thanks very much for a wonderful holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the beaches
Liked least: had to come home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you for staying at Manish Cottage so happy you enjoyed it. Harris is Magical and we welcome you back anytime.Kind Regards Johan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshKirkma...
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic.”
Reviewed 23 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Just spent two weeks at this delightful little cottage. When we arrived we were met by Johan who was lovely and very helpful. The cottage was nice and clean, and the heating was on to make it warm prior to our arrival. The cottage had everything we needed, including oven, washing machine, television and any utensils to cook and eat with. The area around the cottage is beautiful when the sun is shining. The price of the cottage was very reasonable too. Had a fantastic break and wish we could've stayed longer. Fell in love with the Outer Hebrides. No concerns at all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Mar 2016
It was lovely to meet you both and I am so glad you enjoyed the cottage. Harris is rather magical, leaving everyone wanting more. We hope to see you back again. Kind regards Johan.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing