We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will be booking again very soon”
Review of The Juniperlea Inn

The Juniperlea Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Pathhead
Description: We are a family friendly gastro pub, serving meals all day with vegetarian and gluten free options. We have a bar area where dogs are welcome and a restaurant area for diners. We have a large car park at the rear of the building and we have a courtesy bus for customers that wish to visit for a meal and drinks. Our restaurant area can be booked for private functions as it has its own bar and dancefloor, we can cater for any function.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a family friendly gastro pub, serving meals all day with vegetarian and gluten free options. We have a bar area where dogs are welcome and a restaurant area for diners. We have a large car park at the rear of the building and we have a courtesy bus for customers that wish to visit for a meal and drinks. Our restaurant area can be booked for private functions as it has its own bar and dancefloor, we can cater for any function.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Amazing food. Amazing service. Definitely worth a visit. Can’t wait to go back. And the taxi service is great.
Thanks for the great night guys.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank H-Stubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Enjoyed a lovely meal here, the sticky toffee pudding is amazing 10/10 would recommend and will definitely be visiting again soon

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Vacation19362240595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First time at the Juniperlea and would definitely recommend. Dropped by last week and they were very accommodating. We were seated promptly and thoroughly looked after during our visit. A la carte menu very impressive and we were treated to a great meal. The waiting staff saw to our every need, ensuring we were happy with our meals and topped up with drinks. Even though they were busy, our waiter still took the time to chat to us about long term plans for the inn and upcoming events, and give us his full attention. Service was smooth and quick! This restaurant is perfect location for those commuting down South from Edinburgh. Having spent several years in hospitality, I am excited to recommend this hidden gem!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ER337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2018 via mobile

We had a table booked at this place today.. it was a surprise for someone's 60th and they decided to cancel just before we were due to arrive. We booked this 6 weeks ago and today 3 hours before we were due they said they couldn't pick us up as someone called in sick.. we suggested they asked another member of staff or maybe cover taxi costs as it was such late notice.. they told us they would sort it.."apparently this was rude?! We had travelled from all over the place for this occasion.. I've worked in the hospitality industry for over 10 years and if you advertise something (even if it is free) you should provide the service! Also, a word to the owners.. if you work in this industry you should know the customer is always right! Even if a customer is being difficult (which we weren't!) it does NOT give you the right to phone us and give us pure cheek over the phone. If you had told us a few hours prior we could have arranged somewhere else to eat but you decided to leave it up until we were due to come.. leaving kids crying because they were starving and also because of the way they heard a man speaking to their mum on the phone. There is a way of speaking to people.. would advise some hospitality training!!! Only has one star because I have to give them that at least!

Date of visit: November 2018
7  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018 via mobile

Once again had a fantastic meal staff are lovely and friendly nothing was a problem definitely recommend

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Juniperlea Inn also viewed

 
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
Lasswade, Midlothian
 

Been to The Juniperlea Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing