We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Never got bored of looking out of the window!”
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Our 200 acre private woodland - explore at your will Waterfall in the private woods
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
The cottage set in 200 acres of private woodland and stunning mountain views
Our 200 acre private woodland - explore at your will
Waterfall in the private woods
The deep bath is the perfect place to relax after a days walking
The Bathroom
Views from the cottage
The Cottage in wingter
A fully equipped kitchen
Dining for four
The kitchen dining area
The double bedroom
The large twin bedroom
Sitting room with log burner
View from the driveway
Nesting time
Blue Tit
View from the back door
A visiting Robin
Lord Hereford's Knob
Secluded lawn
Campion
New for 2015 - log fired cedar hot tub
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Velindre, Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ann-Marie...
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Never got bored of looking out of the window!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

2nd Visit to Cefn Y Waun both times with our dogs - you will struggle to find a more perfect place to stay. The views from the cottage are amazing at an time of day I've got some great pictures of the mist coming down over Lord Hereford's Knob and also in the moonlight. Honestly cannot get bored of just looking at the view. For dog owners yes there are sheep in the next field (fenced off) but if you tire them out in the woods the sheep are irrelevant we have 3 springers and it worked.
This year we discovered the waterfall's which are based in the owner's woods and are well worth a visit however there are no clear directions on how to get to them so unless you want to wander and happen on them by chance it's worth asking owner for directions.
The cottage itself it very comfortable (worth ordering the wood for the fire just adds to the effect).
Little tips take an ipod docker or similar as there is only the radio for music, books or games to chill out post walk, candles for those romantic evenings, wellies!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Dog friendly and views.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HardyWalk...
Stroud, Glos
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A perfect place to relax and slow down.”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

If you are seeking peace and quiet then this is a place for you. The cottage offers privacy and comfort in the beauty of the hills. We plan to visit again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
faisal m
1 review
“An excellent holiday”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Had an absolutely brilliant and relaxing time. The waterfall was amazing and beautiful. The cottage was also beautiful and we leave loved trekking throughout the woods. Would definitely recommend to anyone wishing to get away from it all.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeromeH41...
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed 4 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed at Cenf Y Waun for a week of holidays. We all enjoyed the place and our stay there. It's comfortable, quiet and well located to discover the area. Waking up with birds and squirrels coming close to the house was a pleasure for the eyes.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanna T
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheer Bliss!”
Reviewed 30 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Decided to escape the rat race for my 50th Birthday, and so glad I did. What a beautiful cottage. The views were stunning with the ever changing colours of the Black mountains infront and the wonderful private 200 acre wood behind the cottage gave our 2 dogs some wonderful walks, including a visit to the waterfall, Hay on Wye is also worth a visit. The cottage itself was lovely, clean and very cosy giving us time to relax and unwind, with the only noise coming from a variety of different birds and the sheep! Our only regret was that I couldn't take the cottage back home with us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Liked least: we had to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing