We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere and good home-cooked food”

The Family Tree Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Bakeries in Whatstandwell
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 4 - USD 9
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 22 December 2017

Turned up with 6 friends fresh from muddy Mountain bike ride in the woods nearby for coffee/tea and cakes with Christmas parties going on. Friendly welcome and speedy service for us all paying separately. Definitely a regular on our list of possible cafe stops for our MTB riding.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2017 via mobile

Arrived 9:45 for a Sunday Breakfast treat
Chose to sit in quieter ‘ overflow’ room as the main room was rather busy - though there was a table or 2 available
Ordered at bar and started to wait - there’s usually a bit of a delay as they say they cook to order
After 15 minutes the owner asked us to move to busier room as she had a reservation for a larger party that she had forgotten and needed our table! She stated there were 2 tables free
We moved and selected a table - which had not been cleared from previous customer
Then WE had to redirect our drinks as the relocation information had NOT been passed to kitchen / waiting staff
After a further 10 minutes we asked for our table to be cleared
A further 20 mins passed before a waitress wandering around with 2 plates was directed by owner that we had moved - I made it clear that it was not our choice and surely SHE should have informed the kitchen /waiting staff
Then - to cap it all -the order was wrong!
My meal was returned to the kitchen - though the owner did state that I could keep the wrong order - Why would I do that?
Husband requested that his was also returned so we could eat together
No apology was offered but we were offered a drink!
Meals returned but were cold - definitely NOT cooked to order! nobody even checked if everything was ok
Needless to say we left shortly afterwards

THIS HAS BECOME AN OCCASIONAL TREAT VENUE FOR US BUT IM SORRY TO SAY WE SHALL NOT BE RETURNING

Family Tree you need to sort yourselves out You are losing your way

Date of visit: November 2017
4  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

We popped in on our travels and ordered the fry ups. They arrived in reasonabe time and were very good especially the sausages. I’m not a fan of having beans in an individual bowl but that’s just personal choice.
The pot of tea was large and good and the service was fine.

Date of visit: November 2017
Thank ciar0n0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

We visited today for an afternoon tea, which was pre-booked earlier in the week. We arrived on time and told that our afternoon tea had already been prepared and to find a table and we would be served. There were no tables free so sat on a settee, a sign said 45 minutes wait for food but had been told that our food had been already prepared so didn’t think this would apply to us. We were served tea straight away but despite asking 4 different waiting staff no sign of afternoon tea. Eventually fed up I went to the counter and insisted on knowing what was going on. We were advised that even though our food was ready we still had to wait in the 45 minute queue. 45 minutes later food arrived certainly not worth the money and as we had had the tea 45 minutes previous very dry. We paid 33.00 for this on paying we were asked if we had enjoyed it and on saying no the waiter just said oh. I would not recommend.

Date of visit: October 2017
3  Thank Jacque F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Shambolic service from entering to leaving. Table for 5 + child booked. Given a table for 4 with a tiny side table pushed at the end of the main table. Food prebooked no problem. A long wait for prebooked food, cream and jam no good without scones to put it on. A rather confused young man wandering around with said cream and jam. Afternoon tea arrived for the adults and a short wait for the child's ham sandwich. All the food was of excellent quality, which we enjoyed. Drinks then ordered, 3 latte, 1 Americano with cream and 1 pot of tea. The coffees arrived and were finished, the tea was absent, a polite reminder and a pot of tea was brought to the table. Anything else was the question, yes perhaps milk for the tea !!! The staff need training, I know they are young but being grunted at by a teenager at the prices charged is just not the biscuit. The parking is also a joke and not a funny one. We will not be back

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Nerakb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Family Tree Restaurant also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Family Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing