We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful & cosy hideaway in The Elan Valley”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of property
Front of property Side view with stream running nearby
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Front of property
Front of property
Side view with stream running nearby
Cosy log burner
Dining table with log burner
Dining room
Window view in dining room
Well-equipped Kitchen
Hall downstairs
Large bathroom
Living room with views
Living room
Large double bedroom
Mountain views from double bedroom
Mountain view from bedroom - winter
Double bedroom
Single bedroom
Pretty twin room
Mountain views from outside cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Cwmystwyth, Ceredigion, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gemredfor...
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Peaceful & cosy hideaway in The Elan Valley”
Reviewed 25 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had such a lovely time staying at Esgair Wen and can't wait to return in the Spring! Mary was a fabulous host, very informative about places to visit and places to eat. She was only a phone call away if we needed her and even made us some delicious scones for our arrival at the cottage.

The cottage is very secluded and surrounded by excellent views of the valley and mountains, every window had a great view! Having a log burner made it even more cosy and was very welcomed after a long day hiking in the cold. Surprisingly the wifi was very good! We were not expecting it to be due to being in the middle of a valley but it worked perfectly.
We loved waking up in the morning and going out for a tea with the sheep and hares that grazed the front lawn

The facilities at the cottage were very good and we were pleased with the well stocked kitchen as we love to cook! It was very clean and the beds were very comfy.

We can't wait to come back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roissette...
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise in Cambrian Mountains”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Esgair Wen is set on the mountain road between Rhayader and Devil’s Bridge, in the Ystwyth Valley. The location is absolutely stunning in an area suitable for those who just want to sit by the stream and let time go by; or those like me, that enjoy a long and strenuous walk in the Cambrian Mountains. The Elan Valley is a short drive away for those who want to enjoy the dams, which unfortunately on this occasion where not overflowing – but hopefully will be next year.

The accommodation is a wonderful 7 birth cottage that gives you all the comforts you will need in a self-catering cottage and you are given a great welcome by Mary Raw. We enjoyed several alfresco breakfasts sitting at the garden table just enjoying the scenery, the wildlife and the sheep – what better way to start the day!

For those you like to eat out, there are a number of great pubs and restaurants in the area, but as you would expect they are a drive away.

To give you an indication, my wife and her family celebrated their 40th year of visiting Esgair Wen, I personally have only knocked up 30 years!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hcsinnott
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular holiday”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

1st class accommodation,with everything and more for a self catering holiday.The cottage is extremely well equipped warm and welcoming,it is immaculately clean and very tastefully decorated .
You can drift off to sleep in a warm comfy bed listening to the gentle trickle of the nearby stream, and wake up to spectacular views.
There's plenty of info in the cottage about the area and places of interest to visit ,and everywhere has amazing views.
It's a lovely place to do as little or as much as you like or just spend time relaxing at the cottage ,an ideal place for children to explore and play in a very natural environment.For cooler nights there's a lovely log burner ,very cosy,
We all came back feeling so relaxed and healthier ,all the clean air .
Can't wait to return , an ideal holiday for all age groups.
Thankyou Mrs Raw for making this possible xxx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kim J
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“.”
Reviewed 21 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Stunning location, beautiful cottage and a lovely warm welcome from Mrs. Raw
Our stay at Esgair wen cottage was delightful. There is everything you need for a self catering holiday for a very enjoyable stay. The beds were extremely comfortable making a perfect nights sleep after staring up at the dark skies, star gazing and a cozy night in next to the wood burning stove indoors.
Lovely to have lots of local information at the cottage and recommendations for great places to eat from Mrs. Raw.
So much to see around the area visiting the dams at elan valley or taking the short drive to the seaside at Aberystwyth. Visited in may, seeing all the lovely lambs bouncing around outside the cottage windows was enchanting. Also a great time of year to see bluebells in full bloom all around the area.
Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris H
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The Location has to be seen to be believed, there is a Television, but you wont need it, woodpeckers, hares, red kites and when the sun goes down the stars are STUNNING! A very warm welcome on arrival, Kettle on and home made Scones! The cottage itself is very well equipped, everything you could need has been thought of. Had a lovely time and would definitely recommend, cant praise highly enough, we'll be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing