We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect holiday cottage - a real home from home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ballfields Barn,

Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property private and secure location in the owners grounds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
56 reviews
Relax in a 4 Star, Gold Award, luxury self catering holiday cottage in the Peak district
Traditional stone built exterior, contemporary conversion inside. Gated access to the property
private and secure location in the owners grounds
full oil fired central heating and a cosy wood burning stove
freeview TV, DVD, Wi-fi
Quality contemporary furnishings throughout, natural slate floors and modern lighting
cosy wood burning stove
living/kitchen and dining areas are open plan making this a spacious and welcoming space
fully equipped modern kitchen with quality appliances
lovely open views
single beds under low beams
super king sized bed, on request, only when occupied by 2 guests, one ensuite has to be shut off
spacious living areas tastefully laid out for you to enjoy
quality en-suite facilities, relax in a luxurious roll top bath and enjoy the view
twin bedded rooms with luxurious comfortable beds and quality bedding, memory foam mattresses
goose down toppers, egyptian cotton bed linen, goose down duvets and pillows
separate shower room with automatic lighting and extraction and towel warmers
breathtaking panoramic views and a warm personal welcome
incredible location next to RSPB Coombes Valley Nature Reserve.
Idyllic peaceful setting  with superb views . Easy access to Leek and picturesque villages.
Surrounded by farmland and wooded valleys,
located in an area of outstanding natural beauty amidst fields and gentle wooded slopes
stunning sunsets
deep snow
Glorious sunny day on the Barn patio
Woodland pavilion to enjoy the spectacular views.
winter view looking west
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Bradnop, Leek, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 56 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FCHOShip
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect holiday cottage - a real home from home”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Ballfields Barn. We have stayed at many cottages over the years but this is the best. We have never stayed anywhere so well-equipped - even a slow cooker! This helped to make it a real home from home with everything you would need. The barn is also beautifully furnished and so cosy and warm. We loved coming back from our days out to sit and read/chat in the cosy surroundings , The barn is also in a really lovely spot and we especially enjoyed the views looking out to the hills with Leek sparkling in the distance at night. Our dog was very happy too and the huge field in front of the barn was perfect for messing about with him in! There is lots to do in the area. We enjoyed our visits to Dovedale, Mam Tor and Little Moreton Hall. There is lots more to do in the area though, so we very much hope to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm, well-equipped and cosy living area
Liked least: Not applicable
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Feb 2015
Thank you Shippam family for your really great review, it is such a pleasure to have guests who are so appreciative of the Barn and the great Staffordshire Moorlands.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill W
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Luxurious welcoming property in tranquil setting with stunning views”
Reviewed 12 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property has everything you could possible need. It has a tranquil setting with stunning views and settings across the Staffordshire Moorlands towards the market town of Leek. The quality of the furnishings is truly luxurious.

The owners are most welcoming hosts and have provided so many extra touches to make your stay so comfortable that you want to return. Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed property in stunning location
Liked least: I had no concerns about the property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
It is such a pleasure to have people who appreciate this lovely Staffordshire Moorlands and The Barn we love. Thank you for such a great review. Come back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnbaker...
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Property”
Reviewed 1 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The property and the surroundings are gorgeous. The barn conversion could appear in Architectural Digest. It is very well equipped -- it even has a blender. The bathrooms are lovely, so is the kitchen -- I could run out of superlatives here.

Brian and Isabel are wonderful hosts, couldn't ask for better hosts.

We enjoyed our stayed and would love to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, 5-star condition of property, the hosts
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2014
Thank you for this really great review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay here in our beautiful Staffordshire Peak District.We value our guests and endeavour to make their stay memorable.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irishdere...
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“perfect place and a perfect holiday”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

an absolutely stunning property and equally stunning location. Brian and Isabel were the perfect hosts, very friendly and welcoming. we'll definitely be back. thanks from Derek, Grace and the kids :-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for your review, it is a real pleasure to have guests who do so appreciate our wonderful corner of The Peak District. We do hope you visit us again.Great guests Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP552014
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Perfect Country Retreat”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

You will be treated to a very warm welcome from Isabel and Brian (and their lovely black Labrador, Bramble, completing the picture) when you arrive at their delightful Ballfields Barn in rural Staffordshire and it just gets better from that moment on. They live in their cottage on site & although on hand if needed, are never intrusive.
The barn itself is perfect for an away from it all break but close enough to explore the local attractions the area has to offer, Alton Towers, Ashbourne, walking on The Roaches with outstanding views, or cycling along The Manifold Valley. Also worth a visit, a short walk away, is the Coombes Valley Nature Reserve with a number of walking trails. Attention to detail is evident throughout the property from the welcome basket of "goodies" in the kitchen to the luxurious Tempur mattresses on the beds. The views of the open countryside whilst soaking in the bath is but a distant memory now!!
There is a very comprehensive handbook in the barn with ideas for sightseeing, eating out etc. but Isabel and Brian are never far away if you need any advice. We enjoyed an evening at Getliffe's Yard in Leek, a contemporary restaurant offering a Mediterranean style menu.
The visitors book says it all - go and see for yourself - you will not be disappointed. Thank-you Isabel and Brian - we will certainly be planning a return visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for this great review. We try to make your visit as perfect as possible, we love where we live and love to share it with other people.We have hosted guests from all over the world and they love this part of the Staffordshire Peak District. We have loved having the children, and the dogs that have visited have had a great time in the fields and wood.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing