We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (266)
Filter reviews
266 results
Traveller rating
248
12
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
12
3
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private island plunge pool four seasons spa treatments minute flight one of a kind living room room service french polynesia bora bora fish per day once in a lifetime lagoon tour bucket list luxurious resort st regis
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 266 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2016

My husband and I spent the last 3 nights of our honeymoon on this resort, and after coming from St Regis Bora Bora which was also an amazing experience, this place felt completely different, in a wonderful way. Very calming, relaxing, one with nature, private and secluded feel. Right from the private airplane transfer from Tahiti to the resort, the check in process in our villa itself, to the all-inclusive feature- everything was very stress free. The villas are ultra modern and comfortable. The plunge pool with the ocean view was gorgeous, and the outdoor bathtub was unique. The restaurants were excellent, the selection of wines very good, and the cocktails out of this world. We got sweet treats and macaroons every day in our villa, and a surprise flower turndown! There was champagne bottles everyday for us. It seemed as though every time we returned to our villa, someone had been there discreetly before to tidy it up without our asking! It was amazing. We had some excursions included, and highly recommend the 3 hour boat tour of the islets, which took us to several islets and isolated lagoon areas, we were able to learn a lot about the atoll, its history, flora and fauna and do our private nature walk as there was no one else with us on this tour that morning. It was also exciting to learn Leo and Toby McGuire had been on the same boat! We also were very excited to witness a mother sea turtle come to shore to lay eggs, and we witnessed some baby turtles being released to the ocean by the Society of Tetiaroa manager.
We snorkeled out in the lagoon over coral formations and saw small sharks and many species of fish. We also did the scuba introductory excursion which was simply amazing. On our last day they were very accommodating to our request for a late check out. Laundry was apparently not included for our package, but as our travel agent had told us it was, the resort made that included as well! We also used the gym which has great equipment and treadmills. The bicycles were also great, in comparison to the old and very outdated ones at St Regis. I am extremely impressed with the eco friendly nature of the entire resort, how they recycle, and preserve the natural wonders of the atoll. It has a feel of being completely untouched by man, and yet is home to this ultra modern resort nestled in it. Before I forget I need to also commend the Spa which is built on the theme of bird nests, and is just spectacular. The services were excellent. We had a spa treatment per day for one person included.
All in all, a most wonderful experience. We were made to feel very welcomed, comfortable, and pampered. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sreyoshi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandoPR, Responsable relations clients at The Brando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Sreyashi
The Brando Team is joining me to thank you for your tremendous comment posted on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted to learn that you have appreciated a lot your stay with us.
Our aim is to make you live an memorable experience and we were helped by the nature for this.
You have had the great opportunity to be the witnesses of a turtle coming on the shore to lay her eggs but also to be present for the release of baby turtles on the lagoon... a unbelievable moment !

We look forward to welcome you back to Tetiaroa. Best regards. PM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2016

The most awe-inspiring unspoiled tropical paradise I have only encountered in my dreams. I couldn’t help think back to my teenage fantasy of being marooned on an island with Christopher Atkins in Blue Lagoon.

Your journey starts at a smartly designed and impeccably serviced private FBO in Papeete Tahiti, giving you a hint of what is to come. From there you are whisked off on a 6 seated Caravan airplane, landing on small air strip nestled on a thin motu between the deep cobalt blue South Pacific Ocean and an unspoiled aqua green reef. Its jaw dropping gorgeous.

Teti’aro has a storied history, as an ancient sacred ceremonial retreat for Tahitian royal families, then as Marlon Brando's private atoll, which he bought in 1960 after making Mutiny on the Bounty nearby. As a biologist who routinely visits the island told us, Marlon was an environmental visionary who had grand ideas for keeping the island pristine, but lacked the skills and cash to see them through. After his death a developer named Richard Baily leased the land and developed a 40 bungalow Eco resort called The Brando. As an ad exec I think they used the Brando name wisely, with some nods to his legacy, but with understated elegance. I imagine Marlon would be pleased.

Tetiaroa is an atoll (coral island formed from the top of a sunken volcano) made up of 12 motu's (small islands) surrounded by unspoiled reefs and a massive 100 feet deep lagoon in the middle. 35 Polynesian style bungalows complete with thatched roofs are nestled into the island each overlooking a pristine white sand beach and crystal clear aqua marine reef with tropical fish. Each expertly designed and constructed with the best materials and fixtures you can imagine, envision what James Bond would demand and that would be it.

Our 1100 sq. foot bungalow included den and media room, living room and large master suite complete with indoor shower and outdoor bath (which was filled with water and tropical flowers on our first night) and a striking his and her bathroom with ceiling to floor views of the tropical forest and subdued led lighting that exudes romance. The entire bungalow is surrounded by coconut trees and lush tropical plants, spilling into a stunning infinity pool lined with shimmering dark gray slate tile. Beyond sits expensive Italian lounge chairs perfect for curling up in style or just gazing out over the horizon. Or move to your thatched roof covered veranda, where you enjoy a breakfast of mango and coconut watching the sun rise over the coral reef. There are a few strategically located beach bars that make delicious drinks like Tetia Water and Green Tonic, all must haves. The restaurants include The Beach Comber with indoor outdoor seating and hovering ceiling fans, it’s lovely yet casual. The other, Les Mutines an upscale experience led by French Michelin star winning chef Guy Martin. All the food is fresh, organic and delicious with many vegan options to choose from. Expect to eat a lot of fresh fish and tropical fruits, drinks infused with island honey, along with some chicken, beef and lamb options.

Perched on the edge of a tropical lagoon filled with lilly pads and abundant tropical plants, the Spa is absolutely spectacular designed to pique your senses and awaken your soul. The treatments all locally inspired include various monoi oils, Polynesian and Thai massage, Polynesian facials using local volcanic scrubs and salts as well as yoga and meditation. Each treatment room is exquisitely designed, some made of twigs and wooden vines, designed to replicate the rare honey bee hives that coexist on the island. My favorite treatment, the Thai massage delivered by a Laotian trained master in open air bungalow, magically timed with a midafternoon tropical rain shower… Wow.

The entire island smells of Tahitian Tiare flowers and coconut oil. If that isn’t enough, all bungalows are equipped with a set of bicycles allowing free reign of the island, where you will find totally deserted beaches and private swimming holes to frolic. Experience various excursions which include guided snorkel tours (we saw two sharks and all sorts of tropical fish), bird watching, paddle boarding, wind surfing as well as access to full gym, tennis courts and ping pong tables. Anything you need is there – just ask and you shall receive. We encountered only 1 or two couples on each excursion as well as arranged some private experiences. I highly recommend the “green tour” which highlights the sustainability of the island. The entire island is powered by 3800 solar panels and coconut oil (almost no fossil fuels), almost everything is recycled even the poop. Air conditioning is powered by seawater system that pumps cold water from 3000 feet below the outer core of the sunken volcano. There is a desalination plant, rain water tank storage and experimental gardens where much of the hotel vegetables come from. There is also a world renowned research facility called the Tetiaroa Society, where scientists come from all over the world to study marine life and the islands unique sustainability achievements. In line with those goals, The Brando provides (very good quality) specially formulated sunscreen, shampoo and body lotion all designed to protect the reefs and allow for sewage water to be process and reused around the island for brown water irrigation.

While expensive at $2500 a night, that includes all excursions, meals and most bar drinks. There are additional menu items like Caviar or special wine you can purchase, but totally unnecessary. Strangely it is actually a better value and far better experience than Four Seasons Bora Bora, where we traveled to next, because at Four Seasons they charge extra for all meals, drinks and excursions, which can total up to an additional $1000 per day. The Brando is sublime and invigorating. The Four Seasons Bora Bora, very nice but too big lacking intimacy. Speaking of which, important to note; this is purely an adult experience. While we did encounter some children, The Brando is more suited for couples and individuals looking for unspoiled relaxation and private solitude. You will not find jet skis or kid’s movie night at this resort and considering its price tag, I suggest you save the family trip for Maui.

Stayed: December 2015
8  Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandoPR, Responsable relations clients at The Brando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Michelle,
We warmly thank you for the breathtaking comment you have written about your recent stay at The Brando.
We are thrilled to learn that you have enjoyed our paradise in all its different aspects: the beauty of the island, our villas, our bars and restaurants, the spectacular spa and the activities. But also your interest in visiting the technical areas that we used to develop the sustainability program for the island.
We love the words you have used to express your feelings : sublime, invigorating, intimacy, unspoiled, relaxation ... we are grateful for that.
All the team is looking forward to welcome you back at The Brando. Best Regards. MP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2015

My wife and I did a combination trip of Bora Bora and then the Brando for our 15 year anniversary....We stayed 3 nights at the Brando and all I can say is, "we should have stayed longer!!!" This place is amazing!! We have been to several five star resorts around the world and nothing compares!! Special thanks to Claudia at Pacific for Less for helping make this happen....thought this would be a trip of a lifetime - one to check off the bucket list and move on but we can't wait to go back!! Don't care where you've been or what you've experienced, the Brando will blow you away in every aspect. We wanted to do a private dinner on the beach in front of our villa but the weather wouldn't cooperate - too windy every night...soooo the chef at Les Mutines created a 'surf and turf' menu especially for us! Thank you to all the staff - you all did an outstanding job meeting all our needs!! Like others who have reviewed, we highly recommend the 'Ultimate Tour'....for additional info or advice, please feel free to pm me...

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
11  Thank SWATguy6157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandoPR, Responsable relations clients at The Brando, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2016

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for the beautiful comment you have written following your recent stay at The Brando.
Our aim is indeed to offer to our guests a memorable experience and we are proud to see that it was a success for you.
We are so happy to read that you are already planning a new stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, Best Regards. MP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2015

My wife and I have been fortunate to have traveled to some of the nicest resorts in the world. The Brando far exceeds any resort that we have visited and cannot imagine that there is a more luxurious property anywhere on this Earth.

Location: One of the most beautiful locations in the world. You have access to a private island accessible only by The Brando’s small airplane. It is a quick, exciting 20 minute flight from Tahiti to Tetiaroa. It was thrilling to see Tetiaroa from the air, which gives a fantastic view of the atoll with beautiful blue and aqua water.

Service: The best in the world! We communicated with The Brando before we arrived to set up our air transfers to the island, our choices for the mini-bar and food preferences. All e-mails were promptly answered. The staff is wonderful, friendly and intuitive. For example, when ordering breakfast, they will ask if you want a side of bacon or sausage if your order eggs. After a few days, they will know your name and preferences. Other examples are the fruit kebab and drink they offer after a boat excursion or pool attendant offering a double shot of bourbon by the pool after finishing the first round. Several times the staff would call the villa to make sure we were well taken care of, or to ask where we wanted to dine for the evening. All staff waved hello and the carts would slow or pull over on the pathways if you were walking or biking. All you have to do is ask and you shall receive!

Food: The best resort food! All the dishes were delicious and well presented. The Brando grows many of the fruits and veggies from their gardens and orchards. We ate at our villa for breakfast and loved the fresh fruit, cheese and eggs. They even collect their own honey from the islands several bee hives. We really miss the fresh croissants and Tetiaroa honey for breakfast! For lunch, we frequently visited Bob’s bar for a “cheeseburger in paradise” and a “Dirty old Bob” which is a bourbon drink named after the original barkeep and friend of Marlon Brando. For dinner, we visited the Beachcomber and Les Mutinés (the five star fine dining venue). Every meal was delicious and memorable. We frequently paired the dishes with glasses of wine or champagne.

Activities: We rode the bikes that The Brando supplied, worked out in the modern exercise room and went on the boat excursions that were included as part of the total experience. We did the Ultimate Tour which travels to all the motus. We swam in “Billionaires Pool” (beautiful blue, crystal clear waters with perfectly placed driftwood to sit or stand), saw some friendly black tipped sharks, and sampled some “sulfa sand”. We also did the reef tour which takes you to the reef for snorkeling and the bird island tour which takes you to see all the exotic birds. All the guides were knowledgeable and responsive. They supplied water on the boat and helped you on and off the boat ramp.

Spa: We had three couple massages (included in our six day package). The grounds around the spa are beautiful and include a lily pond, tea, relaxation and changing rooms. The massage itself was professional and perfect!

Living Quarters: As spelled out in previous reviews, the villa consists of a bedroom, great room, media room, bathroom and an outdoor soaking tub. In addition, there is an outdoor eating area that is shaded and protected from the sun. The villa itself is made out of many materials that are native to the area yet has all of the modern amenities that the best five star resorts offer. Like many others that have visited The Brando, you immediately have the thought that you can live here forever. The view itself from the back of the villa is outstanding. You have a private plunge pool, decking, several chairs and reading areas and a beautiful white sand beach that is very private. No other villas can be viewed as the vegetation blocks the view of your neighbors. Several feet from your villa is the warm, 85 degree waters of the Tetiaroa lagoon which is teaming with fish and wildlife.

Unexpected extras: The Brando offers a green tour which allows visitors to see the bio-friendly workings of the resort. We saw the SWAC (sea water air conditioning), solar panels and coconut oil generators for electricity and the water & waste recycling units. It was truly a wonderful feeling to know that The Brando does everything to protect the environment and wildlife. It made us aware of our responsibilities to protect our own cities where we live upon our return to the USA. We were also lucky enough to view a 300 lbs. turtle laying 72 eggs in the middle of the night on the beach. A team of scientists were there to take DNA samples and place a GPS chip to follow and learn more about the turtle’s life and travels. The scientists and researchers are part of the Tetiaroa Society which studies the complex ecosystem of the island. The scientists are actively studying several worthwhile and important projects including an archeological find, shark nurseries, green sea turtles, giant trevally, island restoration, lagoon replenishment, mosquito population control and ocean acidification.

We really miss The Brando. It is still fresh in our memories and we feel that we came away with something so special that it will last a lifetime. Of course, we want to return and stay longer than the six days that we were there. The only suggestion we have for The Brando is to leave a box of tissues near the departing area by the airstrip as the tendency to become weepy is great when you have to leave. (We met another couple who extended their stay another three days – I am sure that happens a lot)!

Thank you so much to all the fine staff of The Brando for making our vacation so amazing, wonderful and second to none!

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Moflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandoPR, Responsable relations clients at The Brando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear "moflav"
How can we thank you enough for this fantastic comment you have written about your recent stay at The Brando.
This is absolutely amazing and all the team is joining me to tell you how pleasant it was to share all these moments with you.

We can't wait to welcome you again in Tetiaroa, hopefully for a longer stay. It will be a great honour and a challenge for us to make you live, once again, a dreaming stay in our Paradise. Best Regards. MP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2015

I just returned from The Brando with my wife where we celebrated our wedding anniversary. I read all of the previous reviews that rated it a five star resort but I must disagree because it is definitely a 10 star resort. From the moment you land on the private airstrip you feel like this is your private island with a staff of talented wonderful people to take care of your every need. Our villa was way beyond what I was expecting with a living room, media room, large bedroom, outdoor bath tub, and on and on. Food drinks everything was perfectly provided and replenished daily. I will return here every year for sure and visit all of my new friends that make this a one of a kind place. Thank you Tiffiny, Estelle, Justine, Christophe,Julian and all the rest. See you soon.

Room Tip: all of the villas are perfect
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kapaa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrandoPR, Responsable relations clients at The Brando, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2015

Dear Mr "Kapaa 1"

We are very pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us at The Brando and very proud for the 10 stars you gave to our resort.

Beyond all this we are sincerely touched by your nice comment about the quality of our service and all your "new friends" are joining me to deeply thank you about this.

We are all looking forward to seeing you very soon at Tetiaroa. Best Regards.MP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews