We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best family home rented in 40 years”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Penyffordd, Flintshire, North Wales, Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Viewlande...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
982 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 364 helpful votes
“The best family home rented in 40 years”
Reviewed 15 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Great location - convenient for North Wales and Chester / Liverpool. We particularly enjoyed visits to Llandudno and Llangollen and a great day out in Chester. We were three generations celebrating our ruby wedding with four couples and two new babies.

From walking in the door to this beautiful, immaculately clean and fantastically well equipped house it was a great week. We lacked for nothing and loved the space of the house and the quality of all the furniture and equipment.The garden is beautiful and the games room is a great addition.

The owners were very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. We’ve been self catering for forty years and this just has to be the best of some great properties that we have visited.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing holiday home!”
Reviewed 11 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great week staying at The Oaks and would recommend it to anyone looking for a large luxury family holiday home that stands out from the competition. The house was simply amazing - there was so much space to relax, both inside and outside in the lovely garden. The owners were easily contactable and excellent at helping with any questions and made us feel truly at home. The house is internally finished to the highest standards and has all the facilities you would expect in a large family home. The games room and the garden toys were great for keeping the children happy and provided many hours of family fun. We were very sad to leave and wished we had booked for 2 weeks, although a return visit is planned. Overall, this is an excellent holiday property and we would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer...
1 review
“Simply Perfect!”
Reviewed 29 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We booked this for my mother in laws 70th birthday. There were 10 of us that went over the weekend as a family. Then some of us had to return home to work during the week but because we enjoyed ourselves so much we made the journey over from Liverpool each night to spend the evening there with family.

The house itself is spectacular, there was everything you could ever think of needing for the duration of your stay. We have stayed in a few large houses around the area and this is going to be a firm favourite. It was really spacious and the photos don’t do it justice at all. The grounds are kept beautiful too and the hard work and effort really does pay off to maintain them.

The owners, Linda and Richard can not do enough and go out of their way and above and beyond to ensure that you have everything needed to enjoy your stay.

The beds were very comfortable and bedrooms spacious. And en-suites/bathroom were spotless.

The games rooms was a fantastic addition/feature and it went down very well with competitive “grown up” brothers and teenagers alike. The field is also a fantastic feature and very kindly the owners provide plenty of activities to ensure that it is used to its full potential.

We can not recommend The Oaks enough. It’s in a fabulous location with 2 fantastic pubs nearby. It’s in a prime area especially with the station only a few minutes walk, providing an amazing base to explore Chester or Liverpool. Anyone who books to stay will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathcuk
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Simply Stunning ”
Reviewed 6 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018
4
people found this review helpful

8 of us stayed at this fabulous property for May half term, with the age range from 7 to 60. The house was beautifully presented, finished to a very high standard and was fully equipped with absolutely everything that a modern family would need. Not once did we find ourselves 'needing' anything. The gardens were also very well maintained; something the mother in law was very envious about too!

The location was great, only a 5 minute walk to the train station, providing links to all major towns and cities nearby. We used the train station on 3 occasions; quick, easy and saved us from taking 2 cars.

The village itself was very nice. There is a pub up the road which we visited once, however the jewel in the village crown is the Millstones; turn right out of The Oaks, keep walking until you come to the junction, turn left and it is up on the right. There is a really good park there too so the adults can enjoy a drink whilst the kids wear themselves out. The food, too, is excellent.

We would definitely stay at The Oaks again, it provided an excellent and luxurious base from which to explore the whole of the North West

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caldewliz...
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning house”
Reviewed 14 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

"The Oaks" is a stunningly large house which manages to be opulent with an amazingly well equipped kitchen, but still manages to be homely.
The house is absolutely spotless and without doubt the best house we have stayed in for our 30 years of holidays.
The use of the garden and games room keeps all generations well entertained and the brilliant location meant we easily enjoyed trips further into Wales and Chester.
Linda & Richard who own this beautiful house are amenable and more than willing to help if help were needed.
We will be back.
Thank you for allowing us to stay in your beautiful house.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing