We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”
Review of Pelecanos Taverna

Pelecanos Taverna
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Vati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 45
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We invite you to enjoy traditional dishes made by local products, mediterranean flavors and handmade desserts in a family owned, traditional, friendly environment! All based on quality and respect to our guests! We have a playground for the little ones and a spacious parking area!
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful friendly Greek restaurant . A definite must visit
Food was delicious. Try the cheese pie to start it was so tasty
Will definitely be returning before we fly home

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank nicolaholmes2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 444 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2018 via mobile

We decided to eat at this place since the atmosphere was very good. The food was tasty, however the portions were small. In addition, the prices were quite high, considering the given portions. In the end, they didn't bring any free treats even though we were informed that they usually do offer.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Rafaela0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

If you really look for a place to taste traditional greek food in a lovely garden full of flowers this is the place to be!!!
The friendly service and the warm atmosphere makes you feel so welcome and relaxed that in combination with the tasty food (amazing cheesecake btw definitely worth to try) will bring you back!
We loved it!!!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Y4491YMalexandrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

Visited the place twice during our vacation. Our first visit was nice, nothing too special. The place has a nice atmosphere. Our second visit was in a group of 6. We waited quite a while to receive the Menu, and quite a while to order. I ordered a portion of shrimp, and got 3 average sized shrimp and a handful of fries....The chef forgot about one of our main dishes, and we only received it after everyone finished eating. On top of that the meal (pork) was not well cooked and was raw! We all sat there with our dirty plates for an hour, nobody would take them. Also overheard the table text to us also didn’t receive 3 of the items they ordered. Service was very dull. Ordered cheesecake to go, and of course they forgot.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank jm127jm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMPelekanou, Ιδιοκτήτης at Pelecanos Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear guest !!!!

We are very sorry for your bad experience that you had in our restaurant!!
We remember exactly your case ! You were sitting in a round table near tha main door of the restaurant ,
a family of six!
We accept all the reviews bad & good because they help us to become better and improve our work !!! Our goal here is a good quality and pleased guests !!! We are trying a lot!!
Of course in every job or company there are bad & good days !!!
So !!!!!
You came for second time to us ! That’s logical means that the first time you were pleased....

We are in high season ! August ! That’s means full of guests !!! I personal talk with you this day! When you arrived we were full!!! I immediately inform you that I have one table for you but I have full of reservations and you have unfortunately to wait a little!!! You had the opportunity to stay or change restaurant for your dinner !

Food!!!!

Shrimps! Yes our portion of shrimps on the grill is 3 Big-Size shrimps with fries and oil-lemon sauce !!!

Pork: sometimes accidents happen in the kitchen ! So yes your dish with pork got down and we try to make a new one !! That’s why delayed! I came to your table to ask how your food was! -everything ok except the pork ! You find a piece that yes was raw and I saw it and yes this was our mistake of course !!!! I asked sorry and I told you if you like to make a new one !!!! But finally you ate this dishe because the majority of pieces of pork were ok !!!
And of course we DID NOT charge this portion !!!!!

Cheesecake!!!! We offer your cheesecake for FREE to say SORRY for the pork !!! ( you could ask the man who paid the bill inside our office )

We are sorry again for your bad experience with us , we listen something like this rare because we are trying to give our best for our guest !!! This is our goal ! But in every company, in every restaurant or hotel there are bad and difficult times !!!!

If you don’t want to come back , we will respect of course your opinion !!! But we would like to see you again one day here and try to change your opinion and idea for us!

Kind regards



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

We visited Pelecanos tonight as a family of 5. From the moment we arrived we were greeted with a warm and friendly welcome.
This family ran business is set in beautiful surroundings and is all that you would hope for; traditional home cooked meals, generous portions, excellent service and recommendations from the lively staff.
If you are in the South of the island you have to go! Or even if you’re not!

We had a variety of starters ; cheese pie, garlic pitas and filo spinach rolls- all of which were so tasty!

We chose traditional meals such as capon with white wine sauce, souvlaki and meatballs. All were excellent.

My daughter had linguine with prawns which she thoroughly enjoyed.

All finished off with complimentary water melon and coffee.

Hope to be back

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMPelekanou, Owner at Pelecanos Taverna, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Jakie…
Thank you so much!!!
We appreciate your positive feedback about our restaurant & thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. We are very happy to hear that we achieve to make your visit here pleasant.
Do checkout our Facebook and Instagram pages for promos that you might be interested in.
Looking forward to seeing you again soon!!

With respect
Pelecanos Taverna Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pelecanos Taverna also viewed

 
Rhodes Town, Rhodes
 

Been to Pelecanos Taverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing