We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic house”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Le Marronnier

front of property and courtyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of property and courtyard
enclosed garden, raised beds and heated swimming pool. Pool can be seen from picture window. View from pool; empty barn on left, cottage across the courtyard and main house gable end
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
front of property and courtyard
enclosed garden, raised beds and heated swimming pool. Pool can be seen from picture window.
View from pool; empty barn on left, cottage across the courtyard and main house gable end
Front of the 2 bedroom cottage - just 10m across the courtyard from the main house
Rear of house, with large patio, table, chairs, bbq's.
Master bedroom with four poster bed and ensuite
double bedroom with ensuite
well equipped farmhouse kitchen
the kitchen with large range cooker
dining on the terrace
plenty of shade - one of three gazabos.
salt water pool surrounded with lavender
Rear garden, the large meadow is the other side of the little stone wall.
meadow and woodland - surrounded by countryside with lots of tracks and trails
entrance hall
shower room with pebble shower tray
dining area leading out to patio
one of the en-suites
rolled top bath with claw feet
master bedroom seating area
twin bedroom with napoleon metal bed
corner bath in main bathroom
table tennis, swings, badminton, trampoline and selection of mountain bikes
The cottage bathroom
The Cottage kitchen
The Cottage main bedroom
The cottage lounge
rear of property, large patio with 2 gazabos (17mx4.5m patio)
Pigeonnier on one of the local walks
20 different species of wild orchid can be found in the area.
Brantome - The Venice of the Perigord. Well worth a visit.
The Chateau at Excideuil
stunning trails for walking/running or mountain biking. I supply maps
great woodland trails to explore - maps supplied
Sorges -Truffle museum. Sorges is world famous for its black truffles. 10 min drive away
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Coulaures, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jessicaal...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A fantastic house”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This was the perfect house to spend our summer holiday. It is set is set back from the road down a small lane and so is incredibly peaceful. The house catered brilliantly for our group of twelve. It was clean and extremely well equipped. The pool, though smallish, is surrounded by lavender and thyme which is just beautiful and smells amazing. There are comfortable sun loungers for relaxing while watching the kids in the pool. They were in heaven and so were we. There is plenty of space for children (and adults) to play - a large field with two trampolines, table tennis and swings. There were great footpaths close by for walkers and runners and lovely old villages and towns within easy reach. We would happily come back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: the location
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrslawren...
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One word - perfection!”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a fabulous time here in July 2015. A warm welcome from Jeanette awaited us upon our arrival and she showed us round, recommended some of the local attractions and left us to settle in. The house is gorgeous, the rooms well appointed and the outdoor pool, trampoline, swing set and other games a welcome bonus for small children. Saying that, my husband and I got quite competitive over the table tennis! The extensive DVD library provided something for everyone and meant that we could lure our small children inside at the height of the day when they needed some rest from the sun. There was a well stocked vegetable garden and lots of space to roam around and spread out. The property is extremely private and in a pretty little hamlet not far from some fantastic activities. We had planned to mainly stay around the house but with so much fun on the doorstep we ventured out most days and get still ended the holiday relaxed. Would definitely recommend the velorail, a visit to lovely Brantome and the excellent caves at Proumeyssac. We created so many lovely memories here so if you're considering a gite in this area, book this one, we are positive that it is, quite honestly, the best. Thank you Jeanette and family for creating such a fab house, we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrence...
Antrim, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant property in idyllic rural location.”
Reviewed 4 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This fitted all criteria for us. It was a great house in its own land, in a peaceful rural location, but not too isolated. Convenient to an authentic Dordogne village, and not too far from a supermarket. Great walks right on the doorstep.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Chipping Norton
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely House in Tranquil Setting”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Large house and cottage in tiny hamlet. Lots of space outside with swimming pool. Charming towns and activities nearby. Great to unwind and relax. We have been 2 years on the trot

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynda B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely barn conversion with fantastic on site facilities for all ages.”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This was our second visit to this comfortable, large family home, with our daughter, son-in-law and grandchildren. Its large swimming pool with a lavender backdrop, and adjacent field with large trampoline, badminton and table tennis areas meant that adults and children were happy to stay on site most days. However there is lots to do in the surrounding area as well when a change of scene is needed eg canoeing, velorailing,visiting Lascaux caves, lovely Chateaux Perigaux etc.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing