We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Yew Tree Cottage

Yew Tree Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Yew Tree Cottage
Living room Master bedroom with king size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Yew Tree Cottage
Living room
Master bedroom with king size bed
Bedroom 2
Yew Tree Cottage
Inglenook fireplace with multi-fuel stove
Living room
Living room
Master bedroom
Bedroom 2
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bathroom with WC and separate shower
Entrance
The Yew tree
Exmoor view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Timberscombe, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Saint_Car...
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Had a great time in Exmoor and Yew Tree Cottage which has everything to help your holiday to run smoothly. When you arrive you will love the beautiful farmhouse kitchen & log burner, comfortable beds even down to the small touches for the kids a playstation if the weather was wet.
Parking was not that bad, i parked my car all week up the small hill about 30 sec away from the cottage next to Methodist Church Sign. A tip for all is to be away from Timberscombe between 6-7pm on Sunday as parking is impossible unless you are already parked in your spot before the church goers arrive. On Thursday about 7-8pm i guess you have the bellringers but they didn't really bother me. Ok the only grumble was the bells that went on the hour not to bad for 1pm one bell but 12pm yes you guess it 12 bells. (sorry Jonathan)
There are many places to visit like Dunster with its cafes and inns and Dunster Castle, i did enjoy visit of Minehead and flying the kite at Dunster Beach and its walks within Exmoor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Kitchen
Liked least: The Bells
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kdsajl
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful House, Lovely Area”
Reviewed 12 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Yew Tree Cottage was really a lovely place to stay. The house is about 200 years old and still retains many of its old features whilst having many of the modern facilities. It's situated in quite a small village, with a nice view of the church. Despite being rural it's only a couple of miles from Dunster (which is lovely with plenty to see) and Minehead (about 4 miles). There's loads of see in the local area - you can head into the moors, visit the coast and many more. The village park was quite a hit with our little one who visited most days. They've got hundreds of flyers for all the places worth visiting nearby which is really useful. There was also two chests full of games for kids as well as a Playstation 1 with a box full of games for older kids.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage style
Liked least: Missing some spare bin bags, dishwasher tablets and toilet roll
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul H
1 review
“Relaxing getaway in Exmoor”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a very pleasant stay at Yew Tree Cottage. Comfortable, clean and furnished to a high standard, the cottage was everything we were looking for.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern and comfortable furnishings
Liked least: It was a shame not to have a garden to enjoy the sunny days, but there was plenty of Exmoor to explore on the doorstep.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ANTON643
Wokingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A charming old cottage modernised to a very high standard. Bedrooms and lounge are very comfortable and the kitchen is a wonderful area to cook.
Excellent base to explore all the wonderful places Exmoor and Somerset have to offer.
The cottage is set in a wonderful location with a pub within staggering distance! I have no hesitation in recommending this quality cottage for families or couples.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn E
Munich, Germany
1 review
“Tasteful and most charming cottage”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed for one week in this totally restful cottage, which we loved from the very first moment. It is furnished with excellent taste and all the convenience one could wish for. The beds and duvets are highly cushy, as are the sofas. I wish I'd have an oven like this at home! The Bell Ringers at the Church next door were really lovely. We did wonderful walks, visited a lot of sights and enjoyed the beautiful warm weather. The contact with the owners was most delightful, very helpful, informative and always immediately. All in all it was a very comfortable stay in a most rural sorrounding.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing