We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable apartment on Isle of Lewis”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Kabuis Apartment

Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Kabuis Apartment Lounge
Kabuis Apartment Kitchen
Kabuis Apartment Double Bedroom with En suite facilities
Shawbost in another wonderful sunset, just at the back door.
The very start of the Coastal Walk - Shawbost to Dalbeg, Dalmore or even Garenin Blackhouse Village.
Lighthouse at Port of Ness
View of the Main House, Chalet and Kabuis Apartment
Our local beach here at Shawbost - an expanse of white sand.
Your our coastal walk heading to Dalbeg, Dalmore or Garenin Blackhouse Village.  A very long wall.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Shawbost, Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
clive h
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable apartment on Isle of Lewis”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A lovely warm welcome from Rhoda and enjoyed our stay in very comfortable apartment. Lewis offers historical sights, lovely walks and great wildlife spotting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AnneDave2...
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountains, sea, wildlife, historic sites and warm friendly locals!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We booked Kabuis Apartment only 1 week before our holiday on the Isle of Lewis. Once I had booked, I contacted Rhoda, the owner of the apartment, asking for directions from the ferry in Stornaway. When she knew we were not bringing a car, and planning to use a taxi to get to the apartment, she said she would meet us from the ferry and also take us to Tesco on the way home! This she did at 8.30 p.m.! She also promised to choose a good day to take us round the area to places that were 'difficult to get to by bus'. As promised, Rhoda spent a whole day taking us to all the amazing and interesting attractions on the west side of Lewis. All this was on top of supplying us with fresh and smoked salmon, local lamb chops from next doors croft, home made cake and fresh flowers! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble for Rhoda and her husband Neil. The apartment is cosy and stylish and has everything you need (and more) for a holiday home. It is situated in lovely South Shawbost, a good base to explore Lewis and Harris. The beach is a short walk away and there is a fantastic coastal walk taking you on dramatic cliffs and to beautiful beaches and coves. The local bus stops outside the door and will take you to various parts of the island and also does a circular tour of the west of the island via Stornaway. The bus service really is a SERVICE. The drivers stop anywhere you want and one driver even phoned ahead to our connecting bus to make sure he waited for us. What I liked best about our holiday? The warm and friendly welcome from Rhoda and Neil and the Islanders to their beautiful and very interesting island. The scenery and atmosphere will not be forgotten. What I liked least? Going home as we didn't have enough time to see everything. Even the rainy weather (October) didn't put us off.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm hospitality of Rhoda and Neil
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan H
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Warm welcome could not be bettered”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rhoda and Neil are great ambassadors for Lewis! They greeted us in their home with tea and home-made cake (a gorgeous light sponge) and soon made us feel like old friends.
In the apartment next door where we were staying for a week we found more foodie gifts - fresh and smoked salmon, and another cake!
This is comfy and spacious accommodation for a couple with tv, Wi-Fi and every kitchen implement you could possibly want.
It's conveniently located (near, but not on, the main road) between Stornoway for shopping and historic sights like the Callanish Stone Circle, blackhouse village, and the broch. There's also a coastal walk very close by with beautiful sea and loch views.
If you like the idea of gourmet takeaway, pop to Forty North just five minutes in the car towards Nis.
A great introduction to this intriguing island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cake!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieMoor...
Isle of Harris, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hebridean Bliss”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This was a fantastic apartment, home from home, and we were made to feel so welcome by Neil and Rhoda. The apartment is attached to to Neil & Rhoda's home and at first I worried about disturbing them or being disturbed ourselves but my worries were unfounded. The place is beautifully presented with everything needed to make your stay there as easy and untroubled as possible.
The bed was warm and comfortable and I had the best night's sleep I could wish for.
The little attached shower room was perfectly adequate and beautifully clean.
We were welcomed with home made cake and some fresh and smoked salmon. Later that week we were presented with two of the freshest fillets of cod that I've ever eaten.

The peace and quiet is topped only by the glorious skies and sunsets. It's a lovely walk to the shoreline and the walk along the coast is worth it to see the blowholes and ancient ruins. From the road a short way from the apartment you can see the two little reconstructed thatched buildings of the Nordic mill and kiln, well worth walking down to explore.
I loved being there and would gladly recommend Rhoda and Neil's gorgeous Kabuis apartment and generous hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness & hospitality without intrusion.
Liked least: The last day.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing