We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your Maldivian Village getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Happy Life Maldives Lodge
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Came across this place on facebook by accident, and finally decided to stay with them mainly cos the price was unbeatable and you get to stay in a village unlike other resorts.
Please note that, this place is a small place, and is not a resort but a smaller lodge that is located in a picturesque corner of Island of Dhiffushi. This island is about 2.5 hours by local ferry if you want to save the cost of an expensive speed boat ride. I decided to take this very long and slow journey as I was travelling solo. Ferry departs from Villingili Ferry terminal on the other side of Male's main ferry terminal. (No one in the main airport ferry terminal knows about the ferry to Dhiffushi so asking them was a bit of a time waster). Ferry cost about 20 rufiya which is great, and leaves in the afternoon (sorry I cant remember the time).

Lodge is a short stroll from where the ferry arrives and a staff member was there to pick me up and take me to the lodge. The lodge itself is a nice small place, and has coral sand in the main restaurant area. Although its quite open, you don't really feel the heat because of the fans.

I thought the rooms were impeccable, given that I was the only one to enjoy the very big room which usually accommodated for 3 people. It was fun! Bathroom was spotless and I admired the whole room setting. Only downside to the room was the tiny staircase which is quite steep and the lack of views from the 3 windows (yes 3!). Room was air conditioned and is great to avoid the day time heat if that's what you prefer.

Lodge is located next to a run down boat repair workshop and I think this gives its bad charm. However, the place is located very close to the beach, although you cannot consider it as a beach-front property. Price I paid included 3 meals and was well worth it. Food prepared by staff was tasty and I liked it. If you need more, you can always head to the numerous local cafes and have some hed hikka like I did. (I think I had more than enough). I even bought some local dried fish and 'mas mirus' (a local chillie paste equivalent) to take home.

Beach nearest to the lodge is excellent with crystal clear waters and you can just lay in the beach and admire the great view. Local women usually hang around the beach during the evening and clean it so its always clean. It is great for snorkeling too if you can as you can see some small fish around. I was able to see some baby shark very close to the beach. You can just borrow the kayak and go around the Island or close to Meeru Island resort.

You are free to walk around this island freely considering this is an actual village and you can see people going about their daily routines. Hassan will be happy to arrange anything else you want to do in the island like fishing, etc. Unfortunately I was too scared to go fishing at night with locals so I had to give it a miss :( (not that they are bad people, but because I am not a good swimmer). Prices seem economical so please ask Hassan!

If you prefer to go back to Male' by a speed boat, ask Hassan about the Sun Island resort speed boat service which would be cheaper. I decided to take this option as leaving around 5am in the morning by local ferry that takes 2.5hours is not worth it. (especially if you did it once!)

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KrishanRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 34 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2013

Great place to stay, definitely better then resort island. Very friendly staff and they have the best chef - the food served was delicious! Rooms are spacious enough and very clean - no housekeeping during our stay, but this is not a resort, its a guesthouse so have not expected it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: top right room have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank L0velyb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

It was pretty foolish of me to just stay here for just 24 hours. Nevertheless, I am more than happy to have spend that time in Happy Life Maldives.
Refreshing environment, good food, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms is what you will find here.
You can also interact with the friendly local islanders, unlike other resorts in Maldives where a resort occupy the whole island.
The guesthouse also arrange for adventure activities like dolphin watching trip, snorkeling etc.
Take a walk across the other end of the island and you can see a Frenchman who settled on the island (quite some time back) and helping the islanders with his Engineering expertise.
The private beach is amazing...you can probably spend the entire day (and also night) on the beach itself.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shijojo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

I highly recommend this lodge to all friends as you will be in paradise surrounded by new long time friends who truly want you to have a magnificent holiday. The three meals/day were superb-better cooking than I could possibly muster. The decor of the rooms is a mix of Maldivian & modern-quite nice, well thought out. This lodge allows tourists to walk around the island and witness day to day Maldivian activities. The locals are friendly-please respect them and their culture as I witnessed a topless bather at the beach! For you surfers, there is a surf board available & for those who kayak, there's a double kayak available as well as snorkel gear. The snorkeling & dolphin excursion will satisfy your need to reconnect with sea life. This was a great holiday & offered more than the resorts as my experience at resorts has been meeting folks who are too much like myself. Awesome, awesome, all around awesome! Ask for the rooms upstairs as they offer an ocean view.

Room Tip: Try your best to arrive as early as possible into Male, go to the tourist info desk & ask where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LatinaGlobeTrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2013

One of the best place we have ever been to. The guesthouse is cosy and small with family atmosphere, rooms are nice and clean and provide everything you need. The location is great, the guests actually have their beautiful private beach only 20m walk from the guesthouse.

The staff and all local people are very friendly, hospitable and kind and make you feel like at home. We have been to several trips which turned out to be such a wonderful experience, including dolphin watching, snorkelling and fishing. The food is simply delicious with a lot of fresh vegetables, fruit and fish. Moreover, the staff prepared unforgettable goodbye dinner for us, which was a perfect end of our holiday.

Once again, thanks to Hassan for hospitality, chef Umar for delicious food and Rushh for amazing photo sessions. We can't wait to come back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tomas Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dhiffushi Island
0.1 km away
Crown Beach Hotel
Crown Beach Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dhiffushi Island
28 reviews
10.3 km away
Season Paradise
Season Paradise
#1 of 1 in Thulusdhoo Island
61 reviews
0.5 km away
Ameera Maldives
Ameera Maldives
#1 of 7 in Dhiffushi Island
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
Meeru Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Meerufenfushi
5,911 reviews
25.1 km away
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
Paradise Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Lankanfinolhu Island
2,618 reviews
0.0 km away
Dhiffushi White Sand Beach Hotel
Dhiffushi White Sand Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dhiffushi Island
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Happy Life Maldives Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Life Maldives Lodge

Address: Bahuruva, 08030
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > North Male Atoll > Dhiffushi Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Dhiffushi Island
Price Range: $85 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Happy Life Maldives Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern lodge was built in 2011 and we opened our doors in January 2012.We are striving for nothing less but your perfect dream holiday! Our mantra is "No news, no shoes" and we offer you the real Maldivian experience. In other words: we are the ideal, affordable alternative to unpersonal, big resorts. This piece of paradise offers everything you need to be happy! From relaxing on the beach and tranquil village life, to unbelievable dive sights, fishing spots and of course amazing unspoiled waves for the perfect surf experience. With us you'll enjoy the local island experience with a la carte flexibility and the personal touch of a boutique guesthouse. We offer four double rooms, each with en-suite bathroom and ocean, beach and palm tree views. The beach is only 20 meters from your doorstep. Our local chef Umar and his crew will spoil you with Maldivian specialties such as sea food dishes or, if you like continental cuisine in our beautiful outdoor restaurant. Happy Life Maldives Guesthouse is also available for exclusive bookings for groups and big families. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Happy Life Maldives Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing