We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Diamonds Athuruga(Athuruga Island)
USD 1,982
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Diamonds Thudufushi(Thudufushi Island)
USD 1,982
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
W Maldives(Fesdhoo Island)
USD 1,821
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kandolhu Maldives(North Ari Atoll)
USD 1,731
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Safari Island Resort(Mushimasgali Island)
USD 2,024
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ocean Beach Inn(Hangnaameedhoo Island)
USD 73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Constance Halaveli(Halaveli Island)
USD 1,662
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 1,116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
USD 596
USD 579
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (2,417)
Filter reviews
2,417 results
Traveller rating
2,229
147
27
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,229
147
27
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsour honeymoonall inclusive packagewater villafisha la carte restaurantspecial thankswine tastingsea planeapple tvindian oceanhis teammale airportmini barhouse tourmain restaurantdifferent themeflip flops
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 2,417 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

We got to the resort via flights from the UK - Doha - Male, and seaplane transfer from Male. Checkin was seamless, but after traveling for more than 20 hours, you want to skip the guided tour and just head straight for your room. Lovely as the guide was, it would be nice if they asked whether we wanted to do the tour there and then.

The resort itself is achingly beautiful - the island is surrounded by a wonderful natural lagoon, filled with coral reefs. We stayed in one of their Senior Water Villas, which was on the water. It was a joy to step out onto the veranda and see hundreds of tropical fish just swimming by. Anywhere you were by the water, at dinner on the terrace, or at the spa getting a massage, you get the opportunity of watching this amazing natural sea-life show. It was strangely peaceful and tranquil. We saw reef sharks, mantas and so many different types of fish; it made us wished that we lived under the water!

The resort offered us snorkeling equipment for free, which I tried for the first time - my hubby had to practically drag me from the water at times. Kayaking is also an option and paddle-boarding. We tried kayaking, which ended up in a mini-disaster - clumsiness, but still fun.

The best things for us at this resort, apart from the above, were the food and the staff. We cannot find praise enough for them. It wasn't just about being friendly and offering an excellent service, they were warm and genuine, which made the entire atmosphere at the resort feel natural and happy. Now, usually, we wouldn't go for all-inclusive, because of a couple of bad experiences in the past, but the food at the Constance Moofushi was outstanding. They have buffets in the main restaurant. Breakfast menus tended to be the same each morning, but there's such a varied selection we weren't bored with any of it after two weeks. We usually ate at the beach bar for lunch, which serves an informal a la carte menu, also very good. My favorites were the tuna sliders and the bento box. The main restaurant, for dinner, did different themes for their buffets. Each weeknight was a theme from a different region - we loved most of the themes, except the Italian night. That one we thought they got wrong, but the rest were excellent. We tried their a la carte restaurant twice for dinner but to be perfectly honest we preferred the buffet. But if you go to the a la carte and you like calamari, it's pretty good there. The grilled calamari they did on the outdoor barbeque at the main restaurant definitely gets a huge thumbs-up too. The a la carte restaurant was part of our all-inclusive package, but some items were extra.

The staff at the resort are so friendly and helpful - it is clear that morale was high - something that does make a difference to the experience. We got extremely angry when we saw one customer being snappy with some of the staff. It was totally uncalled for, and people like that should be doused with a bucket of cold water, rather than be pandered to.

But that was one minor incident, and we were about to complain about her when another gentleman beat us to it. That's how good the staff was - to generate such solid support from the customers.

But there were a few things we found, that we think the resort could do to improve their level of service. It's hard for me to write this because we had such a wonderful time but unfortunately there are just some things that you pay for at this level and have come to expect, so it has to be pointed out. The main one was the accommodation, though the location was idyllic the villa we stayed in was dated and a bit rundown. We have been to the Maldives six years ago and stayed at the Hilton Irufushi, and I can safely say the only edge the Hilton had over the Constance Moofushi was the high quality of the accommodation. If the villas were updated, we would definitely think about returning to Moofushi at some point.

Another thing, which let the resort down is their decision not to provide room service and a buggy service. In today's market where people are paying a small fortune to stay at a luxury resort, not offering room service is a significant miss on the resort's part. The buggy service would have been helpful because it takes a couple of days to acclimatize and to walk 10 minutes to breakfast in high heat and humidity was uncomfortable and a little unpleasant. The evenings were cooler, so we didn't mind that so much. That said, we liked walking around the island, but prefer not getting all sweaty and uncomfortable when we sat down to a meal. Another thing we thought was a bit of a miss, was the no shoe policy. Though it's quite cute and relaxing, it would have been nice to have the option, rather than having it forced upon us, because of the fact there were no proper walkways. We liked walking around in flipflops - it's bohemian and free, but some evenings it would have been nice to make an occasion of going out to dinner, which we like to do. Some people might disagree with us on this point, but again, this issue could be solved by making it optional, ie, put wooden walkways from the villas all the way to the main buildings.

Finally, we think the main beach at the resort isn't entirely utilized. It's a fantastic beach - great for swimming, snorkeling, paddle-boarding, etc. but there aren't any amenities, and it's a bit of a trek to the bathroom. From what we saw, there's scope for furnishing the main beach with a similar bar offering food and beverage. They've managed this with the bar on the opposite side of the island, but they should do the same on the main beach's side too. We, lazy tourists, just want to kick back on the beach and have the convenience of our food and drinks being brought to us. I mean we've paid handsomely for these privileges in the past and would have done so here had it been available.

But all those things we easily set aside because we enjoyed the positive things about the resort so much. Again the location is absolutely amazing, we've traveled quite a bit, and this is in our top 3 spots in the world. The food is natural, fresh and taste incredible. Top restaurants quality. The team at the resort are lovely people, and they made it a real pleasure staying there.

Room Tip: We loved our senior water villa. Try one facing out to sea rather than close to the main beach.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeeHonest2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoofushiResort, General Manager at Constance Moofushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear BeeHonest,

Sunny Greetings from Constance Moofushi!

Thank you for taking the time to share with us such a detailed and lovely review.

I am delighted to see that your stay was full of positive emotions and that you enjoyed the beautiful nature of the island with its relaxed atmosphere. I am especially pleased to read your compliments about the dining experience on the island and, of course, about friendly and attentive service of the team. I totally agree with you here, that they are the one who make experience of our guests so special and memorable.

I also would like to thank you for sharing the constructive points about the areas where we still can improve the experience of our guests. I am glad that overall you had an amazing holidays with us.

We will be delighted if you choose us again on your next visit to Maldives.

With the best regards,

Olivier

Olivier de Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

I got the warm welcome since the lounge until arrival Moofushi . This place making me feel calm and comfortable along my short visiting. Staffs here are very wonderful . The place was very calm and quiet. The sea has represented its own beauty which you could jumping into it . I saw the fishes are around so lively . I loved the out side bath tubs a lot , good presentation . Thank you for all services.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Warinda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoofushiResort, General Manager at Constance Moofushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Warinda,

Sunny Greetings from Constance Moofushi!

Thank you for your kind and warm review.

I am glad to see that you spent a wonderful time at our resort and felt comfortable and relaxed during your stay. I am happy to note that you also enjoyed the comfort of the villa with its outside bath tab and direct access to the beauty of the ocean.

We hope to have another chance to welcome you back on our jewel island in the near future.

With the best regards,

Olivier

Olivier de Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I think that I am quite demanding when it comes to hotel reviews. This hotel is truly one of the best i have been. Not so much because of the facilities, which are great, but more because of the service. I stayed in a senior water villa. The rooms are generous. The bathroom is quite big. Inside and outside shower. Outside bathtup. The balcony is large enough with direct access to the sea. Depending on the location you can see the sunset. One inconvinient is that the sun is so strong in the afternoons that you can hardly stay outside since there is no shadow.
The bed is large you can choose from a range of pillows.

The main restaurant is an open space with a roof. The menu is really good. Special mention to the chefs. Good cooking and good presentation. It is not obvious to ensure a high quallity standard when it comes to buffets. But in this hotel the quality is really outstanding. Desserts are really worth mentioning.
The a la carte restaurant is not so convincing since the level of the main restaurant is so high. You can choose from a large variaty of wines. Not all are included in the all inclusive package but there is a good amount of options.
Breakfast is also very good. Natural fruit bar. Eggs. Cheese. Salmon. Marmelades. Honey etc... good coffee.

The island has also a gym which is quite good for a hotel. There are afew complimentary activities like joga. The instructor is outstanding but it is only twice a week for free.

The beaches are nice. White sand and colorful water. Extremely interesting thr snorkeling spots. You can meet reefsharks, turtels, morenas and some rays.

But the best of all are the people. There is really an army of staff working here. It is impressive that everyone is really trying to make you feel better. The staff is very friendly. The full army is friendly.

This hotel is not cheap but they really do their best to make it worth. There is little to complain. Maybe thr lack of shadow in the afternoons at the senior villas and thr high prices for excursions. In addition some activities like joga could be offered for free. Remember the price of the hotel!

All in all superb experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank travelgl0be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoofushiResort, General Manager at Constance Moofushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear travelgl0be,

Sunny Greetings from Constance Moofushi!

Thank you for taking time to share your wonderful review with us.

I am happy to learn that your overall experience was excellent and that you fully enjoyed the time you spend on our Jewel Island. Thank you for highlighting the areas that made your stay a remarkable and memorable one, like the outstanding food choice of our Manta restaurant, snorkeling experience and the ever friendly and attentive service of our team. I agree that they are the one who make the stay of our guests so special.

I also would like to thank you for your suggestions, which we will definitely take into consideration as we are constantly working on the improvement of our guests’ experience.

It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you back again on your next trip to Maldives.

With the best regards,

Olivier

Olivier de Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

I’m afraid this post may force me to my thesaurus to come up with words for excellence, unsurpassed and attentive. I’ll do my best. From the welcome lounge before your seaplane over you are surrounded by serenity and attention to each guest. After the long flight to Male, Constance eases you into paradise from the start.

You arrive off the sea plane and feel Mr. Rourke will be greeting you. The staff departments welcome you. You’re escorted to your room and you luggage awaits you. The waters challenge your senses deciphering the different shades of ocean blues.

The amazing thing is how staff personalize your trip for you. They get to know you and anticipate your needs.

The buffet restaurant is fresh and has so many different options you’d be hard pressed to go hungry. They MAKE their own ice cream. There are a team of sommeliers who help you get the right match!!

The dive sop is great and couldn’t make you more welcome whether it’s your first time or your 1000th dive.

I’ve pool bar/restaurant likewise is awesome. It seems the bartenders all try to outdo themselves fixing you what you like/want.

The spa also was outstanding. The quality goes without saying but there is a window under your massage table showing the ocean and on cue the most beautiful fish and the occasional baby black tip shark swim under you.

We are big fans of Thailand and still are but Constance Moofshi has not seen the last of us!!! How do you top the best relaxing vacation ever? I don’t know but I can’t wait to see what happens next time!!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dkazooman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoofushiResort, General Manager at Constance Moofushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Dkazooman,

Sunny Greetings from Constance Moofushi!

Thank you for sharing this lovely review with us. It is rewarding to read so many praising words from such an experienced traveler like you.

I am delighted to see that you had a wonderful experience with us and in particular that you felt our team and service were both personal and very genuine. I am also glad that you loved the selection of wines, dining option and our Uspa experience.

We hope that you will choose our Jewel Island again for your next holidays.

With the best regards,

Olivier

Olivier de Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
142
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Best team that welcomes you and helps you with everything!
Best service and beautiful island!!
Cleaning service = perfect
Food = good
All inclusive is a good deal. You will get your minibar refull everyday.



Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoofushiResort, General Manager at Constance Moofushi, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2017

Dear Traveler,

Sunny Greetings from Constance Moofushi!

Thank you so much for sharing your kind review with us.

It is an absolute pleasure to see how wonderful your stay was and that you enjoyed every single aspect of your holidays.

We will be delighted to welcome you back in the near future!

With the best regards,

Olivier

Olivier de Guardia
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews