We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Option as a boutique hotel ”
Review of COMO Cocoa Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
COMO Cocoa Island
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

Cocoa Island is a perfect hotel for those seeking a Boutique and small one with a very personal attention and great food and services as well a very quiet property for those looking for a peaceful and tranquility place. The best is the sand corridor into the sea for walking in the morning.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Carlos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Carlos P,

Thank you very much for your to the point review. Fantastic that you enjoyed your time with us. Tranquility paired with excellent services summarizes COMO Cocoa Island excellently.

Hoping to welcome you back soon again.
Kind regards,

Benjamin


Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 44 of 1,364 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to the Maldives and will definitely not be our last one.

Cocoa Island finds the right balance between the right level of intimacy to feel the sense of being alone on a private island and having sufficient infrastructure and facilities to have a nice restaurant, great bar, an own lobster cage by the reef and good diving facilities.

They also baked an amazing cake for my birthday and arranged for catering of my most favourite dishes to our room, which they didn’t have on the menu for that day, but managed to procure the required ingredients to accommodate our ask, which was fantastic.

We felt like home from day 1 and I cannot remember the last time I was so mesmerised by a hotel.

Staff was lovely, food and drinks were absolutely fantastic and the reef was out of this world - sting rays and even eagle rays in front of our water villa and turtles only 20 metres from our doorstep with colourful reefs that you only find in the central atolls and not in the outskirts of the Maldives in nowadays, unfortunately.

We will definitely return to this magical place in the years to come.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Christoph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

Dear Christoph M,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent made experiences with us on COMO Cocoa Island. We are thrilled to learn you felt right away at home, that our service excelled and that we were able to create unforgettable memories. Diving truly is outstanding in the South Male Atoll and we do have some of the best spots just around the corner.

Dear Christoph M, we all hope to see you soon again. With best wishes from
paradise,

Benjamin

Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2017 via mobile

Super nice resort with great service, great rooms and amazing views. We stayed at an over water bungalow and it was absolute paradise. We recommended the resort to some friends, and they loved the place too.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Galen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Galen F,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your short but sweet review. We happy to learn you enjoyed your time and even more delighted to find out you are recommending COMO Cocoa Islands to your friends. There is nothing better than a fantastic "mouth-to-mouth-" campaign.

Dear Galen F, we look forward to your next visit and remain with
kindest regards,

Benjamin

Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

Hmmm... Trying to figure out how to put my experience into words. First, I want to offer a sincere "Thank You" to the staff at COMO Cocoa Island! You all went above and beyond, from the room cleaning to those maintaining the beach and hotel/restaurant staff, including (Vijay, Anura, and Dewi and the Manager Benjamin) I apologize for not remembering the names of all the others but I remember your excellent service. Including the chef and kitchen staff, the Lime Coconut Souffles were amazing along with all the awesome food.

Whoever is reading this review, book your reservation "NOW" and you are welcome! Because you will thank me and others later after your visit.

As for the experience my wife and I had, COMO Cocoa Island is the sweetest place I have been to yet (and I was at the Four Seasons in Lanai, Hawaii in March this year not to mention our many travels to Caribbean, Central America, Hawaiian Islands, Mexico, etc..), COMO exceeded in ways unmatched by any. The resort is small and tranquil, we were complimentary upgraded to a Loft Villa (room 807) upon check-in and our room was huge with direct ocean access for snorkeling like all the other rooms. The rooms are meticulously maintained and clean, fresh soft towels, ice bucket delivered daily, fresh cookies delivered daily, fresh fruit delivered daily, and the most amazing ocean view delivered daily everywhere you looked.

As for the food:
Breakfast-Excellent: Fresh baked breads, pastries, fruit, juices, and made to order breakfast plates all of which are included in room price.
Lunch-Excellent: Variety of fresh made to order items: Wok Thai fried rice, Margarita Pizza, Tandoor Chicken wings, Salads, Fish, etc...
Dinner-Excellent: Beef filet, Chicken, Fresh fish, Authentic Indian cuisine, gourmet soups and salads, and much more.
Desert: Excellent: My favorite by far, the Coconut Lime Souffle and coconut ice cream.

I am a die-hard beach goer, born-raised and still living in Southern California. the beach and ocean in The Maldives and COMO are BAR NONE without comparison the most pristine and most beautiful of anywhere in the world (just google: "most exotic island in the world" no. 1 is the Maldives). We swam in the ocean regularly everyday and loved the snorkeling. Perhaps, one of our favorite things my wife and I did was to walk to the tip of the sand bar into the ocean and then swim in waist deep water in the middle of the warm Indian Ocean. The sand is white (more white than any I've seen) and soft.

We would also lay under a palapa staring at he ocean and take naps listening to the small waves and tides. We enjoyed paddle boarding in the crystal clear water that sparkled like diamonds. You'll love looking at the little black tip reef sharks and sting rays as well.

let me sum up this review like this: Our hearts have been touched by the sincere and impeccable treatment of the COMO Staff. The owner of the Hotel, Christina Ong KNOWS how to provide a wonderful resort I have yet to see matched by any. I can simply say, my wife and I will remember this forever and we will be back again, and this time with our three children.

Thank you sincerely,

Matthew Minor

Room Tip: Book your room and don't worrly about it, they are all awesome rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank mcmairtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Matthew,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. Truly been our pleasure to welcome you and your wife to our little paradise at COMO Cocoa Island.

We all are excited to read you both had such a great stay with us, enjoying the sandy beach all round, our beautiful sandbank and our outstanding cuisine. Personally, I will ensure to share your words with the entire team - especially with the once behind the hot stoves. We are very proud to have created such a unique time for you on our Island.

Dear Matthew, we are all looking to welcome you and your entire family back for a next visit. The Lime Coconut Soufflé and all the other great desserts will be waiting for you.

Best wishes from the Maldives,

Benjamin

Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017

We booked COMO Cocoa Island as a last minute holiday. With little time to research the myriad of hotels the Maldives has to offer, we went with a brand we trusted and liked.

I don't typically write reviews on TripAdvisor but wanted to as a way to leave a heartfelt note of thanks for the authentic and warm service we received during our 6 day stay on the island.

COMO hotels aim to look after guests' mind, body and spirit and we felt they went above and beyond in delivering this mission.

MIND
We were apprehensive about travelling with a 11 month old baby to a tropical destination with almost zero planning (we booked 3 days in advance after our original trip was cancelled). However, from the moment we stepped off the plane, the COMO team took care of every need so that we could completely switch off and not worry about a thing. In particular, we are so grateful for the way they looked after our little one with three thoughtfully prepared infant meals a day, and distracting her for a few minutes at breakfast so that we could finish our meal!

BODY
Although the island is tiny, there are plenty of activities to keep us occupied for 6 days - from snorkelling to yoga to sunset swims. There's only one restaurant but the food was also excellent - especially the curries. The massages, in rooms overlooking the ocean, were another highlight.

SPIRIT
The island has a considered approach to sustainability and I especially liked how they've considered the impact to the environment through minimal use of plastic (only glass bottles and paper straws) as well as the coral sponsorship programmes.

Overall, it was a happy accident that we ended up at Cocoa Island but we had an unforgettable time and hope to back again soon.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benjaminkreuz, General Manager at COMO Cocoa Island, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017

Dear Jill X,

Thank you having taken you time to share with us your experience made on COMO Cocoa Island during your recent visit and moreover, thank you very much for your
heartfelt note of thanks.

We are all excited to find out that you and your family had such a wonderful time with us. It has been our pleasure to create such a unforgettable time for all of you.

Dear Jill X, we a look forward to your next visit. Best wishes from paradise.
Kind regards,

Benjamin

Benjamin Kreuz
General Manager

COMO Cocoa Island
Makunufushi, South Malé Atoll
The Republic of the Maldives

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cocoa Island
37.8 km away
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Resort & Spa
Sheraton Maldives Full Moon Reso...
#1 of 1 in Furanafushi Island
1,862 reviews
7.3 km away
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
Naladhu Private Island Maldives
#1 of 1 in Naladhu Island
495 reviews
1.5 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Maldives
Holiday Inn Resort Kandooma Mald...
#1 of 1 in Kandoomaafushi Island
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.3 km away
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
Taj Exotica Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Emboodhu Finolhu
1,361 reviews
34.8 km away
Kurumba Maldives
Kurumba Maldives
#1 of 1 in Vihamanafushi
3,849 reviews
6.8 km away
Anantara Veli Maldives Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to COMO Cocoa Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COMO Cocoa Island

Address: Makunufushi
Phone Number:
Region: Maldives > Kaafu Atoll > South Male Atoll > Cocoa Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cocoa Island
Price Range: $1,026 - $2,991 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — COMO Cocoa Island 5*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
COMO Cocoa Island is a private island in the Maldives and offers measured simplicity in its design. Wrapped in white sandy beaches and clear turquoise waters, Cocoa Island is in close proximity to some of the best dive sites in the world. The tranquil setting is enhanced by the understated elegance of Cocoa Island’s 33 rooms, which resemble local dhoni fishing boats and feature direct access to the shallow lagoon. Ufaa, the resort’s restaurant, serves fresh local produce and seafood cooked in the Keralan style, while Faru bar overlooks the pristine infinity-edge pool. COMO Cocoa Island’s spa, COMO Shambhala Retreat, offers rebalancing treatments, including Ayurveda, reflexology and a range of recuperative massages and facials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au and Cancelon so you can book your COMO Cocoa Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cocoa Island Hotel South Male Atoll
Cocoa Island Maldives
Hotel Cocoa Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing