We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal”
Review of The Fox and Hounds

The Fox and Hounds
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: @foxinsteeple Is A Friendly 15th Century Village Restaurant And Pub Serving Freshly Prepared Foods, Fine Wines And Cask Marque Ales To Locals And Visitors Alike, All Provided With Your Enjoyment In Mind.
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

lovely staff we had a fabulous meal, it was delicious and great value for money. Have eaten here for years and the service and quality is as good as ever, the new management are doing a great job and the staff couldn't be more helpful.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank oldetora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 178 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2018

This used to be our favourite place to eat but has gone downhill since a change of management. Have been twice but not again. Tempura prawn starter was ok, but the goats cheese disappointingly small and swallowed up by too much salad. The chicken tikka special looked good but had absolutely no taste whatsoever. Decided to avoid dessert. Second time we opted for a snack as nothing on the menu appealed to us. The experienced bar/waiting staff are friendly and helpful but almost have an almost apologetic air. It’s a lovely village pub but now sadly lacking atmosphere and leadership.

Date of visit: June 2018
2  Thank abletasman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Arrived with friends for a pre-booked dinner, having been told that there had been a change of management and what was previously a decent place to eat. Waited 10 minutes to be acknowledged, while the clearly inexperienced staff rushed about serving drinks in the bar. Eventually, with many apologies, offered our choice of tables (telling, that, for a Friday evening!). Starters were safe but unimaginative - decently crisp tempura king prawns and a baked goats cheese. For mains, steak and chips was ok and cooked rare as requested, while the belly pork looked over-large. overcooked and over-soggy (although our friends said it was ok). One mouthful (mercifully small or I would not be writing this review) of my pheasant was enough to tell me it was off. Not off as in 'gamey, hung top perfection before being roast' but off as in 'filletted before being hung, then left too long ion a warm room before being frozen and defrosted'. Not merely horrible, but dangerous. We eschewed puddings after this experience and stuck to drowning our sorrows in a reasonable Malbec.

Service was frankly pretty terrible, slow and incompetent (right down to picking up glasses with fingers inside), although the young waiting staff seemed generally embarrassed and anxious to please, incessantly apologising for the failings of management and kitchen staff. When the bill eventually arrived, they had done the absolute minimum - cancelling the charge for the heath hazard and writing off a random starter. To avoid unpleasantness we paid ( a process which took some 15 minutes with a taxi waiting) without either leaving a tip or availing ourselves of the selection of cellophane-wrapped boiled sweets offered by way of petits fours.

We will not be returning unless and until there is another change of management. I strongly suggest that readers adopt the same policy.,

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank midgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I decided to have a meal here as it was a while ago since we visited this pub. Wow! What had we been missing? Hubby had the burger stack and I had the fish and chips. Service from the waitress and young waiter was so polite and welcoming and the food super delicious and plentiful! Will definitely be returning in the near future.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank frankie123591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2018 via mobile

We returned to this lovely little pub and just managed to get the last table for two. My chicken stir fry was great but unfortunately my with husbands gammon eggs and chips
The eggs were over cooked - no lovely runny yolk. They did give him one more egg properly cooked but I could have cooked it better than that. In fact I just have! Has put us off returning for a long time.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank annemJ4848NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamFoxA, Owner at The Fox and Hounds, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hi Anne M,

So sorry to hear about your experience while at the Fox & Hounds. Sound like the team had major issues with eggs today. I'll communicate this back to the head chef and adjust immediately to make sure this doesn't happen again but we have been doing some training and it sounds like you may have experienced this front of house, this should not have been the case.

I know we can't remove the memory but if you'd be willing to give us another chance we'd be happy to offer a little something to make it worth your while so do let us know if you will consider it by emailing Yvonne at info@foxinsteeple.co.uk

Again, so sorry and we hope you can forgive us for this error.

Kind regards,
Yvonne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fox and Hounds also viewed

Saffron Walden, Essex
 

Been to The Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing