We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Topsail Charters - Day Tours
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Maldon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: River Cruises on board historic sailing barges including cream tea cruises, lunch and evening sails, day trips. Finalist in Visit England Best Small Attraction 2015.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Reviewed 16 September 2018 via mobile

Did the short trip out today out and thouroughy enjoyed our selves. Beautiful barge, friendly crew and hostess. Just a wonderful experience. Planning to book longer trip out next year.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank EricTheWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tower bridge"
in 8 reviews
"ploughman's lunch"
in 8 reviews
"the galley"
in 7 reviews
"well stocked bar"
in 6 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 11 reviews
"below deck"
in 5 reviews
"cake"
in 11 reviews
"safety briefing"
in 5 reviews
"hour trip"
in 6 reviews
"the river"
in 24 reviews
"biscuits"
in 5 reviews
"barge trip"
in 6 reviews
"ham"
in 5 reviews
"birthday present"
in 5 reviews
"wedding reception"
in 5 reviews
"seafood platter"
in 4 reviews
"cream tea"
in 8 reviews
Filter

5 - 9 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2018

We recently had a fantastic day trip on Kitty, from Tower Pier in the centre of London, under Tower Bridge, and down the Thames as far as the Ford Dagenham factory before turning round and returning back to Tower Pier. A few of us were allowed to have a go at the wheel, steering the barge down the river: not something you do every day!

We saw HMS Belfast, Tower Bridge (which lifted twice for us, holding up London traffic!), all the big London sky scrapers, Canary Wharf, Cutty Sark, Greenwich Old Naval College, The O2 Dome, Thames Barrier, Tate & Lyle Sugar, Woolwich Ferry and more. Plus over 300 rowing boats in the Great River Race!

We were extremely well looked-after by all of the crew, who were happy to answer endless questions. They don't always manage to hoist sails, but we were lucky enough to enjoy dry weather and a light breeze, and so we could hoist several sails and turn the main engine off - actually sailing a sailing barge on the Thames.

Kitty has a small bar and sitting area, kitchen/galley, dining room where coffee and biscuits, lunch, and tea and cakes were served, and nicely-kept toilets. The lunches were cooked freshly on board as we sailed down the Thames.

While the day was long (seven hours on the boat), the time flies by if you have an interest in sailing, old boats, or seeing London from a completely different set of angles. The meanders of the Thames are very disorientating, so well-known landmarks appear in unexpected places.

Date of experience: September 2018
2  Thank Fonant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Its the second time we've booked with Topsail Charters to see the Clacton Airshow and this time took some friends so I was praying for good weather. We were on Hydrogen but it really doesn't matter which barge you are on its just a fabulous day out. The staff are great and the galley produces good quality food from a fabulous plowmans lunch to a hearty meal on the way home. The experience of watching the air show from the barge is exhilarting - you can't help but smiile! Thank you Topsail.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

great few hours lovely, very informative and knowledgeable crew, great catering highly recomend the Thistle

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Loll C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

Hired your boat ‘hydrogen’ for our 25th wedding Anniversary recently. Staff and crew were all lovely. We had an amazing day, our guests loved it as it was so different. We had a few questions on the run up to the day and when we called the office they were extremely helpful.
Would highly recommend for a trip/special event.
Thank you x

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank MrsArky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Topsail Charters - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Topsail Charters - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing