We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past its best western”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 6 August 2017

This hotel is in dire need of some TLC . The Staff could not be more helpful or knowledgeable but building was shabby and leaking .
On arrival the weather was appalling and rainwater leaked constantly through the window seals and onto the sill into my room and windows in corridors . The whole underside of the sill was damp and soft and I had to use towels to stop water dripping inside.
The corridor carpets looked as if they had been damp and not fully dried and the toilet in my room dripped water constantly from the cistern . I relayed this information to the staff but no effort appeared to have been made to address either problem before I left 2 days later
Breakfast on the whole was good with a wide range of food. I ordered haddock and poached eggs the first morning but didn't realise I had to get my own toast so the food got cold while I waited inline for the toaster .
The second morning I discovered that some of the prunes had started to ferment. I informed staff immediately but other friend of mine arriving later for breakfast complained that the prunes were fizzy so evidently no one had actually removed the bowl .
There was a small swimming pool which was clean and bizarrely in full view of the restaurant and lobby. There were only 4 lockers inthe chAnging room and although I was given a key I would have had to remove someone else's clothing and place it somewhere else
For the odd night I think the hotel is well placed for the beach and journeys to porthcawl / porth Talbot.if you want to do lane swimming use the local leisure centre .
I think £65 / night for a single person was steep for what was actually offered

Room Tip: Most rooms are similar
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newlogmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 752 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2017

Nice hotel right opposite lovely beach. Staff very friendly and helpful.
On site pool and jacuzzi.
Breakfast very good lots of choice.

Great location for exploring further up or down the coast as well.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank nicolaE694QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We chose this hotel for a family get together for Sunday lunch as my wife had entertained there on a number of occasions. Food was really good and Louise and the girls looked after us really well. Must say the hotel looks very drab on the outside but once through the door that all changes
James.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

After an awful experience at a previous hotel I was forced to find somewhere else to stay at very late notice. (11pm in the evening) we found this hotel at a reasonable price basicly a lot cheaper than the previous hotel we were meant to stay at. Anyway we arrived at the hotel at 11.20pm and were very impressed with the reception and the service. The room was spacious and clean and the beds although twin beds were large and comfortable The bathroom was clean tidy and fresh.after a refreshing nights sleep we went down to breakfast where the staff were very helpful and efficient. You could have a continental breakfast or a fully cooked Welsh breakfast which we opted for. Very high standard breakfast with prompt service. Very value for money. Would highly recommend. Although the outside of the hotel looks like something from the 50s/60s don't let looks deceive you as when you get inside it is modern and has charm. Really enjoyed my stay. Inside there is a swimming pool which was a shock as I wasn't expecting that but was a pleasant surprise. Will definitely be staying there again thoroughly enjoyed my stay!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lynneb2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

We were worried when we pulled up as the hitel does look shabby but the staff were welcoming and the interior was clean if not a little tired. The breakfast was great with a good selection of cooked items as well as continental style items.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank juleshart2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.9 km away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
500 reviews
9.2 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
7.4 km away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
792 reviews
5.0 km away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Port Talbot

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: $83 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing