We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 11 July 2017

found this hotel on line, booked as we had been looking to go to Aberavon for some time. The hotel does not look attractive from the out side, but all changes when you walk through the doors, we were met by a nice friendly lady called Ann, who quickly booked us in gave us our key and a brief explanaition of the important times of eating and the facilities available.our room overlooked the sea, and was very clean and well furnished and decorated. This hotel welcomes visitors with dogs,

Room Tip: avoid rooms 223 224 225 above the kitchen with noisy extractor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank MichaelW032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I had to meet a female Client here on 9 July.
She suggested we had Lunch here!
When we went in the restaurant at 1.15 p.m. there was FIVE people in there!
I thought Oh Oh!
Sally had the home made vegetable soup to start; I had the pate!
Both were fine!
Then came the Sunday Lunch!
Oh my God, the beef was covered in a brown oil that was supposed to be gravy; the veg consisted of sliced three inch thick carrots, mounds of them, pale roast potatoes, even more loads of boiled potatoes, rock hard cauliflower florets - no greens, e.g. peas, cabbage!
The beef was pre packed, and you couldn't have cut it with a laser!
Tough as old boots!
They seem to go for quantity over quality!
Where did they get the 'Chef' from?
All in all we agreed it was utter Rubbish!
As we paid for the debacle, we noticed next door in THE FOUR WINDS the car park was full and a young couple passed us by and stated NO ONE ate Sunday Lunch in the Hotel anymore as the FOUR WINDS had a carvery and an alternative Sunday Lunch menu!
Our mistake!
Don't set foot in the place for Sunday Lunch
As I write this I'm still chewing the meat! Ha ha!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jackarmy1071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AberavonBeach, Manager at Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Jack Army

Thank you for your review. I am very disappointed that you did not enjoy your Sunday lunch with us at the Hotel. I am also a bit bemused as to why, at no point did you mention to any of the staff that you had a problem with the food served to you, if it was really that bad then I would have expected the staff to be made aware of the problem and then we could have had the opportunity to rectify any problems?

You are making assumptions that are not correct and these could have been discussed at the time and then you could have left the Hotel happy, as the majority of our customers do, as opposed to not mentioning anything about the "worst Sunday Lunch in Europe", I find this a bit strange.

If you are in Port Talbot again im happy to discuss this with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed here July 2017. Great welcome when we arrived. Had a beautiful room with fantastic sea view. The room was immaculately clean & modern decor.
The bar area was lovely & quiet so we could chat. Breakfast was delicious following morning all freshly cooked & very well organised. We've stayed here before & it's a great place to stay. Highly recommend.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Faye C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Stayed 01/07/2017, bithday stay, decided to eat at theach Restaurant, wrong choice, 20 covers in there this night, waited 45 minutes for food, ordered Salad instead of chips for my partner and myself Dauphine Potatoes, both meals came with chips, staff told us the meals come withrough chips but we didn't want them, steak was nice, bit into a Mushroom and it was cold told the Waitress who then got the bar manager, I asked him to touch the food to show that I was telling the truth, nothing done about meal. Carpet in room 106 sgained and it was a twin, want be goingreat there again especially for food! Ps Mushrooms on the breakfast where cold too, don'the have the Mushrooms!

Room Tip: Say no to the Mushrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephen I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017

Visited today after booking afternoon tea.
Food was excellent and too much, staff were very attentive but not overbearing
Would recommend this and will go back, something under our noses we had ignored till now living less than two miles away

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.9 km away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
521 reviews
9.2 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#13 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
17.5 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
24.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: $71 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing