We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 8 June 2017

From the outside it looks dreadful ,but inside is lovely ,could do with some tlc ,but its clean ,staff are so helpful ,we have stayed before ,and were so pleased to see this area of aberavon being regenerated ,as the beach is gorgeous ,weather wasnt on our side ,so didnt get to explore , but a lovely place to take a brek

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dapper1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 86 of 786 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Very unimpressive hotel. I am terribly sorry to say that we will not be staying here again nor recommend it to anyone.

Positives: the hotel is reasonably well located close to the beach. It is cheap. The pool area (apart from sauna being out of order) is very well maintained. Beds are comfortable.

Requires improvement: this whole place is like stepping back in time. Quite far back. It needs updating. The worse part was probably the breakfast. Not the food, it was as expected, but the service. Four (at times five) uninterested staff members. Not a single smile, check back or offering further options. All of them standing in one corner leaning against the wall. It had created a very comfortable atmosphere. We eat very quickly and could not wait to leave the restaurant.

The evening menu is terribly limited. We asked where is it worth dining in the area. Everyone recommended Cinnamon, an Indian restaurant close by. It was amazing! Outstanding service, brilliant wine list and pretty good flavours.

Overall: next time I will try and do a better research when booking a hotel.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank tomtom197688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

We booked the hotel due to its proximity to our relatives and the price. The downside is that the outside looks extremely tired and weathered, needs a coat of paint. The car park would appreciate resurfacing (surface is rough and uneven, space markings worn away)
That said, the inside is a different class, nicely decorated and very welcoming. Our room was fine for a standard room and the breakfast had good choices and very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we will look forward to our next visit here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Caspar54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

I struggled to find accommodation at short notice for a visit to Swansea, and this hotel could fit me in. The hotel is right on the front in Aberavon and has plenty of parking available. There is a cinema next door, burger king and a retail park nearby . The hotel is not pretty from outside but once you get inside it's another story. It's very nice indeed. spotlessly clean and very friendly staff who seem genuinely interested in talking to you unlike many other hotels who just go through the motions. The bar area is lovely and has some amazing staff who really know how to engage with their customers. The room was very comfortable, clean, lovely cosy beds, great shower. I did not try the breakfast or eat here due to other plans so cannot comment on the food. wifi was great no signal problems. Overall What more could I ask. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Steven B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017 via mobile

The interior of the hotel and staff are amazing. Don't let the outside look of the hotel put you off. Once you're in there you'll be pleasantly surprised. And the food in the evening was great.

Might be worth that the hotel spent a bit of money on the car park and exterior of the hotel.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank chris t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.9 km away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
521 reviews
9.2 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#14 of 22 in Swansea
753 reviews
17.5 km away
Days Inn Bridgend Cardiff M4
24.4 km away
Oxwich Bay Hotel
Oxwich Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Oxwich
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: $72 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing