We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We stayed here for two nights and on check in were offered to add breakfast to our room booking for £5 per person per night which seemed very good value. Our room smelt strongly of paint and on the morning after the first night I mentioned this to Anne on Reception. She was very apologetic and moved us to another room which was fine. The both rooms were very clean and for once the hairdryer in the room was powerful enough to actually dry my hair unlike some hotels I have stayed in. The bathrooms were spotless and although the shower was only an over the bath type it worked well and the water was lovely and hot. The beds and pillows were very comfortable.

The breakfast room was lovely with linen cloths on the tables. There was a buffet of continental rolls, pastries, cereals and 'make your own' toast with orders taken at your table for hot food and drinks. My husband had the haddock and egg on the second morning and I have to say this was the smallest, thinnest piece of haddock I have ever seen and was very disappointing. The full Welsh breakfast was nicely cooked and hot.

Views from the room vary from beautiful sea views to a housing estate and takeaways so it is worth asking for a room at the front.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lettyharri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (748)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 748 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2016

Exterior is square box. But once inside is well decorated and staff very welcoming. Rooms comfortable and facilities all up to standard. Food in bar very good.
Also if the weather is dry the walk along the promenade is great - if sun shines view is magnificent. About fourth time I have stayed and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 391colinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank davisk27
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 13 October 2016

Stayed in July 2016.
A good location across the road from the sea.
The hotel had a large car park.
Initial impression from the outside was that the hotel look tired and needed some love and attention.
Went to reception and spoke to the receptionist. As a gold member I wanted to enquire whether I could secure an upgrade as per the membership. Was abruptly cut down by the receptionist before I could even finish the sentence.
The room was reasonably sized and again looked tired as did the en-suite.
There was a TV in the room.
There was a swimming pool down stairs and looked good. However I never used it.
We decided to eat in during the evening and the food was good but expensive as is the norm with hotels
The bedding was OK
The breakfast was OK with limited options.
The remaining staff were really friendly.
So overall, it was an OK place.
Would I stay there again......I would spend a little bit extra and stay at the Radisson which is a little further away.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank TheXPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2016 via mobile

Really disappointed with the afternoon tea, very poor selection and only one stand between 9 people eating. Service at the bar very slow, waited a while to be served as the bar was unmaned and had to be called to be served

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
Thank Simplywelsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Port Talbot
1.9 km away
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
Blanco's Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 3 in Port Talbot
498 reviews
6.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Swansea East
9.2 km away
Swansea Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
Ibis Swansea
Ibis Swansea
#4 of 22 in Swansea
790 reviews
9.6 km away
Mercure Swansea
Mercure Swansea
#12 of 22 in Swansea
733 reviews
5.0 km away
The Towers Hotel & Spa
The Towers Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Jersey Marine
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Port Talbot

Been to Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel

Address: Princess Margaret Way, Port Talbot SA12 6QP, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Neath Port Talbot > Port Talbot
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Port Talbot
Price Range: $80 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Swansea Bay
Swansea Bay Best Western
Best Western Aberavon Beach Hotel Port Talbot, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing