We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveller rating
26
15
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
15
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honesty bar ribs swimming pool double bed self catering gerrit adventure tents hiking africa sa venue stars
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 42 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Going to Cederberg to get lost in the wilderness and the stars is one thing, but another thing is to be well surrounded in a place that you can almost call home so much it is warm inside. Then your trip's gonna be more amazing than the one you have expected. This is the reason why I strongly recommend the Oasis Backpacker hostel

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Labricout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrit K, Owner at Cederberg Oasis, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Hi
I am glad that you felt at home, welcome to the family.
Gerrit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

We stayed over for two nights with our motorcycles, which was awesome. Gerrit and his staff are doing a sterling job. The camp site is neat and clean with luscious lawns. The food is of outstanding quality. They even have all the tools for fixing a flat tyre!

Gerrit also gave tips of things to see. His website, in fact, has four options for routes by motorbike. Well done! We will definitely be back.

Room Tip: They are all awesome. Foxtrot is better, because it is further away from the diner, which was a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Bennie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

We were 3 friends spending New Year Eve at Oasis Backpacker.
The location is great. Backpacker has a swimming pool to cool down during the hot days.
We slept in the tents which are on a wooden based and it was very comfy. However, it get hot very early in it!
I will definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luscie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

This is my second visit to the Cederburg Oasis, so glad I made the return journey after three years. The property offers a variety of accommodation from campsite through fixed tents, to rooms within the main house. I booked a fixed tent on this occasion which offers space and the benifit of clean, proper beds, the fixed tents also have top shade, important in the December-February heat. The grounds are indeed oasis green, and extremely well maintained; the shaded pool offers a refreshing relief from the heat. Food can be purchased breakfast, lunch and dinner from the restaurant and is reasonable priced. The owner and managers are friendly and helpful people. There is WiFi but it is restricted to 30 minutes login per day, which works and ensures the system is available and not overloaded/abused. There is no data or mobile signal anywhere in the area.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank water_boy_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2016

We stayed here overnight. What a bargain in a beautiful location. We stayed in a tent but this is a tent sitting on a wooden base with a comfortable double bed inside! Bathrooms are clean. Grounds are clean. Location is stunning. Travelling on a motorcycle we didnt have much luggage space so this place was ideal as camping without needing to bring anything. Had a tasty buffet dinner. Honesty bar for drinks works well.

Room Tip: Have a tent away from the bar/eating area.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews