We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alma del Pacifico Beach Hotel & Spa(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
USD 195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelican Hotel(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
USD 102
USD 89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Playa Bejuco(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
USD 96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunset Del Mar Resort(Esterillos Este)(Great Value!)
USD 226
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Delfin Playa Bejuco(Playa Bejuco)(Great Value!)
USD 90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Dolce Vita(Esterillos Oeste)(Great Value!)
USD 80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beso del Viento(Parrita)(Great Value!)
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tramonto(Jaco)
USD 93
USD 91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cocomar Beachfront Hotel(Palo Seco)(Great Value!)
USD 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Backyard Hotel(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
USD 128
USD 118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
308
59
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
59
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyoga retreatowners and staffcosta ricasurf lessonshorseback ridinglunch and dinnerperfect spotceiling fancorn holebanana pancakesevery morningboogie boardsgreat poolfew stepsfood was amazinghuevos rancherosshells and sand dollars
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018

On my last day of a 6 day yoga retreat here and can only think of positive things to say about this beautifully serene place. The cottages are clean, nicely decorated, air conditioned (although it was perfect at night with just the windows open.) The beautiful grounds are immaculately maintained; including a spotless pool, outdoor yoga space, hammocks galore and just a few steps to one of the most beautiful, uncrowded beaches I've ever seen. Oh, and the healthy food, smoothies and cocktails are amazing as well!

Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Travis we are thrilled you loved your stay. We are so proud to offer this beautiful space to our guests and happy you enjoyed the hammocks, pool, yoga space, and our pristine beach. We hope to see you again soon. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018

Located on the beaches of Esterillos Este, Encantada Ocean Cottages has been the perfect yoga retreat location. Breakfast, lunch and dinner menus were exquisite and delectably prepared! Our yoga experience was enhanced by the beautiful backdrop of ocean waves and glorious sunsets. The cozy cottages surrounded an inviting pool. The owners and staff went out of their way to ensure a truly magical experience for all of us!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
Thank wturnberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food, and that the experience was magical for you. Please feel free to come back soon! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

We spent a blissful week at Encantada in Jan 2018. We did yoga, long walks and swimming on the wide endless gorgeous beach. The hotel and staff could not have been more accomodating nor pleasant. We had three delicious, varied and healthy meals a day. We woke everyday to a symphany of exotic birdsong and enjoyed many hours of birding and trying to spot the resident scarlet macaws. If you need a rejuvenating break from those cold northern climes (we're Seattlites) what are you waiting for?

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank acmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2018

What lovely comments! We are so glad you were able to get away from the cold in Seattle and take some time in our beautiful paradise! Thank you for choosing us for your getaway and we hope you can come back soon! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Our family of 6 stayed at Encantada during Christmas and New Years Holiday period.
It was a wonderful experience!
The owners Tiffany and Nome along with their amazing staff are like a family unit and they worked incredibly hard to make our stay extra special - they consistently checked in with us to ensure we were OK and helped us often booking day trips and finding us transportation.
Christmas morning we woke up to discover a cloth gift bag full of goodies hanging on our doorknob.
The meals were quite good and we especially loved the banana pancakes and smoothie bowls . We attended yoga every morning and marveled at the view of the ocean and the sounds of the surf from our yoga mat . The beach is one of the best I have experienced having been to CR 3 times, you can literally walk for hours !
I am recommending this sweet spot to my friends and I recommend it to you.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beryle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Beryle, we loved having you and your family spend the holidays with us. Thank you for your kind words as we work hard to make the Pura Vida spirit evident to our guests! All of us here felt like you guys became a true part of our Encantada family, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2018

This boutique hotel is a gem! Located in the quiet area of Esterillos Este- between the busy and touristy Jaco and Quepos, this piece of paradise is just what my family needed at the end of our Costa Rica adventure. We stayed in the two room suite- Cabin 5 and just loved its character. The staff was very gracious and the food at Salt was delicious! The beach is quiet and was perfect for swinging in the hammocks, playing in the waves and sipping on a cold beer in the shade of the palm trees. The sunset was picture perfect each night. Two other restaurants are in walking distance of this hotel, so there were plenty of food options without getting into the car. Do not hesitate-- book this place if you can!

Room Tip: I would book the ocean view suite if you can, but it seemed like all the rooms were lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nedmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

What kind comments. Thank you! We hope you come back again! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews