We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
325
60
10
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
60
10
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews yoga retreat owners and staff costa rica surf lessons horseback riding lunch and dinner ceiling fan food was amazing every morning few steps mangrove tour banana pancakes small fridge laid back quiet beach manuel antonio zip lining
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2018

What a beautiful piece of paradise with a team that makes you feel very special. The poolside cottages were very clean, spacious, and nicely appointed with great outside seating areas perfect for reading or just relaxing while enjoying the morning coffee. The beach front yoga pavilion was an added bonus. Sunday yoga with mimosas afterwards was only surpassed by yoga at sunset. We had a crew of 11 of varying ages and everyone enjoyed their stay. The full breakfast with various options was delicious and the lunch and dinner menus, while somewhat limited, were also fantastic - very fresh.
Tiffany arranged transport from the airport and offered to help us get a rental car once at the resort. We didn't take her up on the offer and wish we had. No one really wanted to drive but we could have done so much more if we had a car as there is so much to see and do in the area and the roads are in great shape and well marked. That being said, Tiffany was able to arrange for a driver to get us to the morning sail, afternoon monkey tour and the afternoon zip-lining that we took advantage of. I would recommend that you bring plenty of cash as there are no ATMs nearby and there were situations where we needed cash over credit.
Encantada is a must do and we will be back. Tiffany and Nome have done a wonderful job with the hotel and they have surrounded themselves with a great team!

Room Tip: Poolside cottages 3 and 4 had great layouts and pool front patios that were a really nice extension to the room
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Thank you Bethany! We had such a fun time with your family and are so happy you enjoyed yoga, meals, and our gorgeous sunsets! Hope to see you all again soon...Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2017

We stayed in Encantada Ocean Cottages during 3 nights in early December 2017 and we loved it. We felt like being at home, the staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are cosy and the whole place is very quiet. We really appreciated the beach and we even took a surf lesson. The restaurant is very good, especially the breakfast. The menu is limited but there are many other restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Poolside cabinas are cosy and comfortable.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with ASUS 12 W8 IE Bookmark
1  Thank AnnieetBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you for your kind review! We are so happy you felt at home and enjoyed your stay. We are currently revamping our menu and look forward to seeing what you think the next time you visit! Pura Vida.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017

This was my first time at Encantada Ocean Cottages and it won't be my last. This is a lovely bed and breakfast establishment with great staff, wonderful owners (Nome and Tiffany), uplifting Yoga teacher (Samantha) and a BEAUTIFUL beachside location.
Me and my best friend really enjoyed our ocean front cottage. It was magical waking up everyday and walking out to the beach and just taking in the nature. After doing that every day we would grab delicious breakfast and coffee and take a morning yoga class with Samantha.

Let me just say doing Yoga outside by the beach in Encantada's is AMAZING and must be experienced. Hearing the rustle of the palm trees and the ocean waves crashing in the distance really brings you into the present moment and is so calming. That was probably one of my favorite parts. The owners Nome and Tiffany are also Yoga practitioners and joined us for a few classes which was also nice. It's like they are family!

This location is also ideal for visiting Manuel Antonio park by car/bus and the staff at Encantada can easily arrange for almost any activity you want. They are very knowledgable about where and who to go to. They know most of the workers who work at the activity companies and can recommend which guides to take. They helped us set up a White Water rafting excursion, Manuel Antonio Park hike/tour, Monkey boat ride etc. We loved all of them and had a blast!

I loved Encantada Ocean Cottages and will definitely be returning again. Costa Rica and establishments like this are nothing short of MAGICAL.

Thank You Encantada!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jayvonmusique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Jayvon, we had such a wonderful time hosting you and your friend. Thank you for the wonderful review and we truly hope you come back to Costa Rica soon. The beach, yoga, and Pura Vida spirit awaits your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

This is the perfect place to relax and have fun. The staff speaks perfect English, will go out of their way to help with any request. We learned to surf, did yoga for the first time, had a sunset ride on the beach with a world class horse woman, and spent the morning at Manuel Antonio with their favorite guide. And did I mention the food? And the gorgeous beach and every perfect aesthetic detail of simple, tasteful beauty in the rooms and common areas. Go. Just go. You won’t want to leave.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

Thank you so much Jim for this wonderful review. We are so happy you enjoyed the food and all that this area of Costa Rica has to offer including the yoga, horseback riding, and surfing...Please come back soon! Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

Wonderful secluded property, in an intimate setting, with direct access to the ocean. Beautiful swimming pool which comes handy as swimming in the ocean is not really possible. Very calm and peaceful place. Very friendly people. Great Costa Rican food. Gorgeous sunsets on the ocean. The beach is very long, beautiful, with very few people, so we made it our daily walks. Lots of beautiful sea shells. Everything was perfect and our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We highly recommend Encantada.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LaurenceM1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EncantadaCostaRica, Guest Relations Manager at Encantada Ocean Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2018

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at Encantada and your walks on the beach. Thank you for the lovely comments on our pool, and staff. We hope you return for an even longer stay next time. Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews